We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for de-stressing travelling to Gatwick for a morning flight. The car park is adjacent to the hotel & luggage can be dropped off at the entrance before parking the car. A covered walkway leads through to North Terminal. The rooms are comfortable & quiet.

We have stayed here once before and enjoyed supper in the Asian restaurant. This time, a long wait for a table (we hadn't pre-booked) led us to eat in the Cafe as the menu for the Brasserie held no particular appeal. The service in the cafe was excellent, the food heavy & disappointing. We also had a cocktail in the cocktail bar beforehand; a good cocktail, excellent service but no ambiance.

Worth booking a table in the Asian restaurant if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPPHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

I am delighted that overall you experienced a pleasant stay at our hotel.

Please contact our Guest Relations Manager prior to your next visit on 01293 555100 or e-mail h6204-gr@sofitel.com so we can ensure that a table in our Gatwick Oriental restaurant is booked for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick on many future occasions.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,671
    2,464
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,185
4,035
496
828
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel on the 20 March. It was very convenient to get to as we arrived in at the North Terminal. Reception staff were friendly and we got a room on the third floor which was well soundproofed and fine in terms of size. The bathroom (shower in bath) was good. I was less impressed by the bed which was desperately bouncy. A firmer bed with a mattress topper would have been better. It would have been nice to have had two armchairs in the room as there were two of us. There was a good choice of places to eat and as we had been pretty well fed on the incoming flight we chose the Asian restaurant, reviewed separately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay; however I am disappointed to learn of your concerns regarding the bed.

Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

Please contact our Guest Relations Manager prior to your next booking on 01293 555100 or e-mail h6204-gr@sofitel.com so that we can ensure you experience a more comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick on many future occasions.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Sofitel London Gatwick is situated opposite the North Terminal passenger drop off point and is linked to the terminal via a short covered walkway. The hotel has its own multi-story car park (part of the hotel, not miles away) and one can book a room with parking (with optional breakfast and / or evening meal).

This is not a destination hotel, but somewhere you stay a night before / after a flight or spend a few hours during the day (i.e. day room booking is available).

The interior is dimly lit and the standard rooms are nothing special (and like so many hotels the bathroom extractor fan did not work and the shower screen did not fit properly resulting in a flooded room).
As an overnight stop, with holiday parking, this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel.

I am glad that you found the location of our hotel accessible, however I am disappointed to learn of your concern regarding the room, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Your feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brixham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is fantastic the best beds in town we had the family room it was spacious and very comfortable, it's good for early check in a 2 minute walk away the Chinese restaurant is also handy and good food would recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank nettyshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the Park and Fly package that you booked and as well that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel before flying from Gatwick North Terminal.
On arrival, met by porter at the drop off area. He took our bags & informed me of the check in procedure & diredted me to the car park at th rear of the hotel.
The park & stay desk is on the ground floor in the hotel entrance foyer.
Very friendly & efficient check-in, had to give them the car park space number & they retained key.
Reception area is in a large attrium, again check-in efficient & friendly.
Room - double room with queen size bed / flat screen Tv / large bathroom.
all excellent condition & decor.
Restuarants - there are x 3 here all situated in the attrium and an average price for a hotel situated at an airport. Did not use them as there are several options available to dine either in the terminal or nearby cheaper hotels.
There is a direct link tunnel from the reception floor straight into the terminal {reason why we booked it} which takes you into the check-in desks.
We had an early morning flight so we used the express check-out service.
Excellent hotel - staff extremely polite / efficient & friendly.
Will deffinately use this hotel again if we can get the right priced package £149 for room & 10 days parking.

Room Tip: Did not have a choice with our park & stay package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandamNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the Park and Fly package that you booked and as well that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the Perfect place to stay before an early morning flight. Excellent service and very comfortable rooms with quality appointments. Check in is fast and polite. Rooms are quiet. I have stayed many times and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank aj2008r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel London Gatwick.

I am delighted that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick on many future occasions.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business as my flights leave Gatwick in the morning. The hotel is consistently good and definitely convenient particularly for North Terminal. I did encounter a problem with Internet access on my last visit. The hotel staff were helpful but the issue was never fully resolved. Having said that I do plan on staying there again in a month when I back in the U.K.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ProfessorTraveler601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your stays at our hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

I am delighted that you experienced another pleasant stay at out hotel, however I must apologise for the problems you experienced with the internet.

Please contact our Guest Relations Manager prior to your next visit on 01293 555100 or
e-mail: h6204-gr@sofitel.com so that we can prevent any future internet issues.

We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London Gatwick .

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing