We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Gatwick Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at the end of November - a very cold night. The heating in the first room we were given, we could not get to work. Called reception and the helpful receptionist couldn't get it to work either.We were given another room, the heating worked but did not heat the room adequately.
Apart from that, the hotel was up to the usual Holiday Inn Express standard.
The complimentary breakfast was good with a varied selection of food and beverages.
There is a good Harvester restaurant a few yards away which serves excellent food, ideal for your evening meal.
Check-in and check-out was not quite up to standard we have experienced at other Holiday Inn Express hotels,but this is a minor point.
This is a good value place to stay which we shall use again, and hopefully the heating will be improved.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimboj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your views with us regarding your stay here.

Firstly, I would like to apologise to you regarding the heating situation whilst staying with us. The weather has been unusually cold as you know and our heating units have been working overtime. Our heating system is fully functional, however, we do offer portable heaters for those who require them.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. We feel that our choice of continental items and hot buffet provides something for everybody.

Our Check- in and Check Out standards are constantly improving and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon when next in the Gatwick- Crawley area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 939 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

I travelled for business after a long flight and I found that the Hotel is quite far away from the airport (15 min taxi) compared to other hotels just in front of the main terminal.

The check in was fast and the room was great and modern; maybe the bathroom would be better with a stronger lightning.

The breakfast was too basic, event for a HI category. The worst part was the internet never worked, which is a big deal for a business traveller. Next time I will check a brand new property that just opened in the main airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superclarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

As you mention, there are closer hotels to the airport other than us however we feel we are worth the extra distance as we provide a free breakfast and free parking (something u won't find at the airport). There are easy ways to get to the hotel from the airport. The taxi journey is around a 10 minute drive from the airport and their is also a public bus service that operates regularly and stops right outside the hotel.

Our breakfast does obey all the standards that are required by HI Express U.K.

We provide free internet to all our platinum and gold priority club members which is a good service and we feel it works very well.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our modern looking rooms an we will consider getting stronger lighting in the bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Airport hotels are typically pretty grim - run down with terrible service. I have stayed here half a dozen times over the past couple of months and found it very good value for money.
Service is generally pleasant - there are exceptions, of course, both very good and pretty poor! - but generally more than acceptable.
The newly refurbished rooms are very good indeed; attractive, "non-budget" decor and good bathrooms which follow the Hilton model of providing a large, walk-in shower instead of a bath.
Breakfast is HIX standard, which is frankly pretty poor, but at least it's free...
As a Priority Club member, Internet access was free (which it should be in all hotels, in my view).
This is now my base when I'm in the Crawley area.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms have been refurbished yet - ask for one that has been.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am delighted that you found our service to be warm and friendly. Our staff are always pleased to read kind words regarding their service.

I am also pleased that you admired our bathrooms. These are something that the hotel takes great pride in and our housekeepers are all dedicated to making them look great day in, day out.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights early September. The location of the hotel is perfect for easy travel through Gatwick. It's also within walking distance of the Crawley City Centre.
The complimentary breakfast is quite adequate and the next door restuarant is absolutely brilliant.
The staff is pleasant, friendly and very helpful. The room was adequate and clean and the bed comfortable. Check in and check out was easy and the staff efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

Many thanks for your kind words about your stay at the hotel. We are positioned in an excellent location with easy access to both Gatwick and Crawley.

We feel our breakfast provides something for everything with the choice of continental and hot items.

Our staff were thrilled to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I knew of this property before booking as passed by several times, but on two occassions within 5 days of each other needed to stay at Gatwick and through a Travel Agency (best option v online sites at the time) this hotel had the best rates for location

I am a Priority Intercontinental member (includes HI Express) so gave over the number on my first stay no fuss. On the second occassion refused point blank (unpolitely) to take thr card, said no points can be awarded as booking made through third party. I would assume quite a high % of bookings come through this route, so to not offer a facility to some guests and to offer to others doesn't give the right impression

Therefore the recption, whilst mainly pleasant and functional in the main, is hit and miss

However rooms are clean, small but compact, with reasonably modern funtions, with free continental breakfast served from early moring (included small hot plates) and convenient location for Gatwick airport, bus services and rail links the hotel does its best

There is a very well frequented Harvester restaurant next door, however even on week days,
extremely busy and under staffed (had the impression this was to keep costs down and profit up) so get there early or if you want to eat late book a table earlier than desired eating time

Food good prices, large portions but free salad bar looked like a disaster area

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am pleased you found your stay at the hotel to be convenient for all your requirements. Our housekeeping staff take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and I know they will be delighted to read your comments.

I would like to apologise for the situation regarding your priority club number. Your details should have been taken at the desk and and an inquiry has been launched as to why they weren't.

I am sorry also that you had a bad experience at the Harvester. The Harvester and the hotel are operated by two separate companies. Your comments regarding the restaurant have been passed onto the restaurant management team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Regards
Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had one night in this hotel before flying next day. Parking included. The reception and greeting was excellent and we were in our room within 15 minutes of parking the car. The room was comfortable and clean. The food was very good but my one big problem was that the bar ran out of draught lager, and no effort seemed to be made to remedy the situation. I run a club and to run out of any beer is inexcusable, so a black mark for the person in charge of the bar. The checkout was almost as good as the reception and we were wished bon voyage by the staff who were very efficient. Excellent value for money, apart from the bottled lager which was very over priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was suitable to your requirements.

I must apologise for the draught lager situation. It is not that we have run out, there is a problem with our gas supply which is the reason for no lager. I understand this is not an excuse and it is something that is now fixed.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon so you can experience our excellent draught lager.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $77 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing