We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place for an Overnight Stay at Gatwick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great Place for an Overnight Stay at Gatwick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a very good hotel if you need to stay at Gatwick prior to an early morning flight - as we did.

The staff are friendly, helpful and, unlike so many hotels, seem genuinely pleased to see you.

The rooms are pleasantly furnished with large comfy beds, while the bathrooms are brightly lit and have decent sized baths with lots of piping hot water (other hotels please note - a bathroom must have a bath, at least in my book!)

Our only criticism was that the restaurant does not open until 18.30 and we wanted to eat before then so we ate elsewhere (see separate review of the Globe restaurant). There is a menu of snacks in the bar but the selection seemed limited and there was nothing that we really fancied.

Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would happily stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passepartout_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight.

I was disappointed to hear that you had to go an dine elsewhere due to the opening times of our restaurant. We do have our Urban Café available from 11:00 till 23:30, I do apologise if this was not explained to you.

If you have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,681
    2,470
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,187
4,044
499
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We decided to stay over at the Gatwick sofitel as a special Christmas treat before our early morning flight.

We had stayed several times at the Sofitel Heathrow which is simply fabulous.

On arrival at the Gatwick we were greeted by a courteous doorman, but that was the end of any pleasantries.

The queue to check in at 5pm was extensive. We needed to queue for half an hour with two young children.

At the desk I presented my Accor card to be told that absolutely I could not colllect the points due to me as I had booked through the Gatwick reservations system and not through the hotel directly. I had also asked for a quiet room at the end of a corridor on an upper floor but we were placed on a medium floor opposite a party of young adults keen on partying.the night away. We were also overlooking the main ring road which was very busy all night long.

I opened the fridge expecting some complimentary water, but there was nothing. (Unlike the Sofitel at Heathrow). The furniture was chipped in the bedroom and bathroom and I can honestly say that is was no greater luxury than a premier inn. And, had I realised the Premier inn was situated alongside the Sofitel, I would certainly have booked there instead given the costs involved!

We booked dinner at the restaurant down in the concourse. Dinner was costly and the kids meal deal was also more expensive than at Heathrow. The waiter brought our drinks and then dropped the entire delivery over our table soaking two of us. Had he at least apologised, it would have been a comfort. But he said nothing. The maitre D' came out and asked us to move to another dry table. We sat, waited, he re brought the drinks and then spilled them once again. Again still not a word of apology.

The food was very average indeed, though my daughter enjoyed her kids meal. But at £91 for a family with multiple spillages, and then the auto addition of a tip, I was really really unimpressed. I went to reception - where I had to queue with the remaining visitors trying to check in - there was no stand alone concierge available - to ask for water for our room. I was told that 'only the guests on the sixth floor and above' received free water. I realise this was probably another consequence of booking via Gatwick and not via Sofitel directly. Or not being some kind of premier business traveller. There is no room for family treats at the Gatwick Sofitel.

When I explained our dinner experience the receptionist did finally agree to give us some free bottled water. But it felt like a very empty gesture indeed. I have to admit to feeling really really let down: No points, no water, no pleasant meal, and no peaceful night. At least at a premier inn you get your money refunded if you don't get a good night's sleep. The chances of even being able to speak to someone at the Gatwick sofitel are extremely slim.

Avoid.

Room Tip: It seems little point asking for a quiet one, as you will not be provided with one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepdeprivedmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I sincerely apologise that your stay was not to your satisfaction and we would like to discuss this matter further with you. Please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com or by telephone on 01293 555100 who will be investigating the matter further.

I do hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked the parking and one night stay with holiday extra. The car drop off was quick and simple. The hotel rooms are nice, and the bed is very comfortable. Dinner choice is limited but you will find something to suit you. Breakfast was below average, and cooked food was not replaced when it run out on the buffet, we had to ask 3 times for eggs!. But well worth staying if you are using the north terminal at lgw.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moodycow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our Park and Fly package and the location of the hotel was suitable to catch your early morning flight, however I was disappointed to hear about the difficulties you experienced at breakfast and would like to offer my sincere apologies. Please rest assured that the necessary retraining of our ambassadors has been put into place to ensure that a similar occurrence does not happen again.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Unbeatable position at north terminal, Gatwick, was mystery hotel on late deals ( bargain) , very little benefit from being an Accor member, I was told in no uncertain terms I would not be getting any points for my stay because I did not book direct, generic room, nice central area, functional, but very good bed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tbent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted that you found the location of the hotel convenient to catch your early morning flight. I do apologise that you did not receive points on this particular stay.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I was impressed as soon as we walked into the hotel. Check in was simple and the rooms were spacious with very comfortable beds.

We'd got a very good deal on the hotel including a 2 course for meal for £17.95. Before dinner we went to kua bar for a cocktail. My mum picked her cocktail but the bar men helpfully let her know that it wasn't at all sweet. This was really good of him as sweet was what she wanted. The food was very good and the service was quick.

The shower was hot straight away and I liked that you got bath sheets instead of the small towels I always get in hotels. I'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil_vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted to hear that you and your mother experienced an enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I am a Platinum Accor Favourite Guest and I'd like to say that this hotel is the best one in Gatwick.
Also I don't do often some mistake, I did one checking in yesterday as I forgot to book a room.
The receptionist girl was very good and professional and propose to me a very good rate.
I was amaze that the hotel didn't take advantage and like to thank you them for that.
That prove that if you are loyal to Sofitel they would be loyal to you.
Thank you and Yes I do recommend this hotel room and for a little supplement enjoy the Club Floor with his bar.

Room Tip: Club floor bar is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I am delighted that you found our hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding the service you received. I have forwarded a copy to my management team and I am sure that they will be very much encouraged by your appreciative comments.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick on many future occasions.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing