We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The night before the flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The night before the flight”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Ramada Plaza before going on a flight the next day. The rooms are comfortable and well soundproofed. We booked this time through APH and got a weeks parking included for a very reasonable £83, we were offered a 10% discount off food at the hotel. A good place to stay before an early departure from Gatwick Airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are delighted you found us so convenient and comfortable ahead of your holiday flight. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully a third time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    601
    265
    109
    74
See reviews for
358
785
61
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked a deal through Aviva which gave us the overnight hotel stay, meet & greet parking at Gatwick and this also included 10% off food at the hotel. We had a friendly check in and they confirmed that we would indeed have 10% off our food bill in their Arts Restaurant. The room was fine, bed was big enough and all was clean. I would stay here again if needing an overnight stay prior to using Gatwick

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goateee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are delighted you found us ideal for your pre flight stay.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

booked this hotel through Thomas Cook as a pre flight hotel with car parking. The hotel was easy to find of the M23. We had a problem finding our reservation and I do not know if it was the hotels fault or Thomas Cook's. Anyway we were requested to sit in the bar area whilst they tried to sort it out. It was very cold but we thought it was just the foyer with outside doors opening. Anyway all sorted out and of to our room. Large room which had seen better days (same as the rest of the hotel). The enamel on the bath was cracked around the plug hole with rust showing through. The room appeared to be clean. However I could not adjust the heat and my wife was sitting watching TV with her overcoat on. I called reception who informed me the heating is not switched on until 8pm; it was now 6pm.
We eat in the hotel and it was not cheap for the standard of food. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. My wife ordered fish and chips and I half peri peri chicken. The cod look huge but was not so great tasting. My chicken was huge. I was so tough and full of water trying and I had to return it as it was uneatable. I ended up with a beef sandwich.
Breakfast was buffet still and I considered at £7.50/head reasonably priced. There was plenty of selection. However we did not come down until 9:30am and it appears we were the last for breakfast. Again the staff were excellent. My only problem was the hot foot had been left under the lights for so long and not refreshed that everything was dried up. The black pudding was rough. The fried eggs looked good but the jokes had gone hard. The cooks came to clear the hotplate and discarded an awful lot of food. Had they laid out less and refreshed it more then tast would have improved and waste diminished.
Booking out was easy and directions to Airpark clear and easy. I am not sure if I would stop here again when there are Premier Inns in the neighbourhood and I know their prices and standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0xymoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Ramada Plaza London Gatwick. We take great care to ensure the comfort of our guests during their stay however on this occasion, at a time when the property is undergoing refurbishment, we fell short of meeting your expectations.

We are looking forward to the new look of the hotel coming soon and hope you will come back to experience the beautiful refurbishment, have an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here prior to taking a flight, it was just like being in a transit camp, no personal attachment by the staff has there is a queue for everything from the booking in desk to the bar to the taxis. My only advise to people staying here is allow plenty of time to check out as no matter what time day or night it's busy. Also allow plenty of money of you going to eat in the hotel as the food is expensive".

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do offer an express check out option where guests can leave their key in a drop box which maybe worth noting for the future.
We apologise if our customer service was not delivered to our usual high standard during this exceptionally busy time. It is an area we pride ourselves on and hope to welcome you back in the future where we can demonstrate our usual high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night last week. Pictures on site looked great and only 3 miles from gatwick. Staff were friendly and helpful on reception and in the bar. However, room smelt of sick, and the bath had the enamel peeling of it. Would not stay again. Lifts did not work the following morning and there was no sign up to say so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Ramada Plaza London Gatwick. First of all I would like to apologise that we didn't meet the usual high standards guests expect from us.

We take great care to ensure the comfort of our guests during their stay however on this occasion, at a time when the property is undergoing refurbishment, we fell short of meeting your expectations.

We are looking forward to the new look of the hotel coming soon and hope you will come back to experience the beautiful refurbishment, have an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel is basic and adequate for flying visit pre or post flight at Gatwick.
However on pre flight stay there were two false fire alarms!
On post flight stay on arrival at 2300 the hotel reception staff had NO RECORD of our on-line booking. The person on reception (name badge said "Yogi") was totally confused when I showed him a printout of their confirmation of my on-line booking. I asked to speak to Duty Manager and it turned out to be Yogi and no one else available. Fortunately there was a room available and we eventually got to bed somewhat later than anticipated.
Suggest always print out hotel confirmation e-mail and carry it with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paxton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Ramada Plaza London Gatwick. We are delighted you found the hotel convenient for you ahead of flying out of Gatwick. We are sorry to hear you had problems with your online booking however we are happy to hear this was resolved and you were provided with a room despite the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here before our early morning flight, Our son booked 2 rooms and both were first class. Very roomy and lovely bathrooms. Very convenient for Gatwick will definitely stay again.
The Staff were very helpful as we wanted to go out for a meal with our 3 year old granddaughter

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSEMARY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review!
We do hope to welcome you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Address: Three Bridges 18 Tinsley Lane South, Crawley RH10 8XH, England (Formerly Ramada Plaza London Gatwick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#11 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the beautifully appointed 151 bedrooms at our hotel near Gatwick airport has air conditioning, an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed Internet access.Savour a relaxing meal in the Brassiere Restaurant, which serves contemporary modern food in stylish surroundings or take it easy in our friendly Club Bar. Alternatively hit the gym in the on-site fitness centre to shake off any jetlag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Plaza Gatwick
Ramada Crawley
Crawley Ramada
Ramada Plaza Gatwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing