We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great airport hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here the night before a long flight. The hotel is nice, spacious and most importantly... virtually inside the terminal.

We counted two bars and three restaurants - more than you could ask for in an airport hotel.

Great location and nice hotel. Not much more to be said!

Room Tip: I stayed there twice and both rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with our facilities and convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick on many future occasions.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,681
    2,470
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,187
4,044
499
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cream tea county
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel as we had a early morning flight to Italy, we dropped the cases off first,
parked the car but kept the keys as we wanted to put our over night bag in the car the next morning. Hotel was excellent, staff helpful as after dinner on returning, the room smelt faintly of smoke, the reception told us it was due to a bonfire, and they were investigating, but offered us an alternative room on the other side of the hotel and a fan. We then had a good nights sleep comfortable beds no complaints. On return the car was parked close to the drop off point. We would certainly use this hotel again for an overnight stay and parking. Nice start to the holiday, that was until we reached Catania but that's another review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and that you were pleased with our hospitality.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent location - a very well kept secret for travellers who do not wish to be on the road all night. Arrive the evening before, dine in comfort, and wake up fresh for your flight. To save money, you may consider Marks and Spencer's Simply Food, three minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and that you were pleased with our convenient location.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for an early flight to Italy, and used the Sofitel's own 'Stay and Park' parking facility. We have stayed here before for the same early flight reason, but had previously used different off-hotel parking. This time the parking was much easier and convenient, and we will use it again should the flight times be unkind. The hotel and its rooms are excellent, no extraneous noise whatsoever. The link to Gatwick a blessing, especially after the return flight.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer14SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable and as well that you were pleased with our Park and Fly package.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Usually I expect Sofitel to be quite a jump up in terms of rating from a Mercure, but this did not feel the case. Stayed 2 nights, including a meeting in their conference center.
Check-in & check-out was pretty slow, it never ceases to amaze me how large airport hotels seem to think they can get away with minimal check-in and check-out staff with so much traffic..
Room & bathroom: clean and the bed comfortable. Windows not the expected triple-glaze for an aiport hotel so a bit noisy. You cannot open the windows, but aircon worked well.
Breakfast: nothing special, the usual buffet and it was OK for quality and good for service.
Conference facilities: disappointing. Whoever booked us in did not take into account our needs and numbers, although we are a regular corporate client, and we ended up in a small boardroom on the lower level (near entrance). Daylight - yes, as long as you do not mind the smokers outside peering in to see what's going on. Otherwise you need to close the blinds.
Service for tea/coffee/lunch was disorganised e.g.food arrived but no napkins, not enough glasses, and the quality was average.
Wifi: the "free" offer is so slow you are obliged to pay anyway.
Parking: expensive because of the aiport 26 GBP overnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllOverThePlace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that I have personally addressed your comments with the relevant departments. We are always striving to improve standards within the hotel and we are always grateful for additional suggestions and comments.

We do hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us again and we look forward to you returning to the hotel. Our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent hotel at LGW airport. Stayed here for one night before a flight to Florida on Business. Comfortable rooms, great restaurant and helpful staff. Located conveniently within the North Terminal at Gatwick. This will definitely be 1st choice for me for future stays. Much better than the Hilton in the South Terminal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I am delighted that you had a very enjoyable stay and were happy with the service offered by our ambassadors. Your comments will be passed onto our team members as I am sure this will encourage them to keep up the hard work.

If you happen to have any queries or special requests prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing