We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Thank you to all the staff at Sofitel Gatwick for making our one night stay on returning from Gibraltar such a pleasure. We slept so well in the most comfortable bed, the pillows are so soft. Breakfast was superb and the concierge staff were very helpful. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Bonjour Jane1706,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,771)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7,242 - 7,248 of 7,776 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed here several times. Usually v satisfactory however the direct tunnel bridge linking hotel to terminal is closed (till July 2010). This meant a schlep through a car par and 2 roads. Not mentioned on web site and no apology from front desk on complaint. A couple of pensioners behind us were visibly distressed. If you are choosing this hotel due to mobility issues you might want to think twice or call the hotel before arrival. Hotel is still best available but the lack of publicising this considerable alteration in accessability is shoddy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reluctant_Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Bonjour Reluctant_Traveller2,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

This hotel has the perfect airport location, and with half-way decent management could become a solid 4-star hotel. As it is, it sullies the Sofitel brand name.

It's possible that our stay was unusual ---- and that the large service failures were exceptional. However, I doubt it.

Internet service was not available anywhere in the hotel, at any price, the evening, night and morning that we stayed there....and the front desk didn't seem to think that this was a big deal. I don't know about you and your business activities, but when my business loses its Internet service completely for an hour, much less 12 - 24 hours, this is a very, very big deal.

The walls between our 7th floor room and our adjoining neighbor permitted their normal conversations to be heard clearly ---- and at 4am this is not a good thing. Fortunately they were intent on their Gatwick departure, and not amourous activities, but you might not be so fortunate....

The mainstay eating location, the lobby level Cafe, had perfectly adequate small meals and overpriced drinks....perfect for a 2 or 3 star hotel....but not at all at the level one expects from a Sofitel.

If you need the perfect airport location, and get it for GBP50 or so, then fine. Otherwise, forewarned is forearmed....you're probably going to be as disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Bonjour JeremyNewYork,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The Sofitel at Gatwick absolutely Impersonal personified. It isn’t a hotel, it’s an enormous bed-factory. It’s simply horrid. You check in with an immaculately dressed android who switches a ‘smile’ on and off and does deft things with your credit card and gives you a plastic key card. You then go to one of several lifts and ride up to your room which has all the mods and cons and more, and which is utterly, dispairingly, anonymous. We dined at the ‘hotel’s’ Gatwick Oriental restaurant where £60-ish bought us something ricey but otherwise quite forgettable in ditto surroundings. We’d decided to overnight here to save us an early start the following morning, and to enjoy the direct access from the hotel into the terminal. Come the morning, the direct access to the terminal building was, of course, closed, so we had to hoof it (with our luggage) down to the ground level, cross a couple of fumey roads, and then find a lift to take us up to Departures. The cost of the room was £87 which, admittedly, isn't a lot (breakfast, which we didn't take, would have cost us a further £34).

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank jtduerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Bonjour Jtdeurden,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed here for one night before our early morning flight. We also booked the parking through the hotel. Arrived and left our car right next to the hotel. Checking in to the hotel was smooth. We then did day before check in for our flight which i'd recommened if your airline offers it as you get extra time in bed the next morning - you only have to be at the airport an hour before departure. North terminal is a 3-4 minute walk, it couldn't be easier. Room was great, we requested a runway view room which provided the entertainment if you like that kind of thing. We ate in the cafe type restaurant in the evening which was good, but not really cheap. We didn't have breakfast as our flight left too early. Express check out means you don't need to queue, you just drop your card in the box and makes for a quick getaway. On return car was back in the car park (they move it to a secure off-site while you're away) and everything was fine.

We've stayed at other hotels nearby that offer a cheaper deal but they don't compare on quality or convenience (taxis, minibuses etc). Will never stay anywhere else near gatwick again, its unbeatable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicegirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Bonjour Nicegirl69,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Very nice and comfortable stay. We had inter-connecting rooms and the beds were really great!
Short walk to the airport terminal.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biryani_Baloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Bonjour CamelsDubai,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

we have stayed at the sofitel 3 times now the night before an early morning long haul flight we always find the hotel very comfortable but expensive but then most on airport hotels are, we always go out to eat on the airport much cheaper

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Bonjour Prute,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $130 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing