We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

7,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,824
    2,524
    686
    216
    128
See reviews for
1,227
4,177
512
855
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed there for the 3rd time as was travelling from the North Terminal, I will in future use the Hilton as their service is far better in the restaurant and bars. The Sofitel rooms are OK and nicely decorated but they really let you down with their service. I went into the bar area for a quick drink in the evening, it wasn't overly busy and I was asked by a waitress to take a seat and she would come and take my order. She unfortunately never returned and I was left for 20 minutes just sitting and waiting for someone to serve me. In the end I gave up and walked upstairs to the upper bar area, unfortunately the bar man was on his own and said he would be a while as he 8 other drinks to make first of all. On looking over the balcony back to the first bar the staff were just standing around chatting to each other. I gave up and got the monorail over to the Hilton where I was served immediately. I'll not use the hotel again due to the staff there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank americansunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. I must apologise that you were not served straight away in our bars. I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Operations Manager, who is currently looking into the situation and has ensured that the necessary retraining of our ambassadors has been put into place.

I do hope that you will give is another chance to better serve you in the future. Please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com the next time you are travelling through Gatwick and they will ensure you have a more enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel many times and found it very comfortable and convenient when I have an early flight to catch. However on my last trip, there were 2 adults and a child in the room, so for the first time ever, we had to use the fold-out sofa bed.

What a shocker! It was old, worn,tatty, and grubby. The foam stuffing was poking out in places and didn't look as if it was of a fire resistant standard. It was hard as a rock, and the metal frame hurt the backs of your legs if you tried to sit on the edge of the bed. I didn't want to put my child in it, to be honest you'd think twice about using it as a dogs bed !

Come on Sofitel, this just isn't acceptable, it's about time you threw those sofa beds on the bonfire. Based on my previous visits, I would have given the hotel a four star rating, but after seeing that awful sofa bed I was severely tempted to mark it down to two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500globe-trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologise that you found your stay not up to our usual standards. I will of course pass your comments onto our Housekeeping department, who will look into the matter of our sofa beds; however I can assure you that they are safe to use.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please contact our Guest Relations team on h6204-gr@sofitel.com the next time you stay and they will ensure a more comfortable stay for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Location of hotel could not be more convenient. Check in and out was quick and without any hassles. Staff, service was first class. Bar and restaurant were also very good. Could not find fault with anything---highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our hospitality and facilities to your satisfaction.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

basically if you want to be next to the airport and enjoy a good night sleep in a nice room this is your hotel. however there is no room service/pool. facilities are somehow disappointing but i enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are pleased that you had a good night sleep and that the location of our hotel suited your needs, we are however sorry to learn about your disappointment with regards to not having a pool at our hotel.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing