We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel, Gatwick - Highly recommended way to start your holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank marm71
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,433 - 4,439 of 8,010 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Arriving at the hotel by car it is not made clear that you can park in front to unload baggage - we tried to but there was a queue behind so had to move. The car park is cheaply designed and badly finished with very little room to manouvre making entering and exiting access ramps quite a feat, made obvious by the damaged barriers at each entrance and exit to each floor. Signage to the hotel from the car park is abysmal.
Rather confusing and surly manner from car park staff at ground floor but warm welcome from reception staff at 1st floor level.
Lifts to rooms small and show signs of bad / rushed fitting as doors scrape when opening and closing.
Rooms clean but furniture shows signs of abuse and bad fitting / fixing (wall panels loose). Beds comfortable but the room we stayed in was very hot and air conditioning noisy enough to keep a light sleeper awake most of the night (industrial duct vents into room).
Restaurants are themed, very expensive for the quality offered with staff attempting to convey the theme as best they can with costume and accent. I should have realised what was to come when I was told that the beer on offer in the 'French' restaurant was either Cobra or Peroni. Stuck at an Airport for the night you either pay the price or go hungry; a meal for two, standard quality wine and standard quality food, no desert, no starters over £120.00 is just too much.
Buffet style breakfast was very good apart from terrible quality tea which we left.
Check-out was quick and easy and the walk to the North Terminal quite easy. Exiting the car park entailed re-parking and re-visiting reception on the first floor as prepaid parking had to be re-validated.
All in all rather disappointing - would rather stay a little further out at a 'real' hotel with more freedom, better value and real hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was very disappointed to learn of the difficulties you encountered during your stay. Your feedback regarding our car park will certainly be taken into consideration the next time we refurbish the hotel. I will also pass your comments onto the relevant department Managers regarding the condition of your room and ambassadors.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and we hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick in the future.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for a second time with my son recently before our early flight, we had a luxury club room and had a wonderful evening in the club lounge, I would thoroughly recommend this as a wonderful way to start a holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivestarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and you were able to relax in our Club Sofitel lounge before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stay in if you are travelling from Gatwick. The service is first class the bedrooms and bedding are excellent. The wifi is a disgrace; they employ a maddening and idiotic system that requires scraps of paper to be delivered to your room with codes to speed up the basic ( dreadful) standard system. They also restrict one user to each room ( incl doubles) unless you ask for another scrap of paper. If you try the basic package & then wish to upgrade you need to speak to a 3rd party technician, which takes over an hour. I wished to watch an internet broadcast and this set up caused me to miss most of it. What a shame, without this significant frustration I would rate this hotel excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window. If you are using wifi do not log on until you have the upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beltayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay however, I was disappointed to learn of the difficulties you experienced during your stay and would like to offer my sincerest apologies. We are aware of the current limitations with our internet service and we do have a Duty Manager, available throughout the day and night and had they been aware of your concerns could have rectified them for you.

If you happen to have any queries or special requests prior to your next visit then please contact our Guest Relations team on guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Modern and chic, it was a really pleasant surprise to find out how good this hotel was as I had imagined it to be like most airport hotels and a means to an end. This however is an enjoyable experience with a nice, spacious, clean room and various options to eat and drink (without having to lower yourself to the muck of the airport terminal fast food joints).

We had drinks in the Kua bar - thoroughly recommend the Italian Job cocktail if you like maraschino cherries. Bar lady was excellent at providing a never ending supply of savoury snacks as we chilled over a few cocktails.

We then had an excellent meal in the classy La Brasserie which was tremendous and on a par with many of the best restaurants I've eaten in. Yes, a bit more expensive but you get what you pay for.

This is the sort of place I would go to on a night out or even whilst on holiday, so it was a bonus to visit it whilst staying at the airport the night before our holiday flight.

Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and you were able to relax in our Kua bar and La Brasserie restaurant before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any queries or special requests then please contact our Guest Relations team at guestrelations@sofitelgatwick.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank peterturgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was only spoiled by the fact that while parking the car I managed to scrape the rear nearside wing of my car on the "scaffold poles" attached to the column at the start of the ramp up to the first floor. The column is painted yellow and easy to see, the "scaffold poles", which seem to be there as a handrail, were impossible to see when I parked at 6.30 at night and not much easier to see in daylight when I took some pictures. An employees comment that "it happens a lot" didn't help matters and I will be seeking advice on this matter. The cost of repair has been estimated at £3,000 and although I can see that Building Regulations (BS6399 Part I and BS 6180) say a lot about protecting pedestrians, albeit on a ramp intended for vehicles, I think the car park owners could take a few simple steps to either warn drivers of the hidden obstruction or actually fix the handrail in a different way to avoid any possible problems in the future. DRIVERS BEWARE!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidGrahamJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for submitting your review.

We were disappointed to read that you damaged your vehicle whilst using our car park. We do not have ‘scaffold poles’ as you refer to them within the car park. The barriers you refer to are part of the steel infrastructure. The approaches to and from the ramps meet with building regulations and we have over of the course of the year many thousands of vehicles using the facility without mishap. We have many large SUV vehicles including mini-buses and flat bed trucks negotiating the car park on a regular basis but occasionally when parking accidents can happen and we do understand how frustrating this can be.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and it is my hope that we will welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $129 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing