We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst nights sleep ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst nights sleep ever”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is set in a nice quiet location and looks nice from the outside. However when me and my partner walked into reception around 3pm the time of check in, there was no one to be seen. So we waited abit and then the receptionist came out and finally checked us in. We then got to the room and felt like we had walked back into the 70s with worn carpets, extremely dated furniture ( chest of drawers, cabinet, desk) and a Box TV! With no Freeview! They also charge 5 pound per day to use wi-fi, most hotels have this for free nowadays. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and hard, so were the pillows however the bed was clean. The bathroom was very dated and needed new grouting between the wall tiles. The swimming pool was out of service, this was one of the reasons we came to stay. The food menu was over priced and all food ordered to the room had a tray charge!! Making the food price even more!! We wouldn't come back here in a rush.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RejxZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay.      We are very sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience and found the accommodation did not meet your expectations, also that you found the bed uncomfortable.     We are aware that some of our rooms are in need of updating and wish to assure you this matter is being addressed.     Please accept our sincere apologies.     We believe it is normal practice for hotels such as ours to charge a tray charge, however, we are very sorry you were not made aware of this in advance, also that our swimming pool is currently out of service.May we thank you for taking the time to post a review for the information of other travellers.Kind regardsGuest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    376
    362
    261
    224
See reviews for
211
677
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sadly we are still staying here. Hotel looks nice until you look closely, outside walls are shabby, reception is okay, dated. Rooms are very very dated, threadbare carpets all stained, peeling bathroom, tv and furniture that dates to more then 20'years ago. Sadly we are here for two more nights.

Went to restaurant and had the trout, was tiny, with a sautéed new potatoe, one potatoe sliced up, hard carrots, and one piece of hard brocollini.

On th plus at least the bed was clean, but is that and a descent space not normal. Don't walk around in your bare feet.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are extremely sorry you felt so disappointed with your stay, in particular relating to the standard of accommodation provided. Please accept our sincere apologies and may we assure you that the subject of our rooms is currently being reviewed by our Head Office and updates/refurbishments are planned relating to both our hotels at Gatwick. We are also very sorry you felt dissatisfied with your meal. We are only sorry we did not have the opportunity during your stay to offer you an alternative room or for you to meet with the Duty Manager who, I feel sure, would have done his utmost to try to improve your impression of the hotel.
May I thank you once again for your honest and constructive review. We do hope you have had a safe journey and that we may hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is run very badly.

I was booked in to this hotel by a travel agent (who I won't be using again) and each time I spoke to the hotel, they gave me a different story - from 'yes, you are booked in for two adults and two children' to 'we've got the adults but not the children' to 'you are booked in but need to pay more' to 'we were looking at the wrong month and you're not booked in'.

I have to give a rating of one as Trip Advisor do no allow no stars! You simply cannot rely on this hotel. Avoid....

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NewName23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are very sorry you received such poor customer service when enquiring about your booking. This really is very unusual, we are extremely sorry you had such difficulty.
May we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

As the title says, I am not sure really what to write about this hotel. The grounds and outside the hotel are lovely. The gardens were well kept and when we walked into the hotel, the entrance was impressive and the staff very polite.

We then went to our room.............oh dear. The carpet in parts were threadbare, right down to the cord. The furniture was very old, shabby and in dire condition. The television was one of those with an enormous back.

The bed though was large and comfortable and the linen was very clean, as was the bathroom.

There seemed to be very few people staying at the hotel, hence our room on the first floor was very quiet. We never heard a sound all night long.

We would stay here again as we got a good deal with laterooms.com and paid just £56 for room and breakfast (although rather a hit and miss affair.)

The hotel suited our needs although a great deal of money needs to be spent updating it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSeptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your informative review following your recent stay. I am sorry the standards in your bedroom did not meet your expectations. We are aware that our rooms are in need of updating and wish to assure you this matter is being addressed. We are very glad your bed was comfortable and that you found the hotel very quiet. We are very glad you would consider returning to us in the future and that you believed we offer good value for money.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just stayed the one night. Room was clean and good value for money especially with a weeks free parking. Good connection service to airport. Friendly and helpful staff.
Main disappointment was that the public areas and bars were looking very tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. Food very average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonesRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and found that we offered good value for money. We are aware some areas of the hotel are in need of updating and refurbishment and wish to assure you this matter is being addressed.
We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here the night before our early morning flight, it was booked via a third party website as an undercover hotel and im not sure if I would of booked it if id of known which hotel it was.

This hotel has massive potential, the cleanliness and service is fantastic so they are already half way there. However it is the rooms and corridors that let them down. The bedrooms and bathrooms are an extremely good size but are quite dated and the lighting makes them very gloomy which is a shame.

The reception area is lovely and there is ample car parking which is great.

We didnt eat at the hotel as we needed to eat and be in bed early but the resruarant looked attractive and we would have considered eating there under different circumstances. we didnt use any of the other services apart from the shuttle bus which is £4 each way payable to the driver.

We recieved excellent friendly service on check in and out and when we went to collect our car and this is why I have given them a 4 overall as good service goes miles in my eyes and in that respect this hotel has it spot on, added to that the cleanliness it makes for a good pre flight stop over. With updated rooms and corridors it could be great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your informative review following your stay with us prior to your holiday. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with your bedroom. We do realise some of our rooms are in need of updating and refurbishment. This matter is currently being addressed with regard to our two Gatwick hotels. We are very glad you enjoyed your overall stay and found our parking and proximity to the airport convenient.
Thank you once again for your constructive comments.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Public rooms. especially the bar were cold. Bar staff had to be called from the back room to serve and they cancelled the Al a Carte menu in the restaurant to cater a delayed flight. This gave us a "choice" of one meal.
The decor is very tired and dated and in poor condition. All the seats in the bar area were stained.
Wish I had read the other reviews before booking at short notice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay and wish to apologise for the inconvenience caused. May we thank you for taking the time to post your comments for the benefit of othere travellers.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Address: West Park Road | Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing