We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but I'd happily come back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Vinci Manor Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Da Vinci Manor Guest House
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
527 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Quirky but I'd happily come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fairly quiet road, the environs (the area around the house itself) are rather a mess, parking is quite good. I had a small triple room (small double and single) to use as a single which was good value, average sized tv, small shower room 9with some condensation mould in ceiling) - only liquid soap available in room but tea and coffee can be made ad hoc downstairs in the lounge where breakfast is served and also there is a larger tv, There was also a slightly tatty veranda to sit in if required. I opted for non-cooked breakfast- make your own toast and tea/coffee, cereal, fruit juice which was average but ok within the price. Pleasant lady greeted me- paid 1/2 in advance 1/2 on arrival. Would go again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    17
    11
    28
See reviews for
19
28
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

When you first arrive at this 'interesting Guest House' you may be surprised by some of the exterior features. A small caravan, which looks abandoned near the entrance. An electric organ in the garden, various statues & artefacts strategically placed! (we think the outside space must be 'work in progress') But this all adds to the charm. Our room was comfortable (No 4), the shower was fine, the breakfast was excellent! We were part of a group of friends attending a wedding nearby & it certainly did the job for us at a reasonable price. We loved the little conservatory attached to the house! We all hope to return again to this quirky place. It made us smile a lot.

Room Tip: Room number 4 was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely setting for this Guest House. Room was clean and pleasant. Bed was comfortable although I would suggest a mattress cover beneath the sheet, duvet was very cosy. Fab breakfast with plenty on offer. Only met one member of staff; she was very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. Very pleased to be able to take our two dogs who were also warmly welcomed. Loved the conservatory; it was great to relax there with a coffee and the dogs before going up to bed. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Room was spacious, very comfortable, had a lovely view and had internet access. Breakfast was good, area was beautiful and hostess was very warm and accomodating. What was also very good was that you could check in early and you did not have to leave until 12:00...making it a very relaxing arrival and departure.

Cost as a single traveller very reasonable also, making it more affordable for more days and more visits. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely house with nice rooms, big comfy beds, warm and cost effective!

For the price of this place I'd recommend it to anyone in the vacinity.

It has a nice indoor smoking conservatory which saves the hassle of going out into the freezing cold for a smoke. Could do with a little heater but still good. If given the chance I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonytpaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked this at last minute, ground floor room - nice big room, comfy bed, nice price. Staff at hotel very pleasant and helpful. You get a great welcome feeling from the staff which is lacking from major chains. Will stay again as find this guest house useful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeyore1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The stay was okay but I do not think it is worth for money. There are other hotels which probably offers the same or even slightly better value for your money in and around the Gatwick area.
Positive features are: Breakfast was good, bathroom and toilet clean.
Negative features:
1. The reception is not manned 24/7 and the owner started calling me twice to check what time I am reaching which was irritating (I did not know that the reception is not 24/7).
2. I could not see clearly the sign board (so small and it is very easy to miss) of the hotel as there is no sufficient lighting on the road, It's very dark and very less crowd. I actually missed the hotel and had to ring the hotel manager to help me with the direction and I did not like the way he guided me to the hotel. I felt he was getting impatient (I could not understand his English). Finally I landed at the hotel to find the road leading up to the main parking area of the hotel full of pot holes and it was dark.
3. Entered the room, I thought it was okay and was relaxing. I started to feel bit cold at around 11pm. I noticed that the central gas heating had gone off. I could not find anyone at the reception and hence I just had to slip under the duvet. The heating switched on in the morning. I think they had put the timer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbsdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
3.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci Manor Guest House

Property: Da Vinci Manor Guest House
Address: Ifield Green | Near Gatwick, Crawley RH11 0NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Vinci Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci Guest House is situated in Crawley , which is only 15 minutes drive to and from London-Gatwick Airport and 5 minutes drive to and from Crawley Town Centre. There is a secure , on site car park, which is free for daily stays. We cater for short and long term accommodation . For further information for short and long term stays please phone us at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Da Vinci Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Manor Guest House (Gatwick) Hotel Crawley
Da Vinci Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing