We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Premier Inns at Gatwick North, very confusing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
plymouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Two Premier Inns at Gatwick North, very confusing!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a very stressful stay at this hotel. We arrived after a 7hour coach journey, looking forward to a restful night, only to find that we were at the wrong Premier Inn & had to walk in the snow, to the right one, with 2 heavy cases, AND my husband was on crutches. We mentioned this to the Reception staff & apparently this happens very frequently. Something should be done about this. The room & meal were fine, but we were flying the next day & could have done without all that worry. I have registered a complaint but I think it has fallen on deaf ears.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank runningmanPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    1,202
    399
    142
    78
See reviews for
847
1,444
359
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham Dorset UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed for night before early flight . Hotel is typical premier set up clean comfortable etc so no issues on that at all . This hotel is so easy to find from terminal we checked in at terminal with ba the night before and just walked to the hotel with overnight bag takes about 5 minutes so really close. If you book a fly drive as we did you can get this hotel and parking for £59 so bargain !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaMcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is not so great at all, therefore it is good that the hotel has its own shuttle service that takes you to both north and south terminal in around 20 min with all the stops in between.
The room was clean but the walls are quite thin and we could hear when someone used the shower or flushed the toilette in the next room.
The breakfast is standard continental, tasty but with a limited choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We use Premier Inn a lot for overnight stays and before flights etc as you know what to expect. The location for this hotel is ideal for an early morning Gatwick flight and we booked a hotel/parking package. Overall the hotel was exactly what we expected except for the staff. They had obviously all just come back from the Premier Inn "Be Smarmy To Your Guests" course. After working and travelling all day we just wanted a quick meal and get to bed so it was a bit of a surprise to be asked to wait while they "get a table ready for you" in a half empty restaurant. Come on guys it's not the Ivy. We were then subjected to endless how is your meal ? Is everything OK ? Can we get you anything else ? interruptions every 2 minutes. The finale was the waiter saying that he hadn't added the cost of the drinks from the bar to our bill and what was the best bit about the meal ? The Service ? He might as well have had a sign on his head saying "PLEASE GIVE ME A BIG TIP" On the evening I didn't tip at all but i'll give him a tip now "There is a difference between good service and going way over the top. If you want your guests to tip you treat them as people who just want to be served and left alone not given a sub standard cabaret" It would also help if the receptionist spoke something remotely like English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Flew inn late to Gatwick with room booked and all very easy walk through to hotel and nice room bt shower has NO HANDLES to hold onto and this is a seroius safety oversite as I experienced in the morning with a soapy shower in the bath tub and bump nothing to stop my fall!
Very comfortable fittings and bed. But very disappointed with th staff and breakfast as we paid in advance for a nice breakfast after a late flight and new we would be tired. Coffee machine not working no milk, fresh fruit out and the girl tells us waiting for delivery tomorrow. Seems a biig group came in and although we booked and prepaid, the glossy photos for a healthy breakfast were false as nothing available until we had a raise conversation with a Manager and then suddenly things came out to be served. Shame, the women working there could not give a dam and a few staff need to be removed and the rest re trained. Spoilt the stay really and when will people learn that photos are not the proof of how good a hotel is but constant monitoring and training. Nice hotel, good location but por staff and breakfast was pitiful unless you complain. We were too tired and did not need this thank you!

Room Tip: beware no hand rails in the shower and they are a significant safety hazard. Premier Inn, please inv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

There are two Premier Inns at Gatwick Airport - something that seemed to cause confusion to quite a few people the night we stayed. There is the one that is right outside the North terminal and then there is the other one. We thought we had booked in the nearer one, but on going there found out we hadn't - the young woman we spoke to was very helpful and showed us where to go, but it seemed we were not alone in our mistake. To be fair, the other one is only a 5 minute walk away (there is a shuttle but that costs £3 per person each way which seems poor value) but perhaps the booking website needs to be a little bit clearer. Once we got there we found the room very spacious and reasonably clean. The bathroom was perfectly adequate though the shower was not up to much. Overall, it seemed good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had booked our one night's stay, Saturday 23 March, as part of a parking and hotel package with a car park we have used for many years. Previously we have always left home in the small hours to head off to our airport parking, but this time decided to do it at a more leisurely pace.

We had expected the hotel to be the one nearest to the north terminal (a much taller and newer building), from where we would transfer to the South Terminal (much cheaper than staying in the on-site Hilton) on the morning of our very early flight. However, we had been misinformed by the car park reservations and we were staying in the Premier Inn slightly further away. This actually didn't matter as the shuttle transfer to both terminals is very efficient leaving on the hour, 20 past and 20 to. However, if you do want to be right next to North Terminal, you need the Premier Inn, Gatwick Airport, North Terminal.

When we arrived at the hotel at around 6pm, we were amazed to find they had no record of our booking from the car park. We had the print out of the booking but we were clearly very anxious and concerned.

Thankfully there was availability and the staff were very helpful. They apologised profusely although the error did not lie with the hotel. We were even given free tokens for the transfer to the terminal the next day as a gesture, worth £3 each! Through following it up with the car park on our return from holiday, it transpired their fax sent had not gone through, and the car park reservations had not persisted. We were offered a paltry 15% discount by the car park off a future booking which we declined and eventually settled on a £20 refund.

Three quarters of an hour later we reached our room. Although it had 'no frills' it was large, spotlessly clean with a large TV, very comfortable bed and pillows, large couch (useful for putting our suitcases on), tea & coffee making facilities and masses of storage space. The bathroom was of a good size too.

The double glazing was excellent, we were facing the car park but didn't hear a sound from outside the building, just people dragging their suitcases along the corridor throughout the night which was unavoidable.

As time was passing, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, this was now peak time and there were lots of arrivals and people wanting to eat. Deserved of a special mention is Ruth who was one of the hostesses seating everyone, although her badge said 'trainee', and she was very busy, her professionalism and manner were faultless in trying to accommodate as many people as possible and fend off some angry guests.

We opted to eat in the very small lounge area as it would have been ages to wait for a table in the restaurant. The £12.99 menu for 2 courses was okay and did the job. There were some delicious complimentary croissants and muffins on the reception desk for guests to have and these helped to fill the gap while we were waiting for our food.

Although we weren't in our room very long before we were awoken by our alarm, even with our very short stay, we had been impressed with the hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Check with hotel beforehand that they have a record of your booking. Request quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Address: Longbridge Way | Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NX, England (Formerly Premier Inn Gatwick Airport Central)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Crawley
#6 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#8 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated next to the Shell garage 5 minutes from the north terminal and a short monorail journey from the south terminal/train station. There is also a frequent bus service operating from both the South and North terminals at a cost of £3.00 per person running 24 hours a day. Enjoy your holiday 1 day early and check out our sleep, Park and fly options (book at least 24 hours before your stay). Please note our hotel is NOT situated right in front of the north terminal but as stated a short 5 minute walk from the airport, please do not confuse the two, as both are in very close proximity of each other. We look forward to welcoming you at Premier Inn A23 airport way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Crawley Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing