We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient choice for a stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed October 26, 2012

An overnight stay on the way back from the south coast. Convenient access from the M23 and plenty of parking space. Room perfectly adequate, reception quite efficient and friendly, reasonable breakfast, acceptable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertTraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am glad you found the hotel to be convenient for your travelling needs. We are blessed to have plenty of free parking spaces which makes the hotel easy to access by car.

I am pleased you enjoyed our continental breakfast with the hot items and happy you enjoyed your room.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 918 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrived at the Hotel just after midnight, great reception, good bed, well fitted bathroom, and a good nights sleep..we needed it.
Next morning, good buffet breakfast.
Not stayed at a Hoiday Inn Express before, much better than we thought for a budget hotel, many 4 and 5 star hotels could learn from Holiday Inn Express, very good polite, helpfull staff and the whole hotel was very clean.
The Hotel is 5 miles from Gatwick Airport and makes for a great stopover. Thank you to all the staff.
If you are booking this hotel then do so during uk business hours otherwise you will get through to America, and they do not speak English we had great difficulty in making ourselves understood.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am delighted to read your comments and thrilled we exceeded your expectations.

We believe our breakfast provides an excellent choice of continental items and our hot choice of sausage, scrambled egg and beans suits everybody's needs.

Our staff take great pride in their work and are very pleased to read your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the Gatwick Crawley area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Clean and fresh hotel .
Beds comfortable - rooms not huge but ok
Nice flat screen TV
Free breakfast was good
Loads of parking
Next doot to Havester
Quite away form the airport £10ish in taxi
Only down side had to pay for wifi

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are privileged to have a lot of free on site parking spaces for our guests which makes it easy to come and go from the hotel.

I am pleased you found everything to be clean and to your satisfaction. Complimentary Wi-Fi is something that will be reviewed.

Many thanks for the kind words regarding the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back when next in the Gatwick area.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a good hotel, check in was a breeze and the staff are lovely (shout out to James). I stayed here for several nights due to a training course and it was excellent. The rooms are lovely and clean, the shower was massive. Breakfast did what it said on the tin - Sausage, Beans, Scrambled eggs, Bread for toast (toast yourself), Bread rolls, Croissantes, Muffins, Various cereals, Grapefruit segments, etc plus lots of jam, Nutella, Marmite etc. Coffee machine is ok - not Starbucks but its ok. Rooms come with Tea, Coffee and if you need more just ask at reception. Slight issue with key card - we had to keep having them re-programmed but not a massive issue. The Harvester provided entertainment as some of the staff were "not too good" but I'll review that seperately - it is good value though. Would recommend to anyone and would'nt hesitate booking in here if I was flying out of Gatwick (fyi - taxi is approx £5) - its a Holiday Inn, remember that, its not the Savoy so stop complaining!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such kind words about the hotel.

I am thrilled you had an easy check-in experience. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We adhere to the standards of a Holiday Inn Express when it comes to breakfast and we hope it provides something for everybody. As for the coffee, I have passed along your comments to our breakfast supervisor so we can attempt to improve this facility.

I am delighted you had an enjoyable experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night in October. Rooms where typical holiday inn, clean, comfortable. The staff were very polite and friendly. There is a small bar and comfortable lounge with two large screen televisions in all the hotel is ok for one or two nights stay. Snacks and pre made sandwiches can be purchased. An harvester pub adjacent with restaurant and bar meals service. All in all a very typical holiday inn, which are ok for one or two night stop over

Room Tip: Foot traffic noise from floors above, suggest top floor rooms will not have this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Our staff are always delighted to receive positive feedback about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

stayed here for one night before early morning flight from Gatwick, efficient check in, and room was basic but functional, and very clean. Great value for money compared to other "airport" hotels" would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWilson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review about Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. Our staff take pride in the work they do and I know they are happy yo see such kind words about the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the Gatwick area.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I arrived late one night after roughly 24 hours of continuous travelling into Gatwick. At the check-in counter, the clerk pulled up my reservation and asked that I provide the TripAdvisor internet voucher that was used to book my room and provide payment. I was certain that I had booked and prepaid (one of the nonrefundable. prepaid rates) on the Holiday Inn website...but I think the jet lag had caught up with me and I wasn't quite sure how to respond.
I tried to explain that I had prepaid and my online bank account showed that the funds had already been transferred. I did recall that I looked the hotel up in Trip Advisor but was certain that I had paid for the room via a different website. What's more, I had NO idea that a Trip Advisory voucher existed for things like that (it made sense, I just didn't know they had them). Anyway, I showed the clerk the confirmation email that I had received, but he kept insisting that I needed to provide a voucher and recommended that I buy some time for the internet kiosk so I could print off the aforementioned document.
I actually considered doing as he requested but couldn't think of how I could convince him of my veracity without producing that "mystical" voucher.
Finally, the clerk did some more research on his computer and somewhere it showed that I had indeed paid for the room and didn't need to provide anything else.

Anyway, I would have given it a lower rating but the rest of our short stay turned out better. A decent breakfast with hot item options and great service by food service staff. Also, the service at the front desk the next day was great. Rooms are what you'd expect.
If you're taking the bus to Gatwick, the bus stop is a short walk away, right across the street and visible from the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sihyo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

First of all, let me apologise for the inconvenience you experienced while checking-in to the hotel. The voucher you were asked to provide does exist but you should never have been asked for it at check-in. A full investigation has been launched as to why you were asked to provide such a document to make sure no such thing happens again in the future.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $76 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing