We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay for overnight, pleased I only paid £32 for my room. Carpet not hoovered but bed and bathroom clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just okay for overnight, pleased I only paid £32 for my room. Carpet not hoovered but bed and bathroom clean.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am writing this review whilst still in bed at this hotel. I have quickly had to put the Do not disturb sign on the door, although its only 8am and I do not need to set for Gatwick until 10am, as I can hear cleaning going on next door, which surprises me as my carpet was covered in bits on arrival, on closer inspection the debris was mostly crisps! After a very long drive, I refrained from complaining but will do on check out. This is my first negative review on this site, the smell is strange, damp? cigarettes? You can smell it in the corridors and the bathroom smelt damp.

This was once a stunning hotel, but its old and the rooms need decorating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    288
    474
    420
    1,401
See reviews for
620
1,083
145
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked four nights whilst visiting from Canada..... Big mistake!!!
On arrival our booking was nowhere to be found, neither was a parking space. Eventually we were allocated a room in the 'Lodge' or rather a box room with a small bed and no room for luggage other than the door way. We spoke to the receptionist about the size and unsuitability of the room and was informed that "everyone complains about the 'Lodge' rooms". We were offered an upgrade (larger room) in the main building for an additional cost. After walking the length of the dark, oppressive, smelly and filthy corridors we reached our room only to find it was unclean; hair and fluff on the bathroom floor, carpets stained and hadn't been vacuumed in god knows how long, towels with stains on them, net curtain hanging down and generally dirty and neglected.
The communal area was disgusting. The carpets were threadbare and strewn with the days menu, the furniture looked like it had been retrieved from the local tip, only Frank Gallagher (tv's Shameless) would feel at home here.
The car park and parking availability was horrendous. Cars were parked in every available gap including bushes, between trees, in fact, anywhere that a vehicle could be squeezed ... It was.
Clearly this hotels priority is profit margin only. We will NEVER be returning there nor will we be recommending it and will also make our views known to the Trades Description Act and Environmental Health.
Overall this is a tired, outdated, neglected, dirty and generally a god awful place.

Shame on you Europa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren19612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are sorry it was necessary for you to write a negative review. We value all feedback from our guests and apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our holiday and again in return. We chose this as it was close to the airport and could accommodate a family of 5 in a room without costing a fortune. It was basic and nothing special but it did the job. Negatives- The hallways smell fusty and it's dated, you have to pay extra for the swimming pool which feels a bit grubby, the 5th bed is in the wardrobe and you have to make it up yourself but both times we weren't given extra bedding and as it was 2am we arrived after landing on our return journey we just couldn't be bothered chasing it up so squashed 2 of the kids in the bottom bunk instead, also on our return stay the lock on the door frame was completely hanging off so it was not at all secure and the door could easily be opened. The parking is a bit of a pain as the car park was very full on both occasions although we did manage to park. Positive - beds were clean, bathroom was clean and the majority of staff were friendly enough. If its just an airport stop over you are doing and this is the cheapest place available then it's worth using.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bealharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback from our guests in order to address the issues as they arise. We hope that despite the negatives, you will consider staying with us in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

stayed at the europa hotel on sunday 4 august, very easy to find, price was very good, left my car there for 11 days, no problem, one of the reason i stayed here was that the hotel has a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, so we had a nice relaxing stop before we hit gatwick airport. the main bit of the hotel is fab, nice bar and beers, room was a bit dated, i didn't eat there as i found a nice big pub 1 mile down the road (the snooty fox. three bridges pub) which did great food and some very nice ales. i would stay at the hotel again if i went from gatwick airport

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you will visit the Europa next time you stay at Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We used this hotel for the convenience of parking for 3 weeks when flying from Gatwick for a holiday in Canada. We also needed a night stay to get to the airport before 8 a.m. without hassle or traffic worries. The whole deal cost £175 including parking, so only about £25 more than just parking at the airport. In many ways I wish we had driven from home in the small hours and parked at the airport, though. The hotel is 'tired' - looks like it hasn't had a re-furb for over 30 years! The corridors smell (strongly) of stale tobacco and the public toilets of urine. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a reasonable size but amenities and decor pretty basic. The buffet breakfast was adequate. It was only when waiting for the airport shuttle (extra £5 per person) on the way home, after a 9-hour flight, that we found there was only one bus per hour and we had to wait in the chilly wind for 45 minutes whilst other hotel shuttles came two or three times in the same period. We could have checked the times when leaving and known to wait in the terminal - worth remembering! At least the bus came - only 5 minutes late! The car was as we left it and started first time - so the deal worked - but was the least enjoyable part of our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will reconsider staying with Britannia Hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My advice to anyone considering staying here is don't if you can possibly avoid it. Pay a bit more and go somewhere else.
The whole place is tired and scruffy. We had the worst night's sleep due to the awful matress in our room which was totally worn out. The bathroom smelt of mould and wall paper was peeling of the walls in the room. The bar and reception area is populated with hideous faux leather sofas which look like they have been salvaged from a skip. The car park is woefully inadequate and some of it is on rough ground. The pool is extra (£ 4.00 for adults and £ 2.00 for children). The food looked very basic and uninspiring so we decided to eat out.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor for the Europa Hotel. We were sorry to read we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here as an overnight base before flying from Gatwick.
Took ages to find a car parking space quite a way from the hotel entrance. Check in seemed okay until we tried to pay by credit card and was informed there would be a £2 charge for this. Opted to pay cash instead but the receptionist then didn`t have any change so we had to wait 5 mins for some to arrive! Took a while to find the room as very poorly signposted. The room was not very clean, beds uncomfortable and the bath was disgusting. Evening meal was not very good however was cheap but the meal was spoiled by a rowdy group on the table next door. Despite the staff looking over at this table at least 5 times they did not do anything about this. This group then moved to the bar and along with the workmen staying there from the M25 roadworks made it like a back street pub. We retreated back to the room and could STILL hear this bloke from the pub garden (80 yards away) which begs the question just how loud you have to get before staff ask you to be quieter.

Negative points
Bad food
Bad clientele
Unclean rooms
Overcrowded car park

Good points
Cheap
Only two junctions from airport
Excellent bus shuttle service to and from airport

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#7 of 11 in Horley
1,198 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing