We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing second visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Crawley Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing second visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

After good experience in March disappointed with room on 7th floor. Machinery noises all night and temperature way too high. Still same helpful and efficient staff and meals delicious and value for money.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterM98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    102
    121
    74
    113
See reviews for
64
170
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked this hotel via Holiday Extras. We stayed in a Ramada at Crawley before (which was great) and I thought this was the same hotel. When we got there I realised my mistake big time! I have never written a review on Tripadvisor before but I felt I had to warn other people of this rotten place. The room stank of cigarettes, the beds looked like there were about 20 -30 years old. I didn't dare look at the matteress. Even the corridors stank. We booked an early morning call - that never happened. I will never go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is a mixed bag! If it hadn't have been for the fact that I was given a room with a truly horrific mattress, I would have happily given this hotel 3 or 4 out of 5 as the customer service given by Kinjal was excellent, the rooms were a good size and the location and parking were very convenient.

However, there is no escaping the fact that I was given what I can only sum up as the most horrific mattress I've ever had the misfortune to set eyes on! Upon peeling back the sheet and utterly heavily stained mattress protector, I found that my mattress was as good as non-existent!

The mattress had literally disintegrated and was falling apart at the seams. The parts of the mattress which remained intact were soiled and truly disgusting. I can only assume that for years the cleaners must have turned a blind-eye on this or perhaps didn't see fit to flag this up as a problem.

Either way, this hotel has not only fallen below par in terms of standards, but has besmirched Ramada's good name.

Room Tip: Inspect your mattress on arrival - you might have a horrible shock otherwise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wycombe-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for a week for buisness purposes. The rooms are pretty dated and in need of repair. The rooms were fairly clean. Would be ideal for a quick stop when going to Gatwick. Free Wi Fi which is a bonus now a days. Sheets were made daily. Right on Crawley high street so easy access to many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggy0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'd read that parts of the George Hotel in Crawley go back to the 15th century, and also that the ghost of a night watchman who inadvertently drank some poison is known to wander the corridors. Alas we saw no ghosts on our one night stay here! That said, the front of the hotel is steeped in character, and the location is ideal right on the old High Street in Crawley - surrounded by plentiful restaurants, pubs and shops, and the Crawley market right outside on the Saturday. And, overall we had a very enjoyable stay :)

The back of the hotel looks a bit patchy & certainly in need of a clean-up, and from previous reviews I get the impression that the standard of rooms is highly variable, dependent on where you happen to get placed. So - I can only comment on our room. We found it very roomy, clean and comfortable, and we slept very well. The room is equipped with a large flat screen TV with all freeview channels (including the HD ones) available, and tea and coffee making facilities. Where we were there was no trouble with noise during the night - although many of the corridors certainly have creaky floors walking through, adding to the character for us, but possibly a nuisance for the rooms close by.

We booked with Avios points, and our stay included full breakfast. This was a full buffet style breakfast with unlimited tea/coffee, selection of hot and cold items including cereal, fruits, yogurts, pastries and full English breakfast items, which we both enjoyed.

The booklet/website says that free WiFi is available in all rooms. However, in our room we were unable to find any networks whatsoever on either phone or iPad. Since we were only there for one night, we were fine with the 3G signal but this could be an issue had we been staying longer. I didn't chase up so don't know if there was any issue the night we were there, or if it was just the room we were in.

Good value and I would be happy to recommend, based on our room and stay.

Room Tip: It's a bit of a warren in there, and I suspect rooms may vary enormously. Ours was 404, which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MRunnicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The bathroom door could not shut. The Shower Curtain was too short so flooded the bathroom.
The bed was broken and extremely uncomfortable. The bedding was so thin we thought at first that there wasn't any!
General grubby feel with shabby wardrobe and fittings
Noisy guests late night
So probably the worst room I've stayed in in recent years.
The only thing that wasn't bad was nice clean soft towels.
Ramada need to get in and sort this hotel out pronto.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIKE p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a park and stay deal for a holiday flight from Gatwick.
Large rooms good bar area, the restaurant was fantastic great food at resonable prices, we stayed for 1 night wait 12 days parking for £96.00.
Great value will be staying again next time we fly from gatwick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#25 of 28 in Crawley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.7 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gatwick Crawley Town (Goff's Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Crawley Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Crawley Gatwick

Property: Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Address: The George Hotel High Street, Crawley RH10 1BS, England (Formerly The George Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Crawley Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Crawley Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Crawley Gatwick Hotel Crawley
George Hotel Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing