We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our purposes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Worcester
1 review
“Perfect for our purposes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Booked room, dinner and 8 days parking. Room was spacious and well appointed, not shabby as some others have found. Plenty of hot water on arrival and on rising at 3.30 am. Probably would not choose restaurant as a destination in itself but carvery dinner was plentiful, hot, and the staff were friendly and efficient. I consider it excellent value for £12.50.

Communal areas were a bit shabby as noted by other reviewers.

Transfer timely and with a cheerful driver.

Painless start to the holiday and will use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Septimus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We were pleased you were happy with all elements of your stay and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    284
    465
    408
    1,346
See reviews for
597
1,045
143
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, for a one or two night stay this is fine. The leisure facilities (pool, spa, steam room, sauna, gym etc) were good and the rooms were clean and tidy. The bar closes a little early and breakfast is not great at £12, but overall this is a good 3* venue near the airport and the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickBurnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read you were more than happy with the Europa on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not the greatest hotel I have ever stayed in (by a very large margin). The rooms are tired and could do with being refurbished, but they are functional.
If you expect to get 5* service or facilities from a value 3* hotel, you will be disappointed.
However, if you want a cheap hotel, close to Gatwick Airport, with large rooms and adequate facilities, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM503869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night to leave the car before flying on holiday.
The reception staff were unhelpful and not good at communication. Added to which a card announced that payment by credit card would incur a £2.00 fee and debit cards £1.00.
Room was adequate including cleanness
Reception area had very worn furniture whole place in need of complete renovation
Evening meal very limited and seemed awful, so we went out to find a local restaurant.
Courtesy bus only runs at 45min. intervals so to be in time to book in for the flight, it meant leaving earlier than expected.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianR635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were sorry you were unhappy with your hotel experience on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well I stayed here for one night prior to flying out of gatwick
On checking in staff were very unhelpful simply given the key card with no directions to my room which was in a separate block from main hotel
The room was small but fairly clean bath way too small n shower sprayed water everywhere
The food I the hotel was awful I went out to a local pub for an evening meal
Good nights sleep and the shuttle bus was bang on time
In conclusion ok for one night at the price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Europa Hotel looks a bit "Tired round the edges" and would benefit from a paint job. However I enjoyed my 3 night stay here as part of a bus tour group.
The rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. The bedding and towels supplied were clean.
Food from the Carvery was average but plentiful. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
I didn't use the bar or spa.
There was no entertainment provided. Maidenbower, although a nice village was very quiet but nice for a walk at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise of the road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jopa1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay over 3 nights as part of a group booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel before a few years ago (2009) before flying out of Gatwick. Then, it wouldn't even have deserved one star. It was filthy dirty, stank of smoke and the room service sandwiches we ordered were inedible. Truley awful!
Now, having stayed this weekend (June 2013) for a Stag party, I can report an improvement.
The smokey/musty/mouldy smell that pervaded the place last time has now gone.
The bedrooms are still very tired and in need of complete refurbishment, but are adequate to get your head down for a few hours. They are at least clean(ish), but you wouldn't want to go into one with anyone you'd like to impress.
The bathroom was useable this time. Not clean as such, but not repulsive.
There was also hot water this time. For hot water read burning lava. The water turns on and off, at some incredibly high temperature that is not moderated by using the temperature control. Still, it's better than last time, when we refused to even step into the bathroom for fear of catching something very nasty.
The staff we encountered were not bothered by much. not rude, or polite, just not very motivated to be anything but present.
I'd go again if I wanted somewhere to sleep for a night, where I wasn't going to spend much time in the hotel, or eat there.
If I wanted to eat or spend more tahn the bare minimum of time, I'd choose anywhere else.

Room Tip: Take your own bed, bed linen, pillows, wet wipes, toilet bleach, scouring pads, air freshener and va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We were pleased to read you were happier with your stay on this occasion especially as you were disappointed last time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.4 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#22 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing