We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nickle n' Dime or Pence n' Pound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nickle n' Dime or Pence n' Pound”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

First of all, this hotel is near Gatwick airport not Heathrow. My travel agent really dropped the ball on this one. If you are flying into Gatwick, then this is a nice place to stay. You can easily take Bus 20 (2.20 pounds) or the train. The bus stops right at the hotel and the train is about a five minute walk. There are a few nice things nearby like a shopping mall, park and a library. You can walk or take the bus. Getting around is very easy, but not close to London.

Pros - Friendly staff, clean bedding and towels, bathroom was clean, small heater available (If you go when it's cold, get the heater! Look at where the heater is in the room, above the door.) Nice restaurant next door, okay breakfast but no changes to it, and the internet connect was excellent.

Cons - Everything cost money. Internet 3 pounds per hour/10 pounds all day. You could get a light lunch with free internet downstairs but it was cold. I wanted to be in my room, comfortable surfing the net and doing some work. Instead I sat in a cold uncomfortable sitting area. Why do cheap hotels offer free internet and not the higher end hotels? There was free tea in your room, but not in the sitting area. There were no little shampoos and things, but you could ask for them. There was no counter space. There was no outlet next to the bed. (This was in the old wing. Ask for the new wing if you want one by the bed.) Bed was bouncy and all four pillows hard and flat. The rug looked awful. I expected better from a Holiday Inn. AND no mini bar!

This felt almost like a motel rather than a hotel. But the staff was friendly and they do try to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new remodeled area. Get the small space heater if it's cold. Bring your own in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yep2Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Yep2Happy,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    361
    171
    61
    33
See reviews for
227
297
51
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed here several times so far in 2013. I have always stayed in the newer part of the hotel. The rooms in this section are very nicely furbished for a budget hotel, including a nice modern bathroom, a sofa and a flat screen tv with lots of choice of TV channels.
Breakfast is included, with a choice of sausages, beans, scrambled eggs, cereal, toast, croissants and mini muffins.
There is a bar in the evening, and food available from the Harvester restaurant next door. The Harvester is a bit grim, but takeaway options are available. There is also a nearby Tesco Express. For better dining options, take a taxi into Crawley town centre, which isn't far.
Parking is free which is most welcome compared to most other hotels in the area (such as Holiday Inn and Crowne Plaza).
Platinum Priority Club members get a free WIFI voucher.

The only downsides is that the mattress is a bit soft/unstable for two people, and there are strange noises in my current room, which appear to be coming from the ventilation even though my air conditioning is turned off.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new section, avoid ground floor as the bathroom floor is cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you fro your kind words about the hotel. I am glad that you took advantage of everything the hotel has to offer.

The Harvester is not part of the same company however I thank you for your feedback and have passed along your comments to their management.

We are very close to Crawley town centre with it being a short drive or 10 minute walk away and there are several restaurants avaible for you to choose from.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Conveniently situated only 5 minutes from Gatwick airport with a transfer bus which stops right in front of hotel. Clean, friendly and easy to find. Highly recommended.
We stayed for one night and parked car there for 13 nights - very good value for money.
No problems collecting our car on return even though it was after midnight

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience whilst stayin with us.

We believe we are in a fantastic location for those travelling from Gatwick Airport. As you mention, we are a short bus ride away from the airport and it stops directly outside the hotel. Alternatively, there is a taxi service at a cost of £11.00 that can take you to and from the airport.

Our prices are very competitive with other Gatwick hotels and we feel that our free parking and free breakfast gives us an extra edge. Our park stay and fly packages are extremely useful and well priced and I am glad you were able to take advantage of this.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here overnight before our flight and parked our car here for the duration of our holiday. The staff were excellent and very accommodating. My husband suffers from sleep apneia, they search around and found an extension cable for his machine without a problem. We had book via 'under cover', so had a different hotel for our return trip. They did their best to change the booking for us. The fact that it couldn't be changed, was not due to them not trying their best for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review ragarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind words spoken about the hotel. Our staff go above and beyond for our guests and I know that they wil be delighted to read your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for just one night before Gatwick flight and it turned out to be a good decision due to poor weather conditions on day of flight which meant we may have been late. This Hotel and Harvester are peculiarly situated on what amounts to a rather large roundabout (the Paymaster General's?) and, because it is a very busy road egress from the car park can take some time especially when leaving around rush hour!

HI advertise reduced rates for US Government staff and being a US chain we were amazed that any self respecting American would be happy with what must amount to the smallest double bed and quilt that we have ever come across in a hotel, budget or otherwise. It's true you only get what you pay for but the bed was small, the mattress very soft to the point where you rolled into the middle and the quilt was just about the exact same size as the mattress which meant that one or other of us were outside the cover most of the night.

The buffet breakfast was surprisingly good with sausages and scrambled egg a pleasant extra. We have another flight from Gatwick later this year but will be looking at Premier Inn to, hopefully, get a bigger bed, but then maybe breakfast will not be so good - we shall see!!!!

Beware booking through something called Navelar based in Germany, on arrival we were initially led to believe there was no booking (despite having printed everything from the internet) so check in was not as smooth as it should have been - our reservation was found eventually.

Finally, although probably nothing to do with Holiday Inn, the Harvester Inn was extremely busy on the Monday night (no other restaurants in Crawley?) and without wishing to sound too 'off' the manager was not the most customer focused as she seemed rather unhappy about the number of diners in the place! Our waiter was rushed off his feet and the service was a bit erratic, also rather odd that the quality of food in the Peterborough Harvester not far from where we live is so much better.

Room Tip: Being situated on a 'roundabout' there is not much chance of escaping traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay at the hotel.

Firstly I must apologise that you found our double beds to be not of an adequate size. Our beds are of the Express standard here in the U.K.

As you mention we are on a squarebout that we share with The Harvester next door. We have a substantial number of free parking spaces for all of our guests and this is a great bonus as most other airport hotels charge for parking.

I am glad you took advantage of our free buffet breakfast. We have a great range of continental and hot items for all guests to enjoy.

The Harvester is not part of the same company as the hotel however I have passed along your comments regarding their service to the management.

I hope to welcome back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel before a Gatwick Flight, good location for Gatwick, only ten minutes from the airport. Situated next to a Harvester, where the food was good. Staff very friendly and the hotel was spotless, with a large car park. The only fault was we stayed in a room next to the road and because the double glazing was not the good, even though its a new hotel, it did let a draft through that did move the curtains, which then let some of the road noise through. If it had not been for this the hotel would have got five stars.

Room Tip: One away from the main road, so its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are very accessible to Gatwick Airport with it being just a short 10 minute drive to the airport. There is a public bus service that operates from directly outside the hotel to the airport terminals, alternatively there are many taxi companies that can drive you to and from the airport for around 10.00.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. I know the staff will all be delighted to read your comments.

I am sorry that you experienced a draught in your room which let in some noise. We do have a manager on duty 24 hours a day to resolve any issues that you may have. We do have rooms that look over our large car park which could have been a bit quieter for you.

I apologise once again about the draught and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Convenient, no frills, express stop over, does exactly what it says on the tin. Booked easily on line. Arrived late evening and checked in quickly. The rooms were basic and clean, exactly what you'd expect from a quick stop hotel and it compared favourably to other similar chains. The shower was great, my 13 year old daughter loved it and also slept like a log! The breakfast was ok with scrambled egg, sausage and beans, croissants, the usual cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt etc. Unusually my daughter (who rarely eats first thing) actually enjoyed breakfast! I booked Crawley as it was supposed to be only a few minutes from The Hawth Theatre where my daughter was competing in the ISTD Ballet Awards. In fact It took two minutes to drive there. I will certainly stay here again when we come down next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am thrilled that you found the hotel convenient for your needs. We are very lucky that we are extremely close to The Hawth Theatre and are able to walk there easily from the hotel.

I am also pleased to read your comments regarding your daughters enjoyable stay. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel and I know our team will be delighted to read your thoughts.

I am glad your daughter took advantage of the free buffet breakfast. With our choices of continental and hot items we provide many choices to accommodate everybody's needs.

I hope that your daughter did well at the Ballet awards and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next year.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: The Squareabout Crawley Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing