We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,451)
Filter reviews
3,451 results
Traveler rating
102
350
590
536
1,873
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
102
350
590
536
1,873
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 3,451 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's be honest here, this hotel needs a refurb - its a bit dated and a bit grubby in places however, its well situated, the rooms are clean enough and functional, the staff are professional and friendly and its inexpensive. If you were booking a hotel for a week, i'd probably say look for somewhere else but for a night or 2 it offers pretty good value for money and is fine. A few of the people I talked to were getting a cheap double room for the night, paying five pounds a night parking and jetting off for the weekend from nearby gatwick (£9 by taxi) which I would consider in future give the price of parking at the airport. Its an average hotel and priced accordingly.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank monkeyman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. The charge for parking is £6.25 per day which has to be pre-booked and is subject to availability. Booking a parking package may be beneficial to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for a hotel to stay at for Gatwick airport try one of the other ones. poor service staff are not organised on the check in desk minimal staff not in any rush to deal with customers.

I have used many hotels for airports this one came in cheap £35 night - I should have read the reviews first, that will teach me.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 13579simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bedding and towels were clean, bed was hard though, we stayed one night before a flight, we didn't eat there, it is old and a bit worn out, l remember years ago when it was considered to be one of the grander hotels around Crawley, it doesn't deserve the very bad reviews some have given it, if you want better pay more. The staff were very nice, very helpful, they advised us to book our taxi the night before to make sure we got to the airport on time, the car park wasn't full we saw empty places, people were coming and going all the time, looking out at night the carpark seemed very well lit.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank GeorgieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There are pros to staying at the Europa. It’s cheap, in a good location, and the taxi service was very simple and well setup with the hotel. It certainly wasn’t worse than other cheap places I’ve stayed at so I knew what to expect. If, like me, these are the most important factors, then it’s fine. However there are definitely a lot of issues with this hotel.

The room was pretty dirty to start with. Stained linen, carpet, chair and towels.

It was probably a nice hotel 30 years ago, but all the woodwork etc is old and scratched/chipped all over the hotel, and they charges for a lot of extras like WiFi and use of the pool. They say free WiFi, but after 20 mins you have to pay.

I had a look at the food and didn’t fancy trying it.

All that said, when you go for a cheap spot, especially one promising lots of facilities, you should know what to expect. I was staying there because it was close to a running event, and places like these make it possible to travel to events regularly.

The staff that I met were a mixed bag - there was a night porter and a teenager behind the reception that were both friendly and a man with glasses, but a couple of others seemed pretty put out they had to talk to customers at all.

I wouldn’t book a room here for a luxury holiday, but I’d definitely stay again if I needed somewhere to crash for a night after an event.

P.s. I’ve noticed in a lot of reviews that the hotel has responded to complaints by saying that ‘if you’d told the duty manager, they would have fixed everything, and then you’d have been happy’.

Well, with almost 2,000 one star reviews versus a couple of hundred five star reviews, it’s ridiculous to imply that all these problems are the customers fault for not alerting the staff. Clearly these are ongoing problems, perhaps the hotel should take the thousands of reviews relating to dirty rooms, rude staff and sub-standard food, and address those issues before the guests arrive, instead of asking their customers to do so.

I can except that cheap might mean run down or basic, but surely cleanliness and unpalatable food comes down to staff and management issues.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. The Duty Manager is here to make sure that all guests enjoy their stay and if the guests are not happy they should contact them to see if the problem can be solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very dated tired and dirty hotel, very rude staff, arrived late after flight to be told take the lift to our bedroom! The lift only took you to one area of the hotel. After dragging our 20kg cases around the hotel was finally told yeah you have to take the stairs! No apology, very rude staff - not helpful at all - do not stay here

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank jaynelo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that you did not receive good customer service from the Reception team. The lift only serves part of the hotel, however there is a Porter up to 10pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews