We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent practical stopover for early morning departure but very exensive restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent practical stopover for early morning departure but very exensive restaurant”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently stayed overnight as this hotel offered parking facilities during our time away. The hotel staff were very courteous and the room clean and spacious. However, we had a one course dinner for two in their brasserie with only soft drinks and no coffee or tea. While the quality of the food and presentation was excellent the bill came to £67.- which we felt was excessive. We felt this restaurant waw catering primarily for business customers with expense accounts rather than ordinary tourists. Next time we shall eat in the coffee shot!

Peter

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and we will certainly pass your comments onto our team members as this will serve as an encouragement to keep delivering the excellent service that we pride ourselves on.

We do also have a variety of different restaurants in the hotel, including international dishes in our new Urban Café and Asian cuisines in our Gatwick Oriental restaurant.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,832
    2,526
    686
    216
    128
See reviews for
1,228
4,184
512
855
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The ideal hotel for Gatwick. Park the car, catch the courtesy bus to the airport and walk into the hotel. The beds are beautifully soft, never had a bad night here. And you have the knowledge that you are there and ready for your flight. The restaurant is expensive but walk across to the airport - there are a couple of restaurants and Marks and Spencer food store.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had a relaxing stay before your flight. We of course will pass your comments onto our staff as this will serve as an encouragement for them to keep delivering the excellent service that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times ,so handy for the airport and a good standard,unfortunately the overpriced pretentious food in the la brasserie lets them down.tonight I waited 30 minutes for a plate or cold coloured water that went under the Name of vegetable soup topped with ham.another 20 minutes it was followed by belly pork that was well over cooked and also cold.they also had the nerve to add 13% service charge ,all they did was put the cold food before us ,we poured our own wine and water ,normally would not care but at their astronomical prices one would expext some type of service.needles to say we won't be eating there again

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bonabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We must apologise that your meal in our La Brasserie Restaurant was not up to our usual high standard. Please rest assured that your comments will be passed onto the relevant food and beverage managers to ensure that the necessary retraining will be put into place.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldermaston, UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times now using the great park and fly service, and thought it worthwhile to drop a note about the hotel. It's ideal for a stop over ahead of an early morning flight out of Gatwick. We could probably have survived getting up early for this particular trip, but decided to make the start of the trip less stressful.

The hotel is modern and the rooms well appointed - comfortable and quiet, and ideal for that short stay. This time we ate the evening before our flight at La Brasserie, which was very good (particularly for an airport hotel), and better than our experience at the Chinese restaurant (Gatwick Oriental) earlier in the year - it was o.k., but a real sense of being on a very fast conveyor belt. In contrast, the French restaurant this time was much better, in terms of food and overall atmosphere - in other words, we felt like we were in a restaurant, rather than at the airport.

The park and fly deal is great - drop the car and collect on the return, with only a short covered walk between the hotel and Gatwick North terminal each way in between.

If you are thinking of whether to stay overnight or not before a flight, you wouldn't go wrong choosing the Sofitel. It makes a great, stress-free start to any holiady. We'll stay again the next time we fly out of Gatwick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had a stress free and enjoyable stay and your meal in our La Brasserie Restaurant was a pleasant one. We will of course pass your comments onto our team members as this will serve as an encouragement to keep delivering the high levels of service we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have stayed here on two occasions this year using the convenient park and fly deal. Both times we have had a good night's sleep in a clean and well equipped room. Staff are very efficient, and we have never had a problem. The toiletries are nice, bathroom shower warm and well powered, and the in room teas and coffees much appreciated.
As we have mostly been arriving late and leaving early, I can't really comment on the hotel facilities as we simply haven't used them. Apparently there is a gym though, which I seem to have missed, and would have used if I'd know about it - so that pointer is there for anyone like me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHTWMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable nights stay. We will of course pass your comments onto our staff as this serves as an encouragement to keep on delivering the excellent customer service that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We are fond of Sofitel airport hotels. Staff are well trained and give you a feeling of being special. There are some areas that could improve, especially in the restaurants. However, staying overnight without any need to leave the hotel is good. There are not many airport hotels that are better than this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopper2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, General Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We thank you for posting your comments relating to your most recent stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel and our Guest Relations Team can be contacted on H6204-GR@sofitel.com ahead of any future stay to assist with any specific requirements.

Sincerely,

Graham Hawksworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing