We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 19 Crawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We class this as the start of our holiday you are met by a cheerful member of staff easy book in if you are leaving your car this is easy and they do a great package and very good value .You can watch the planes coming in and out of gatwick quite close but we never found them a noise problem. The bedrooms are cosy beds comfy and very clean.The breakfast is very good there is a choice and if lucky you may see the deer in the garden while having breakfast. A taxi is there to take you to the airport and on your return will pick you up and drop you at your car .This is a no stress place to stay ,we use it whenever we fly from Gatwick.

Room Tip: There are good views from the bedrooms but choose one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judith72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    130
    44
    25
    22
See reviews for
47
369
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our party of 3 had 2 rooms, parking for 22nights and an excellent dinner. The rooms were extremely comfortable ,the staff were friendly and the whole package they offer works very well and was fantastic value for money. The very early taxi pickup was on time and the return pickup to collect the car went without hitch. Very impressed, we will definitely use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiltshiregirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Brilliant value for money cleanliness,food and lovely people,cannot praise enough really incredible,will definitely return,watched the baby deer in the garden while having breakfast,there is a little bit of aeroplane noise but this stops about 10ish,the bedrooms are lovely & warm &comfortable the evening meal was very enjoyable with a fair selection and the same can be said for the drink on offer

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy21154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anny1234, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
And we will look forward to your return and do our best to look after you again. Thank you for taking the time to write this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Not much of a welcome room was a tiny single,with a shower that needed upgrading.

The room could have done with a heater or extra blankets.

For the money paid it was adequate but wouldn't want to spend a long time there!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic67matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anny1234, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Oh dear we don't want to be just 'adequate' and I am very sorry to hear that you didn't have a good welcome. Room 11 is small but we like to think it's cosy. Spare heaters & blankets are always available to anyone if you ask the receptionist. We don't leave them in the rooms as everyone has different requirements. We only have 1 single room so if you do decide you would like to stay again then I think you will be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Great value, hotel and parking cost the same as parking alone. Although some of the communal areas look in need of refurbishment, our room (no 4) was beautiful. It had a large bed and 2 large sofas and was huge! We did not have en-suite but exclusive use of a WC and bathroom in our partitioned off 'quarters' . The hotel only has 11 rooms and is intimate and friendly. We had an evening meal that was reasonably priced , very nice but limited choice. We would definitely use again and with Thomas Cook doing a sundown check in the night before departure meant we got the pick of seats ( premium) and gave us 2 extra hours in bed!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anny1234, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello, yes you're right, there are many communal areas needing a refurb. We have just finished painting the corridor downstairs & it looks so much brighter & much more 'up to date'. Room 4 is definitely becoming our most requested room & we will soon have 2 more similar sized rooms on as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at waterhall. A lovely b&b,room was large clean and spacious, staff were friendly and helpful. Taxi service to the airport fantastic. Took all the stress out of the airport transfer. Would strongly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anny1234, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments & for recommendations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Richard and I stayed at the Waterhall Hotel the night before a long haul flight from Gatwick, we arrived around 8 30pm and asked for an evening meal which they provided. We were pleasantly surprised how good the meal was, we had cottage pie and lamb shank and a lovely apple crumble. Our room was huge...and very comfortable and although not quite en suite, we had sole use of bathroom and loo etc. They arranged a taxi for the morning which turned up just 5mins late for a very easy transfer to the airport.
On our return the pick up was very efficient and we collected up our car from the Ifield Hotel nearby.
The overnight stay and car parking was very good value and we would use them again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is huge and when we stayed it was pretty quiet , the aircraft noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
4.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
3.3 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhall Country House, Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhall Country House, Gatwick

Property: Waterhall Country House, Gatwick
Address: Prestwood Lane | Ifield Wood, Crawley RH11 0LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhall Country House, Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhall Country House is a delightful guest house offering hotel comfort at B&B prices. Situated close to London Gatwick Airport (LGW), we are perfectly positioned for both airport bound travellers or Crawley based business people. Our unique 34 acre setting, homely atmosphere and comfortable rooms will ensure that you are not disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterhall Country House, Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick Hotel Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing