We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    285
    470
    413
    1,364
See reviews for
603
1,061
143
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Our travel agents booked this for us as part of our Kenyan holiday as it had a good parking deal. We arrived on our departure day, parked the car and booked it in, we then caught the transfer busPaludrine & Avloclor https://secure.lloydstsbavatravelinsurance.com/sales/travel/standard/privatedomain/Documents to Gatwick which was only £5 each return. So that went well, on our return we had a short wait for the bus and a ten minute ride to the hotel.
On arrival we booked in and was given room 1178. OMG what a dump, nail varnish on carpet and all over the valence sheet, paper coming off the walls cobwebs hanging from ceiling and the room had a horrible smell which seemed like a stale tobacco odour.When we looked out of the window there was a Mercedes car under the window with discarded cigarette ends on its bonnet ans soggy toilet paper.

We was to tired by this time to create a fuss and just went for a bar snack and as a previous review states the leatherless couches should have been binned years ago.We then went to bed , only to be woken at 4am by a herd of elephants in theroom above. We eventually got up at half six , had breakfast (the only good thing) and left.

I would not recomend this place to anyone and we will be writing to Brittania hotels to complain and sendthem photographs of the condition of the room and hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were dissatisfied with your room. Had we known you were unhappy at the time, we would have been happy to offer you another. We will be addressing the bedroom issues you raised with both our housekeeping and maintenance teams so they can rectify the problems in Room 1178.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Used this hotel for one night including weeks parking during our holiday and would recommend although taking a torch would be a benefit as parking areas are not fantastically lit. The hotel itself has nice large rooms, indoor pool and limited menu available in the bar although wider choice in the restaurant with a good value 3 course option available. The bus service is cheaper than a taxi ride and the driver was very helpful with our luggage. Booked through holiday extras we paid much less than the room rate advertised in the hotel and parked for a week as well although some confusion when we arrived that our reservation had been cancelled however this was soon resolved by the reception manager. We had bar meals in the evening we arrived which were adequate and didnt have breakfast as we had a very early check in the next day

Room Tip: Well heated room meant we had to open the door even in January however the ground floor meant we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 432scarecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were pleased you were satisfied with your stay and parking on this occasion. We hope you will consider booking the Europa next time you go away on holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Accommodation with parking was very reasonably priced, and the return fare to the airport is a mere £5 (unlike the £20 return taxi fare required at many hotels). Yes, the hotel has seen better days, and you may end up parking at the end of a muddy track, but my room was clean, warm and spacious and I had a very good night's sleep. Staff were consistently courteous, and the buffet dinner was unspectacular but reasonably priced and available until 9.45 pm. If you are not seeking glamour but just an inexpensive stay before flying out of Gatwick, then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It was pleasing to read you found our hotel suitable for your requirements and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family stayed here before travelling to Egypt as my Dad has recommended the place as reasonable. We paid around £48 for an overnight stay and 10 nights parking which is a steal. But then you get what you pay for because there were no car parking spaces available. My in laws ended up having a row about it when they arrived and my partner and I weren't far off the same. It was very stressful and it was clear this hotel takes booking after booking with no real concern for where anybody is going to park. It took over an hour for my partner to get a space and it just isn't on. The advice reception gave us what to just keep driving around and people come and go all the time. Simply it wasn't good enough. Our room was like something out of the shining, but this must have been because we got their late because my in laws room was in another part of the hotel and it was lovely. I know we didn't pay a lot but I expected there to be parking, I can cope with a bad hotel room but not after car park-gate. Next time I will pay more and actually get a service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you and your family encountered problems with the car park. Obviously we are not sure when you stayed but if it had been on a Friday/Saturday night, there would have been functions taking place at the hotel and the car park would have been busier than usual. We do monitor the car park and work closely with our bookings office to ensure we are not over booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel is worth every penny I've paid .Room was a good size,good choice of buffet meals.100% I would stay here again, however I wish they can train staff more to be polite especially lady Monika behind the Bar very rude and abrupt. I've asked her to change my order she refused it .Nonsense!

Room Tip: Worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel. However, we are sorry for any lack of customer care you experienced at the Bar. We will certainly address this issue and hope you will not have cause for concern next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

At just £58 for a twin room for two people and 2 weeks car parking, you can hardly complain. The hotel foyer was nice and the reception was well manned and the staff was polite. We found our room easily, and the room was basic but not too bad. The bathroom could have done with a little more cleaning but the beds were reasonably comfortable and there was not too much noise. DO NOT request a smoking room even if you do smoke as the smell was really awful, all the curtains and linen was tar stained and there was a general lack of air.

My car was well looked after and it was in a safe place. The transfers to Gatwick were on time, quick and a reasonable price.

Stay at this hotel if your off on holiday the next day, but not for more than one night!

Room Tip: do not choose a smoking room even if you smoke, its worth the walk to the main enterance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifulvoice1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to read you were satisfied with your one night stay with parking. We hope you will choose us again when organising your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing