We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Start To the Day”
Review of Cafe Rouge - Gatwick South - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Gatwick South
Price range: $31 - $38
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
London
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Slow Start To the Day”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A decent sized restaurant for those wanting to pay £8 a time for breakfast excluding coffee.
we were seated quite quickly as it was 0830 in the morning and we had told our waitress that we were in a tearing hurry.
She meandered off and came back 7-8 minutes later and took our order,we were getting edgy and so pressed here to get the order through as rapidly as she could. 20 minutes and several kittens later she ambled up to us without a care in the world silently placed down our breakfasts which we started eating almost before the plates hit the tablecloth.
Food was well presented if a little overcooked and not as hot as it should have been.
Would have liked the service to have been quicker as restaurant was not full

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank famousactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    84
    44
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredibly good.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a good meal by any standard. King Prawns were huge and succulent in a simple garlic butter sauce £6.95, Houmous not too smooth and full of flavour £4.95, (the white bread was fresh the rye bread, a touch dry), Salmon fishcake tasty with a good mayonnaise and crispy coating £10.95 but the best of the dishes was the sirloin which was a very honest cut of beef brimming with flavour and cooked perfectly £15.95. French fries as expected. Glass of claret almost worth the premium paid. The sauce peppercorn for the steak perfectly spiced £1.50. Total for food and drinks for 2 was £47.75 (service not included). The service was efficient and brusque, typically french. The £5 tip was warmly accepted. I look froward to returning to Gatwick South safe in the knowledge that a fine steak awaits. Tres bien.

Don't go if you are in a hurry. This is a proper restaurant, they cook their food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctaylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best at Gatwick”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It's quick, fairly reasonable for an airport and the staff are very polite and friendly. It would help if the thumping music was turned off

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CowanMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Had plenty of time which was lucky as there was a twenty minute wait on food- we were told this when we took the table so was fine.

Breakfast was well presented and tasted good

Nice was to start a holiday

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldermaston, UK
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dear oh dear! Never Again”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

So there we were - me, 'er indoors, child no. 1 and child no.2 at Gatwick South at very early o'clock ahead of a crack of dawn flight to Greece. "Let's have a bit of a treat and grab some breakfast before we get on the plane" we thought. Bad move going to Cafe Rouge.

O.k., so it was busy - however, is this to be unexpected? Let's list the things that weren't good. 1) a bunch of the things on the menu weren't available - no cheese for omlettes, no fresh OJ; 2) a (much-needed) 2nd americano coffee never showed up until we asked where it was; 3) our food order took forever to arrive - we sat there and saw folk come in after us, eat, and then leave, while we were still thinking about beginning to chew on one of our own limbs to stave off the hunger. The food only showed up when we asked what was going on, to be told that the kitchen had gone into meltdown because of the number of customers and it had probably lost our ticket; 4) when it did show up, one of the dishes - pain perdu - was poor and, being honest, a bit of a rip off for the price, while the rest was luke warm; 5) many tables remained uncleared for a long time - nice..

So, yes, the place got busy but it was the height of Summer. N early morning flights going out is something that should have been expected and the restaurant ready to handle. Basically, it just wasn't

Conclusion - if you are at Gatwick and it's early and you're looking for food, do yourself a favour and spend your money somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Gatwick South also viewed

Pease Pottage, Crawley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing