We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8th floor oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at the sofitel for one night before leaving for Jamaica.. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the luxury 8th floor...To be honest the rooms are pretty much the same as the rest of the hotel but the lounge opposite the lift is great...small food offerings and a great bar , all served at your table...It has a great view of the runway too...

The only poor point was the room service offering....A pizza that was almost inedible and a burger that wasn't much better at the low low price of £32. I feel slightly guilty saying this as the staff were charming and the hotel great but they really need to work on the food... The lack of food options in the airport airside gives this hotel a clear run so they should serve up better quality food.

Room Tip: the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were able to enjoy your evening in our Club Sofitel Lounge. I will of course pass your comments onto our team members and ensure that they are praised for their hard work and commitment. I will also take your additional comments regarding the quality of food into account.

If you happen to have any questions or queries regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,518 - 5,524 of 8,212 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is coming up to the point where it needs a bit of an overhaul. I guess it's not changed since it opened and it feels a little dated now. However, it's the best Gatwick has to offer and is incredibly convenient for flights - just a walk from reception along a broad corridor and there you are, in the terminal. I even went shopping on the evening I arrived for some last minute, forgotten, items. My colleague and I were on a business trip to The Netherlands with a very early check in, so our need for a room adjacent to the terminal made the expense worthwhile. We stayed on the eighth floor - the Executive Floor - where you get a substantially more modern room - although, here again it is showing its age with chipped wooden surfaces and old leather bound hotel services information. The bathroom was OK but again the small toiletries and lack of 5 star touches let it down. The free nibbles and drinks in the Sofitel lounge on the same floor is only for guests of this floor - although we witnessed a couple of cheeky gatecrashers from the floor below. The nibbles weren't great - bread and cheese with some olives - but the glass of wine was a nice way to relax for an hour before going to bed. I will be back - it doesn't have any competition though, so maybe standards will slip further...? The restaurants on the ground floor are OK and convenient.

Room Tip: If you can afford the 8th Executive Floor you will get a modernised room. The rest of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quentinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you found the hotels location convenient to catch your early morning flight and you were able to relax in our Club Sofitel during the evening.

I will of course take you additional comments into consideration, concerning the standard of the hotel as we are always looking for areas in which the hotel could be improved.

If you happen to have any questions or special requests regarding a future stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and we will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had to visit London, from Guernsey, for an evening business presentation. The Sofitel is perfect for such an occasion! Rather than stay in London, I was able to check into the Sofitel in the afternoon, take the train up to London, and back later, with the convenience of both the airport and the rail station in close proximity. I was on the spot to get my plane out mid-morning the next day without the bother of getting up ridiculously early and fighting my way through rush hour crowds to catch the train. It all worked well!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ThGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that the hotels location suited your requires to get to and from London and you had a comfortable nights stay before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any questions or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This isn't the most luxurious or comfortable hotel I have ever stayed in but what makes it excellent is the conveinience to Gatwick. The walking distances to the terminal and multistorey parking means you have a really good relaxing start to your trip. And it's great value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heleneelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear you felt your stay was great value and you found the location of the hotel ideal to get to Gatwick Airports North Terminal.

If you happen to have any questions or special requests prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and we will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed in a prestige suit on our way to Monaco... lovely lounge attached to the room, and the complimentary minibar is always a nice addition. The Executive lounge could have been open a little longer as went into Covent Garden for the afternoon evening and by the time we returned the lounge was already shut at 10:30.
Other than this the stay was excellent and will be staying again when we go to Florida with the family in August

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dannycraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit to our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable nights stay in our Prestige Suite and I will take you additional comments into consideration in regards to the Club Sofitel Lounge opening times.

If you do happen to have any questions or queries then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick in August!

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay at, if like us, you have a very early morning flight.
It is a short walk to Gatwick North terminal .This is the third time we have stayed there and we would fully recommend Sofitel Gatwick.
Brian Kelly

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to get a good nights rest before your early morning flight.

If you happen to have any special requests or queries prior to your next stay then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great place to stay if you are flying from the north terminal and now they have the multi storey car park park and fly is an absolute delight. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and we had a great nights sleep. Food and drinks can be a bit pricey, but there are places to eat in the airport complex. All in all i would recommend the Sofitel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Scriv69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were pleased with our accommodation.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $128 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing