We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faulty Fire Detection Systems at Manor Royal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faulty Fire Detection Systems at Manor Royal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

During check in at 20:15 on Friday 8 March 2013 fire alarms are creating a deafening sound. Guests overhear a chef claiming he has patched up the light in the kitchen which was triggring the fire sensors and added he hoped it would hold. At 23:20 guests are disturbed by fire alarms sounding. No one take leaderships or has a role to play, no staff member explains the situation in a reassuring way. Chaos! Children outside with barely any clothes on. Inexperienced staff behaved like rabbits in headlights. Engineer was already on site suggesting he triggered the alarm system. I would not stay here again. What if it had been a real fire! I suspect there would have been casualities. Protect What Matters - Guests!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma B, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn, London Gatwick Airport Manor Royal.

I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered during your stay. I would like to assure you that your comments and feedback have been taken very seriously and I would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback further. Please feel free to contact me on operationsmanager.londongatwickairportmanorroyal@whitbread.com or call 01293 819120.

Kind Regards

Jemma Brooks
Operations Manager London Gatwick Airport Manor Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    444
    90
    29
    17
See reviews for
435
571
79
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

A basic, but clean and comfortable hotel about 3 miles from Gatwick airport and on the outskirts of Crawley. Very useful for an overnight stay before or after a flight. Good car park with just enough space. Most importantly inexpensive!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma B, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick Manor Royal.

I am delighted you found Gatwick Manor Royal to be so convenient for your pre-flight stay and such good value for money. I hope you'll consider us again should you fly from Gatwick Airport.

Kind Regards

Jemma Brooks
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on 21/2/13 hotel has ALL u might need only one night before getting a morning flight out of gatwick very clean and restraunts food was first class and not over priced must say the staff were excellent special mention to Gabriel think that was here name and the reception staff very helpfull thank you prem inn will stay again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BelfastMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma B, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick Manor Royal.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the Team to be so friendly and helpful. I am especially delighted that you had such lovely food in the Restaurant and felt it was such good value,

Many Thanks

Jemma Brooks
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

A good nights sleep guaranteed is what the advert claims. Well it was a good nights sleep too!

The hotel is clean and fresh and for the price is good value. The bar and food engine are reliable and good. The hotel stands on its own and is some way from the airport but you have all you need on site.

Car parking is easy. The shuttle is very reliable and I used it to get the airport to travel into London for a night on the town using the fast Gatwick Service. The drive, the next morning, to the park and ride car park was easy too.

I was certainly use this hotel again although there are many nearer to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma B, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick Manor Royal.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our Thyme Restaurant to be so good. I'm especially delighted that you managed to have such a great night's sleep.

It's great that you would look to stay here again and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Many Thanks

Jemma Brooks
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night when our flight landed in the middle of the night. A great nights sleep, exactly as advertised on the TV. You had a choice of pillows (hard or soft). Toiletries dispense from hand-dispensers. Heard no noise from other rooms. Very secure hotel. Not far from Gatwick at all. Could not hear any air traffic from our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cablecar2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma B, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick Manor Royal.

I am delighted you had a great night's sleep and felt secure during your visit. Our unique location ensures that, while being close to the Airport, you are not disturbed by any accompanying noise.

I do hoe we can welcome you back again in the future.

Many Thanks

Jemma Brooks
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here before setting off on holiday from Gatwick airport. Excellent hotel and well situated for Airparks parking and the the airport. The staff go out of their way to assist you and look after you. It has a good bar and restaurant and the rooms are clean and spacious and ours was very quiet considering it is near an airport.
I cannot fault this hotel and have booked again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andbeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma B, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick Manor Royal.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to be so convenient for your pre-flight needs.

I'm delighted that you have already booked to stay here again and look forward to welcoming you back to Gatwick Manor Royal.

Many Thanks

Jemma Brooks
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights due to work. I have previously stayed in Premier Inns before so I expected a clean room and a comfy bed however i was very surprised at the standard of this one.

From the outside it looks just like a standard Premier, however when you go inside you know that it is something special. I do not know how old this Premier Inn is but it was spotless. We were welcomed by the staff who answered any questions we had. Check-in was quick and even though it was 1pm our rooms were ready.

The rooms themselves were basic but very clean with a safe in the room and a TV with all the freview channels. Plenty hot water and superb shower. Also double glazing worked well as only about a mile from Gatwick Airport and no aircraft noise disturbed my sleep.

The onsite restaurant however was what makes this Premier Inn stand out. The food was excellent, very resonably priced and hot. Also lots of hot food at Breakfast time. The staff were very friendly,helpful and had time to speak to the customers.

To sum up, would I stay here again. Yes. I have stayed in worse 4 star hotels than this (no disrespect to Premier Inn) but this is a shining example on how to run a budget priced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma B, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick Manor Royal.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time at Gatwick Manor Royal. It's a pleasure to read a Review that expresses such genuine enthusiasm for the Hotel and, especially, our Thyme Restaurant. The Team work extremely hard to ensure that all our Guests have a special and memorable experience during their stay and I am so pleased that on this occasion they succeeded.

Kind Regards

Jemma Brooks
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Address: Flemming Way | Crawley Business Quarter, Crawley RH10 9DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Crawley
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crawley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#2 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the town of Crawley, and a great place to rest your head whether you're flying in or out ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Manor Royal Hotel Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing