We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel connected to terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Stayed one night in June courtesy of British Airways after our flight was cancelled. Easy to get to as it is connected directly to the North Terminal. Room was clean and fairly large although a little dated and well worn. No aircraft noise was audible. The TV carries flight information which was handy. Staff were helpful. Breakfast consisted of a buffet with a good selection on fruit/cereal and bacon/egg etc. Would be a good choice if arriving late or departing early but no doubt if you actually have to pay ,this convenience will cost

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank screen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Bonjour Nicholas Pascoe,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,820 - 7,826 of 8,086 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Southampton
114
Reviewed June 25, 2006

I booked this hotel purely because you just have to stroll through a tunnel and you are in the North Terminal - no bus or taxi ride! I took advantage of the 15 days parking offer and got the room for around £150 for the night so its not cheap but it makes up for it in convenience.

Refurbishments must have been finished ! We thoroughly enjoyed our night here from the moment we stepped into the impressive inner atrium. Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient and more importantly carried out with a warm smile and a genuinely welcoming manner. In fact the same manner was apparent amongst all of the staff who were all attentive and friendly.

The room also was lovely! Spacious, clean and well eqippped. There were complimentary toiletries, little fluffy room slippers!, and everything you would expect. BUT the bed was divine - they have invested heavily in their bedding with goose and duck down huge pillows, duvet and an overmattress duvet which all in all led to a wonderful cosseted nights sleep wrapped in crisp white linen. There are cards in the room detailing where this bedding can be obtained which really draws your attention to the level of comfort they are trying to achieve as they have gone all out to highlight their comfort levels. I thought lying on a goose down mattress cover would be strange but its convinced me to order one!

I know I sound a little sad - but it really was one of the best nights sleep I have ever had.

We had a meal and wine and really enjoyed the food - there is a choice of 4 restaurants, from casual to formal and even a Ken Hom chinese influenced restaurant. We dined informally in the brasserie and were rewarded with great service. They serve food right up to 10.30pm - its not at all cheap but its of a good standard.

Nice fountains too!

All in all I can thoroughly recommend this as an airport hotel. I have stayed at many of them and this was by far the best experience, and by far the most convenient. The transition from Meridian to Sofitel and resulting upgrading really have paid off and I can recommend this hotel to you. Its where I will be booking if I ahve an early flight.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Bonjour Matt Derry,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
1
Reviewed June 19, 2006

We stayed last year for an early flight when it was a Meridien, and whilst it is convenient the prices have gone up since it has been taken over, the leisure facilities are not in use, and when quoting for rooms on their web site the prices DO NOT INCLUDE VAT!

Although they are stated later it is easy to miss!

We also felt that the bathroom was shabby, for the prices they charge we would expect more.

Stayed: June 2006
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Bonjour Celina Barnard,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2006

My husband and I think this hotel is very well priced. This is our second stay and at £105 for the room only minutes away from the terminal, especially when you have an early flight, think it value for money. We checked our luggage in the night before our flight so that the next day we just had to stroll through security to air side - no drama or hassle! Yes, the drinks and food are expensive, but you are paying for location, location, location. You can always go and buy a sandwich in Boots! We had previously stayed in some dreadful hotels outside the airport and paid almost as much. It is the Sofital for us if we have an early flight.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DickDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Bonjour Linda McKee,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
25
Reviewed May 31, 2006

Paid a rip-off £170 per night to stay at the Sofitel, on the basis that it was a 5* hotel with a pool/health club. Then found that the health club was closed for renovation, and that it was a 3* room with a 5* facade. Very disappointing, but was so tired that couldn't be bothered to find somewhere else and had already pre-paid. The room was rather tatty, and the bathroom no better than a holiday inn express or ibis. There was nail varnish on the chipped table, and no ice bucket. Restaurant was poor and overpriced. The room was fine and very convenient for the airport - just not good compared to other places for the same price.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Bonjour Remi Harris,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions & when it was part of the Meridian chain.
All in all service is excellent & it is extremely handy for the airport.
Yes room service is expensive-but tell me a hotel where it isnt!!!
The Oriental restaurant is excellent.
We get an excellent price through Holiday Extras with car parking included.

Well worth it-wouldnt stay anywhere else when traveling from Gatwick!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MELSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Bonjour Melanie Rushton,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Booked an overnight stay on a 'hot deal' and paid £112 (room only). The room we were given was small and shabby, with stains on upholstery & carpet. Also ring marks on the dated 80's style furniture in the room.
Bed smaller than average and rather lumpy.
Public areas are lovely, but this does not make up for the grubby room.
To sum up, a 3 star room for a 5 star price!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thingummyjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Bonjour R Maini,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $126 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing