We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for Gatwick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good option for Gatwick”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Airport hotels are typically pretty grim - run down with terrible service. I have stayed here half a dozen times over the past couple of months and found it very good value for money.
Service is generally pleasant - there are exceptions, of course, both very good and pretty poor! - but generally more than acceptable.
The newly refurbished rooms are very good indeed; attractive, "non-budget" decor and good bathrooms which follow the Hilton model of providing a large, walk-in shower instead of a bath.
Breakfast is HIX standard, which is frankly pretty poor, but at least it's free...
As a Priority Club member, Internet access was free (which it should be in all hotels, in my view).
This is now my base when I'm in the Crawley area.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms have been refurbished yet - ask for one that has been.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am delighted that you found our service to be warm and friendly. Our staff are always pleased to read kind words regarding their service.

I am also pleased that you admired our bathrooms. These are something that the hotel takes great pride in and our housekeepers are all dedicated to making them look great day in, day out.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    370
    176
    62
    35
See reviews for
235
305
51
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights early September. The location of the hotel is perfect for easy travel through Gatwick. It's also within walking distance of the Crawley City Centre.
The complimentary breakfast is quite adequate and the next door restuarant is absolutely brilliant.
The staff is pleasant, friendly and very helpful. The room was adequate and clean and the bed comfortable. Check in and check out was easy and the staff efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

Many thanks for your kind words about your stay at the hotel. We are positioned in an excellent location with easy access to both Gatwick and Crawley.

We feel our breakfast provides something for everything with the choice of continental and hot items.

Our staff were thrilled to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I knew of this property before booking as passed by several times, but on two occassions within 5 days of each other needed to stay at Gatwick and through a Travel Agency (best option v online sites at the time) this hotel had the best rates for location

I am a Priority Intercontinental member (includes HI Express) so gave over the number on my first stay no fuss. On the second occassion refused point blank (unpolitely) to take thr card, said no points can be awarded as booking made through third party. I would assume quite a high % of bookings come through this route, so to not offer a facility to some guests and to offer to others doesn't give the right impression

Therefore the recption, whilst mainly pleasant and functional in the main, is hit and miss

However rooms are clean, small but compact, with reasonably modern funtions, with free continental breakfast served from early moring (included small hot plates) and convenient location for Gatwick airport, bus services and rail links the hotel does its best

There is a very well frequented Harvester restaurant next door, however even on week days,
extremely busy and under staffed (had the impression this was to keep costs down and profit up) so get there early or if you want to eat late book a table earlier than desired eating time

Food good prices, large portions but free salad bar looked like a disaster area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am pleased you found your stay at the hotel to be convenient for all your requirements. Our housekeeping staff take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and I know they will be delighted to read your comments.

I would like to apologise for the situation regarding your priority club number. Your details should have been taken at the desk and and an inquiry has been launched as to why they weren't.

I am sorry also that you had a bad experience at the Harvester. The Harvester and the hotel are operated by two separate companies. Your comments regarding the restaurant have been passed onto the restaurant management team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Regards
Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford le Hope
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had one night in this hotel before flying next day. Parking included. The reception and greeting was excellent and we were in our room within 15 minutes of parking the car. The room was comfortable and clean. The food was very good but my one big problem was that the bar ran out of draught lager, and no effort seemed to be made to remedy the situation. I run a club and to run out of any beer is inexcusable, so a black mark for the person in charge of the bar. The checkout was almost as good as the reception and we were wished bon voyage by the staff who were very efficient. Excellent value for money, apart from the bottled lager which was very over priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was suitable to your requirements.

I must apologise for the draught lager situation. It is not that we have run out, there is a problem with our gas supply which is the reason for no lager. I understand this is not an excuse and it is something that is now fixed.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon so you can experience our excellent draught lager.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is located near the center of Crawley. It is easy to find and they have plenty of free parking. The check-in was very efficient and their standard room was clean and well equipped. Besides the UK electrical outlets, they also offer a standard European outlet. That was a positive surprise. They offer free WiFi for their Platinum guests which is always helpful.

The breakfast room is nice, but their food choices are average. No cheese or ham but what do you expect for a free breakfast. They have plenty of food.

Their room cleaning service is very eager to enter your room in the morning and they do not leave you much time to sleep a little longer. We have had a a short knock on the door and they just come in. It is however a friendly wake-up call and they apologized when they realized that the room was still occupied.

There is also a Harvester restaurant nearby.

I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Great location with free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingV62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our European outlet. We feel that this is a great extra as we have so many frequent travellers stay at the hotel.

We also appreciate our loyal guests and feel it is only right to reward them. We feel the free internet is a good reward for them.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast. While I understand that their is limited choice for some guests, our breakfast does adhere to the standards set by Holiday Inn Express in the U.K.

i apologize for the knock on your door from housekeeping. This is a matter we are looking into as this should not have happened.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is well managed and the staff are well trained and efficient even at a time when trainee staff were in the restaurant. Everything is well run and we could not find anything to fall short of excellent standards. Probably the majority of customers use the hotel in connection with flights from Gatwick and one can get a good night's sleep without the noise of people arriving or departing during sleeping hours. Any hotel owner who would like to improve their hotel should stay here and learn.
The price of a room is marked up in Reception as £220 per night but we got a package for one night plus a week's parking for £98. It's impossible to go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResilientWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our staff always aim to go the extra mile for our guests and am glad that on this occasion you enjoyed your stay.

Our pricing strategy is one that is competitive and fair with all other hotels in the Gatwick area. We are glad that you were able to find a package that suited your needs.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the Gatwick- Crawley area.

Kind Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing