We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We needed a hotel close to Gatwick for an early morning flight. Totally impressed with everything the hotel had to offer. Met at the reception with a smile. The rooms were modern and well furnished with a very cosy feel. With only a short drive to the airport and free parking at the hotel, we will most certainly be using this establishment again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markzipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am extremely pleased that you found everything at the hotel you were looking for. We are indeed close to Gatwick being just a short 10 minute drive away.

We offer free parking to all guests who stay with us and we feel this is a big plus point to the hotel as no other hotels close to the airport offer this service.

I am pleased you liked your room. Our housekeepers work very hard ensuring our high cleanliness standards are met.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 897 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here in mid December. Excellent helpful and very well trained staff made this stay very pleasant indeed. The room was clean tidy and comfy. After checking out I waited in the lounge and the hospitality offered whist waiting was again excellent.
Special thanks to the lady on reception on the 19th, helpful and polite offering advice and to the Duty Manager. A very pleasant hotel complimented by staff who had obviously took great pride in their work.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff do take great pride in their work and always love talking to our guests to make your stay a little more personable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Really helpful efficient staff. Good parking. Comfy beds. Clean, tidy and efficient.
I arrived late at night and they were really helpful and had a lovely attitude.
I would return beaded on this stay over. Coffee ready in reception to grab a cup quickly whilst waiting for the taxi they booked on my behalf.

Room Tip: I asked for one near reception. Don't know about the other rooms but this one had a massive bath...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebayram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

Our staff were thrilled to read your kind comments. Our housekeepers do a tremendous job in keeping the hotel clean and tidy and they all take great pride in their work.

Our reception staff are always willing to the extra mile for our guests and am glad we have fulfilled all your requirements during your stay here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at the end of November - a very cold night. The heating in the first room we were given, we could not get to work. Called reception and the helpful receptionist couldn't get it to work either.We were given another room, the heating worked but did not heat the room adequately.
Apart from that, the hotel was up to the usual Holiday Inn Express standard.
The complimentary breakfast was good with a varied selection of food and beverages.
There is a good Harvester restaurant a few yards away which serves excellent food, ideal for your evening meal.
Check-in and check-out was not quite up to standard we have experienced at other Holiday Inn Express hotels,but this is a minor point.
This is a good value place to stay which we shall use again, and hopefully the heating will be improved.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimboj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your views with us regarding your stay here.

Firstly, I would like to apologise to you regarding the heating situation whilst staying with us. The weather has been unusually cold as you know and our heating units have been working overtime. Our heating system is fully functional, however, we do offer portable heaters for those who require them.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. We feel that our choice of continental items and hot buffet provides something for everybody.

Our Check- in and Check Out standards are constantly improving and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon when next in the Gatwick- Crawley area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I travelled for business after a long flight and I found that the Hotel is quite far away from the airport (15 min taxi) compared to other hotels just in front of the main terminal.

The check in was fast and the room was great and modern; maybe the bathroom would be better with a stronger lightning.

The breakfast was too basic, event for a HI category. The worst part was the internet never worked, which is a big deal for a business traveller. Next time I will check a brand new property that just opened in the main airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superclarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

As you mention, there are closer hotels to the airport other than us however we feel we are worth the extra distance as we provide a free breakfast and free parking (something u won't find at the airport). There are easy ways to get to the hotel from the airport. The taxi journey is around a 10 minute drive from the airport and their is also a public bus service that operates regularly and stops right outside the hotel.

Our breakfast does obey all the standards that are required by HI Express U.K.

We provide free internet to all our platinum and gold priority club members which is a good service and we feel it works very well.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our modern looking rooms an we will consider getting stronger lighting in the bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Airport hotels are typically pretty grim - run down with terrible service. I have stayed here half a dozen times over the past couple of months and found it very good value for money.
Service is generally pleasant - there are exceptions, of course, both very good and pretty poor! - but generally more than acceptable.
The newly refurbished rooms are very good indeed; attractive, "non-budget" decor and good bathrooms which follow the Hilton model of providing a large, walk-in shower instead of a bath.
Breakfast is HIX standard, which is frankly pretty poor, but at least it's free...
As a Priority Club member, Internet access was free (which it should be in all hotels, in my view).
This is now my base when I'm in the Crawley area.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms have been refurbished yet - ask for one that has been.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am delighted that you found our service to be warm and friendly. Our staff are always pleased to read kind words regarding their service.

I am also pleased that you admired our bathrooms. These are something that the hotel takes great pride in and our housekeepers are all dedicated to making them look great day in, day out.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights early September. The location of the hotel is perfect for easy travel through Gatwick. It's also within walking distance of the Crawley City Centre.
The complimentary breakfast is quite adequate and the next door restuarant is absolutely brilliant.
The staff is pleasant, friendly and very helpful. The room was adequate and clean and the bed comfortable. Check in and check out was easy and the staff efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

Many thanks for your kind words about your stay at the hotel. We are positioned in an excellent location with easy access to both Gatwick and Crawley.

We feel our breakfast provides something for everything with the choice of continental and hot items.

Our staff were thrilled to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $77 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing