We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORTABLE CAFE”
Review of Cafe Rouge - Gatwick South - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Gatwick South
Price range: $31 - $38
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE CAFE”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Attentive staff provide drinks , snacks and meals at the usual airport prices. Excellent view of tarmac makes this the ideal place to while away an hour or so before boarding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    84
    44
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best of the concessions in South terminal”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my most regular eaterie stop whenever I travel from Gatwick's South Terminal - about once a month... and it's fine.

The food is sort-of restaurant-bistro style with a French twist (of course)... my personal favourites are the Moules Marinieres at about £13, which with a basket of bread at about £3 makes a really good meal.

One thing I would observe is that one's fellow travellers are, almost universally unpleasant to the waiting staff... apart from the fact that nobody needs to be mis-treated in their workplace, being nice to people gets you good service and a more pleasant experience... so if you're going SMILE.

This of course is a two way street.... and I am thinking of you short, grumpy, French, black-skirted maître d' .... why not cheer up a bit, they day will be shorter if you do... and not all of your customers are a nuisance, honest !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen Wales
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ate here whilst waiting for our early morning flight. We both had the continental breakfast and was more than happy with the fayre, Large warm baguette with jam, pastry,friut juice and hot drink ,all for around £6. Nice views of the concourse, and the staff helpful. If the occasion arises ,will eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dozydai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pre-flight breakfast”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Decided to have a pre-flight breakfast on the spur of the moment. Shown to a table very quickly and order taken within five minutes.

The breakfast was adequate and the service reasonable. Had to ask twice for marmalade to go with my toast as the first waitress forgot. Other than that a perfectly acceptable restaurant to have a light meal pre flight.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The english breakfast we were served was pretty good and plentiful. The waiting staff was very amiable and courteous, despite the place being totally full. If you are lucky enough try to get a talbe overlooking the runway, it is worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adriano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Gatwick South also viewed

Pease Pottage, Crawley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing