We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a last minute stay due to the weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“a last minute stay due to the weather”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As the weather warnings were in place I thought it prudent to book a hotel near Gatwick ready for the flight on Monday morning. Booked throught Hotels.com and got a really good rate. Hotel was easy to find although a bit confusing going around the roundabout - its easy to think you have missed the enterance! Very clean hotel, nice room, great bathroom! Breakfast basic but plentiful. Will definitely look for Holiday Inn express again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penrosemoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

The hotel is located on a squareabout with one dedicated entrance and one dedicated exit to the hotel.

Our breakfast provides a great choice of hot items (sausage, scrambled eggs and baked beans) and continental items. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    370
    177
    62
    35
See reviews for
235
305
51
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and kids in the middle of January and can't fault the hotel for value or service. Housekeeping staff in particular were very good, always had a word with the kids when passing. I'd definitely stay here again both for the value and the convenience of getting into London or down to the south coast

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teuchter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dea Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel. I am thrilled to learn of the friendliness shown by the housekeepers in relation to your children.

The hotel is ideally located for a trip to london. The hotel is a 10 minute walk away from either Three Bridges or Crawley train stations. From there, the train will take 45 minutes into the centre of London and only 25 minutes to Brighton.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several times and this is a very good hotel in this budget chain.
Rooms are clean and modern with larger bathrooms than normal.
Harvester pub next door serves decent food with a serve yourself salad bar.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAHadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your experience at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

We appreciate the kind words posted about the hotel. Our housekeepers work tirelessly to ensure our rooms are clean and tidy for every guests use.

We feel the location of the hotel is ideal and we are glad that you took advantage of the excellent harvester restaurant next to the hotel during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the Gatwick- Crawley area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a one night stay business/pleasure. We arrived in the early afternoon, check in was excellent, found room to be spotlessly clean with excellent but simple decor, nice size flat screen TV, tea and coffee etc. Bathroom was really nice. Comfortable walking distance to town centre. Also a Harvester Inn sharing the same site/car park where we had an excellent evening meal. An adequate breakfast was available in the morning which included fruit juices, cereals etc. toast, scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. Tea and coffee.
All in all we had a very pleasant weekend at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are in an excellent location when accessing Crawley Town Centre with it only a short 10 minute walk away.

Our breakfast is free and we feel that we provide an excellent choice for everybody with a great selection of continental items and our 3 hot items which are sausage, scrambled egg and beans.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the Gatwick- Crawley area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
260 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Arrived on snowy and icy evening. The hotel did not seem to have made much effort to clear the pathways. Got a room in new wing, which I find are better, particularly bathroom facilities. Limited tv channels and no films is disappointing. Breakfast is adequate but is included. Reception staff not very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

As you can imagine, the poor weather that we have experienced has caused us problems however our car park is gritted every day and obviously the safety of our guests is of the utmost importance.

I am glad you enjoyed the experience of our new wing rooms. I apologise that you did not enjoy the choice of our TV Channels. We have free-view in all of our guest rooms and we feel that provides a good selection for guests.

Breakfast is free and we feel that our choice of continental items plus our 3 hot items of sausage, scrambled egg and beans provides a good selection for our guests.

We hope that you enjoyed your overall experience of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here on the 10th of January 2013 en route to the Caribbean. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the shower good sized.
The breakfast, included in the price was basic but more than adequate. As we didn't want to venture too far due to the cold weather, the pub and eatery in the car park was ideal. The cost of the one night stay was very reasonable. I would recommend it to fellow travellers flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I am glad that you found our rooms to be clean and to your liking.

Thank you for commenting on our express breakfast. We feel that, whilst it is limited, our continental choice as well as our 3 hot items (scrambled eggs, sausage and beans) provide something for everybody.

Our position is perfect for those travelling out of Gatwick and is very easily accessible by taxi or public bus.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
326 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for just one night and got a reasonable price. There are quite a few parking spaces which are free which is a bonus against most other hotels. Breakfast was included but is quite basic. Room is clean and with a few added extras to what you might find in a travelodge. Staff were friendly and quite helpful. There is a place to eat next door too which is handy.
My main problem was with the heating as it was a very cold night and the air conditioning unit wasn't working properly. I persevered all night with it and reception finally looked at it at 10.20 pm to no avail. Not much sleep that night! In fairness to the hotel they have refunded my nights stay and been very apologetic. I found out after that there had been another room with the same problem which was fixed the next day by an engineer. I suppose it would have been easier to move me into another room.

Room Tip: In my case avoid ground floor in cold weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

Firstly, I would like to apologise for the problem you encountered whilst staying at the hotel. As you mention, there were a few issues with the heating which have now been fixed. We do have at the hotel portable heaters that can be used by all guests if people require them.

I am glad that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the Gatwick Crawley area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing