We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a way to begin a Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“What a way to begin a Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Easy to forget you are at an airport in this hotel.

Great lobby and spacious bars and restaurant.

Fab comfy beds and amazing pillows.

Got to be the best way to begin a holiday with a short walk to the terminals.

Staff courteous and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, October 22, 2016
Bonjour Quinonostante,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,750
    2,494
    674
    212
    125
See reviews for
1,208
4,098
503
847
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We flew Emirates and it was just so handy being at the North Terminal. Have been to the Sofitel Gatwick a few times and it is a decent hotel, a bit pricey but got the best deal available and worth it for the convenience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Damien_and_Kate_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, October 22, 2016
Bonjour Damien_and_Kate_UK,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here before mid-morning flight. Location v. convenient (attached to N Terminal).Room comfortable and well-appointed. Good sound-proofing. Food expensive in all 3 outlets but Cafe offered better value than others. Alternative (unless you want a hot meal) is M&S in terminal (catering land side in N Terminal is pretty poor).
Continental breakfast at £17.00 a head is extortionate and plays on a captive market; quality only so-so.
Check-in staff appeared uninterested though may have been just tired towards the end of a day.
Best aspect is long-term parking deal which made the whole thing a bargain!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europhile-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, October 22, 2016
Bonjour Europhile-7,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Overnight stay before departing on holiday. Room was complimentary following issues with our previous stay in February.

The good:
great location, with covered walkway to terminal
lovely atrium area
variety of restaurants
rooms well equipped and comfortable
great facilities

The bad:
snooty check in staff
very cold throughout the hotel - air conditioned to the max
food was at best average - long wait times and then delivered cold
breakfast expensive for a routine buffet

Most annoying thing for me was the hotel's inability to record my name correctly. Corrected at reception during my first stay, then twice by e-mail during subsequent correspondence, by phone when making this booking and then again at reception on arrival - and still they insisted on using my first name as my surname and calling me a Ms (when I am definitely a Mr!!).

I have marked as average as Trip Advisor does not give a good option and I don't think the hotel deserves a very good rating.

It is a convenient option due to location - but I doubt will use again - there are better options close by.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, October 22, 2016
Bonjour shaunster,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was our 5th stay at the Sofitel and as usual it gave us a relaxing start to our holiday.
We stayed there for one night before flying out to Cuba early the next day.
The Sofitel is Great place to stay, good service and lovely rooms.
We ate in the Chinese, but have also tried the Bistro and Café.
The Chinese was good value with the set meal and service was very good.
The Café offers good value meals also and the Bistro is more expensive, but good quality food.
The hotel is connected to the north terminal, with a train taking you to the south terminal a few minutes away.
For cheaper meals and drinks you can walk to the north terminal and eat and drink there if you want to save some money.
I will always stay here if flying early from Gatwick; it’s the best way to start your holiday a day earlier.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMisterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, October 22, 2016
Bonjour LondonMisterc,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Al
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

The staff was very helpful in getting us a room ready by 8:00am! If you need something to do for the afternoon, I suggest going to the south terminal for the train and take the 45 minute ride down to Brighton, a pretty coastal town. See the royal pavillions while you are there!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlsrlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, October 22, 2016
Bonjour Rlsrlj,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing