We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable overnight stay for Gatwick but WELL overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
262 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Reasonable overnight stay for Gatwick but WELL overpriced”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A reasonable overnight stay for Gatwick £195 includes parking for a week and a room but WELL Overpriced. Just like the Gatwick Hilton so next time I wont be eating there at night (£180 for a meal for 2 adults and a child) and breakfast at £18 each. Will go next door to Premier Inn.


Only reason I didnt do it this time is because I didnt know the logistics of where I was. As it stands they are next door to each other.

And to be honest liquid egg is liquid egg no matter where you are!!!

No real complaints. Just the prices.

Room Tip: All good no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365drills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted that you had a comfortable nights stay and were able to relax before your early morning flight. I must apologise however that you found our outlets a little expensive.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick, if you have any queries or special requests then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,749
    2,494
    673
    212
    125
See reviews for
1,208
4,097
503
846
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Not a long review;

Service; Front desk very courteous, friendly ans welcoming.
Rooms; Good standard not luxury but idea to rest your head with a lovely comfortable bed.
Location: Connected to the North terminal

All in all if the price was right I'd love to stay again. We usually stay at the Hilton but in my opinion I don't think it's as good as the Sofitel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted that you were happy with the service and facilities the hotel has to offer and you were able to relax before your early morning flight.

Please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com ahead of any future booking and they will be happy to assist you with any queries or requests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Did an overnight stay here as our flight was in the morning. With a five minute walk via internal (though freezing cold due to snow) walkway from the hotel to the check-in desk at Gatwick North Terminal it was a stress free way to start the holiday. Had dinner in one of the hotel restaurants which was average. Open plan with the lobby so a little cold. More expensive restaurant may be a better choice. Rooms very comfortable and checkin/checkout was hassle free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am happy that you found the hotel comfortable and suited to your needs and it was the ideal location for you to catch your early morning flight.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick very soon and if you have any special requests or queries regarding your booking then please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com and they will be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I live in London. It is very easy to get to Gatwick via Victoria Station on the Gatwick Express. I have been very busy and booked a last minute trip to the sun out of Gatwick to escape the February cold and snow. I thought why not travel to Gatwick the night before, grab a hotel and have an easy morning before boarding my mid day plane. I looked at Trip Advisor (if course!) and found the "only" hotel actually in the airport to be the Sofitel. I put only in quotes because there are others I discovered when I arrived but Sofitel is the easiest and it is THE BEST!

I arrived on the Gatwick Express at the South Terminal and took the shuttle to the North Terminal where the hotel is situated. Very easy to find smack bang opposite the North Terminal entrance. Folks even if you fly out of South Terminal STAY HERE!

Walk through a connecting tunnel and enter Sofitel. It has a tranquility about it but on my visit it was actually heaving.

As I had booked late I didn't have a huge choice of rooms and I considered this a real treat for me and the other half so I splashed out on an executive room which was located on the top (8th) floor and they have an executive lounge. Free everything in tranquility. Lovely! However if you want a meal, and we were ravenous, there are a couple of very good restaurants on the ground floor (or Podium as they call it) if you go down to the ground floor in the lift you will actually be underground at the transportation level and have to take the escalator back up again.

We could not get into the restaurants we would have liked so here is a tip: if you book this hotel and want to eat (look at the website for restaurants) book your table at the same time as your room! We had no alternative than to eat in the only available restaurant called Gatwick Oriental, yes Chinese! By the way it was Chinese New Year (of the snake 2013) not a dragon or a hanging lantern in sight! This restaurant turned out to be a gem. Fabulous!

After dinner we went back to the executive lounge for free nightcaps then to our room.

The room was remarkably small considering it was an executive but it was very comfortable with the most incredibly comfortable bed and hallelujah somebody at Sofitel took the trouble to purchase comfortable pillows Fantastic!!!

The bathroom was also small but bright with Hermes toiletries and nice towels. The mini bar was stocked with Coca Cola, mineral water, cordial mixers, beer and a small bottle of wine. All free of charge - a nice touch. There was also a tub of Turkish delight which was also free.

We were asleep in no time and woke up to free breakfast in the executive lounge and a very leisurely easy transition to the terminal and onto the plane.

The staff at this hotel are all excellent. We were checked in by Kayleigh who was exceptional and welcoming.

If you are flying out from Gatwick don't go anywhere else and don't be mean to yourself spend the hundred or so pounds for an executive room on the top floor and book a table for dinner. Whether you are flying out of the North Terminal where the hotel is situated or South (the shuttle whisks you there in minutes) stay at Sofitel. They also have a car park if you drive to the airport.

Enjoy!! I will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and you were able to enjoy the hotels services and facilities and relax before your early morning flight the next day.

I will of course pass your kind comments onto our Receptionist Kayleigh, and make sure she gets the praise that she deserves for her hard work and commitment.

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel London Gatwick and if you have any queries or requests then our Guest Relations team can be contacted on h6204-gr@sofitel.com.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here before taking an early flight to Antigua, The bedrooms are of high standard and well maintained, beds very comfy, excellent nights sleep.
We consider the evening as part of the holiday and treat ourselves to a lovely meal. The advantage is that we can get the baggage checked in the night before then enjoy the evening and a full night sleep before our flight.
A great deal was to be had using AHP hotel and parking together.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariane122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, ACCOR, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing