We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Little Hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the lodge part of the hotel werent sure as reviews up and down, but room was small for single person but ok. Only problem windows dont block out noise from the main road near by could hear the traffic going past and any cars parked outside as well. Bathroom ok but air vent block and whistled. These just minor things would stay again. If you plan to stay drive or take a taxi - there is a bus service but is sometimes unreliable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were very pleased you were satisfied with the hotel on this occasion. We are sorry however, if you experienced some difficulties with the coach service, we strive to adhere to the timetable at all times to minimise the inconvenience to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    285
    470
    413
    1,369
See reviews for
606
1,062
143
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

You get what you pay for. I paid £25 for 1 night and got a semi clean, safe room. No frills but fine. Lots of small errors which could be fixed easily i.e. The toilet seat wasn't fitted very well, there were cobwebs in the window which was held in place with sellotape....? Dirty marks on the carpet.. etc, etc.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitkatkateBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the bedroom issues you raised and hope that next time you decide to stay, you will not have any cause for concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton england
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for one night in feb, check in quick and louge area ok with big screen tva and comfy chairs.
Room needed some care and attention, but ok for the time we were staying. Evening meal was a carvery and was just passable, unfortunately for my girlfriend did not have much choice for veggies.
I thought the buffet breakfast was pretty good, my girlfriend dis agreed and thought breakfast was dreadful.
The staff we encountered we all helpful and friendly.
P.s My girlfriend thinks the poor rating is being more than over generous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. All feedback from our guests is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the problems as they arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding last year ( Booked by wedding party). It was a terrible stay. Paid for breakfast in advance…no cooked breakfast in the morning. No explanation given, staff were rude and did not seem to know what was going on. Rooms had mould on the walls and smelled badly of dampness (took 3 washes to get smell out of clothes). Paid £120 for 2 nights stay…not worth £20. Asked for refund due to conditions of room and awful stay…was refunded £5 for the breakfast that was it. Was charged for late departure under a name I had never heard of. Took about 2 weeks to get that refunded. I never write reviews…but this hotel is that bad I felt I had to warn people. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Tip = Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the problems you encountered whilst staying with us as part of a wedding party. There is a Manager on duty 24 hours a day who would have been available to assist with any problems you may have had at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Our travel agents booked this for us as part of our Kenyan holiday as it had a good parking deal. We arrived on our departure day, parked the car and booked it in, we then caught the transfer busPaludrine & Avloclor https://secure.lloydstsbavatravelinsurance.com/sales/travel/standard/privatedomain/Documents to Gatwick which was only £5 each return. So that went well, on our return we had a short wait for the bus and a ten minute ride to the hotel.
On arrival we booked in and was given room 1178. OMG what a dump, nail varnish on carpet and all over the valence sheet, paper coming off the walls cobwebs hanging from ceiling and the room had a horrible smell which seemed like a stale tobacco odour.When we looked out of the window there was a Mercedes car under the window with discarded cigarette ends on its bonnet ans soggy toilet paper.

We was to tired by this time to create a fuss and just went for a bar snack and as a previous review states the leatherless couches should have been binned years ago.We then went to bed , only to be woken at 4am by a herd of elephants in theroom above. We eventually got up at half six , had breakfast (the only good thing) and left.

I would not recomend this place to anyone and we will be writing to Brittania hotels to complain and sendthem photographs of the condition of the room and hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were dissatisfied with your room. Had we known you were unhappy at the time, we would have been happy to offer you another. We will be addressing the bedroom issues you raised with both our housekeeping and maintenance teams so they can rectify the problems in Room 1178.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Used this hotel for one night including weeks parking during our holiday and would recommend although taking a torch would be a benefit as parking areas are not fantastically lit. The hotel itself has nice large rooms, indoor pool and limited menu available in the bar although wider choice in the restaurant with a good value 3 course option available. The bus service is cheaper than a taxi ride and the driver was very helpful with our luggage. Booked through holiday extras we paid much less than the room rate advertised in the hotel and parked for a week as well although some confusion when we arrived that our reservation had been cancelled however this was soon resolved by the reception manager. We had bar meals in the evening we arrived which were adequate and didnt have breakfast as we had a very early check in the next day

Room Tip: Well heated room meant we had to open the door even in January however the ground floor meant we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 432scarecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were pleased you were satisfied with your stay and parking on this occasion. We hope you will consider booking the Europa next time you go away on holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing