We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great location, minutes away from the south terminal. Spacious rooms, clean and high standard throughout. Amenities in bathroom, very comfortable bed,fab service, good food and engaging staff. Flying the Marriott flag in all aspects.. Love the new courtyard feel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonrp2008 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    977
    536
    217
    161
See reviews for
515
1,157
172
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel overnight prior to flying to Geneva mid morning the following day. We also used their car parking service for the week we were away.

Our experience was absolutely perfect. Everything was seamless. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by very pleasant reception staff. Our room was ready and it was perfectly clean, spacious and comfortable with everything we needed (hairdryer etc).

We left our car at the door and did not have to worry about it anymore as it was taken away for us.

We had to check in with the car parking receptionist to confirm return time etc and that was that.

We then had a perfectly adequate meal in the hotel restaurant with excellent service for a reasonable price.

The bed was comfortable, sound proofing seemed good as we were not disturbed at all by other guests and we had a very good nights sleep. We then caught one of the frequent buses that comes right to the door of the hotel to go on the very short journey to the South terminal. Totally our own fault we should have been at the North Terminal, but that's by the by!

When we came back, our car was waiting for us with no dents or scrapes!!!!! Our use for the Courtyard by Marriott was a functional one and it worked like a dream - so we would highly recommend this place if you need a good meal, a great nights sleep and somewhere to leave your car while you are out of the country.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile


We stayed overnight before catching a early morning flight when checking in at 6pm that they would be charging me an additional £25 for parking our car that evening despite the fact we were leaving at 3am for our flight.

I frequently stay in Marriott's around the UK and USA and the beds at this hotel are awful and not the normal "Marriott Beds", we had a twin room with our two children and every time throughout the night whenever they moved the bed squeaked and were so uncomfortable. We subsequently went to get some food from the bar / restuarant yet people were complaining about food taking a long time to come so we opted to walk out of the hotel and found a nice Indian within a 5min walk.

In summary if you are wanting a below average hotel then stay here, yet do NOT book this hotel if you are expecting a "Marriott" hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank betts1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not what you expected. Our charges for parking are advertised on our website and reflect the cost of parking at Gatwick Airport and are very competitive. In regards to our beds I would like to state that they are to Marriott standard, but being a Courtyard we do not have mattress toppers on our beds, like Marriott's. I do hope you told us about the squeaky bed so we were able to do something about it. Unfortunately the normal checking process would not pick up any defects of this kind and we do rely on feedback from our guests. The restaurant and bar areas are very busy every night serving approx. 300 meals and sometimes can lead to waiting times. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crawley hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Myself and my family chose this hote last summerl to stay over night before our long haul to the carribean.I wish we didnt.On arrival our room wasnt ready, matters being blamed on the ongoing works happening on their apparent Wi fi system.
We were made to wait in the lobby for 40 mins with no check back on if we wanted a drink or anything. Finally we were showed to our room 3 floors up .. The room itself was quite clean and well presented so really i had no problems especially as i knew all i wanted to was for the kids to be able to chill and then eventually for everyone to put their heads down for the night..
Then it happened ..my son couldnt get no reception on his i pad , so we thought maybe its a glitch. I made him re boot it in the hope signal would be picked up...nothing..We then tried to get it on our phones ..again nothing..
we rang downstairs and complained about this as after all the room wasnt cheap and im sorry i want what ive paid for, even if it is for 24 hours.
The front desk told us that because we have got one of the rooms the furthest away in the building then thats why theres no probable reception.." say what " - "do i look stupid " if thats the best story you can offer a paying guest then your in the wrong game..
we therefore requested a different room on the notion we wanted to be nearer to what ever signal they say we were not getting.. wouldnt you know it on being placed in a new and nearer room, again we had no signal..By now i had enough and we all made our way down to the reception area..On reaching the reception area we passed what was clear an evident, a computer area that you can log in and use the internet but wait for it....YES you guessed it , you have to pay the hotel for the joy of it..and we are not talking pennys here people .. a swift £5 will
get you 2 or 3 mins so you do the math..

and dont get me started on the debit card system they have in place there..do they just make up stuff as they go along ????????????

Finally after getting an on duty manager and complaining i had seen enough , i was now tied and it was late for the kids too..i decided best to just focus on the hols ahead and forget this place..it may look good from the outside and have a nice glossy bar area but the management dont know how to look after their paying guests but also in this day an age WI FI is free in most places you go now, charging guests for the privilege is low guys.. too think we werent even offered anything for the stress either.... wont be going back there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but dont touch the vastly expensive bottle of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropicallyunique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. It is very unusual that your room would not be ready, unless you arrived before 3.00pm? I am very sorry that you had to wait and did not have a good signal for your mobile phone either. The hotel has excellent soundproofing being next to the runway, but the downside is that it also keeps the mobile signals out and pending on the provider you experience better or worse signals.
We recently installed a new fibre optic cable to the hotel at a cost of £30k to provide first class internet connections to our guests and we have the fasted download/upload speed in the Gatwick area. In return we need to apply a charge for this service. £4.95 for one hour and £12.99 for 24hrs. Since we upgraded our internet we received a lot of praise from our corporate guests.
Thank you for choosing Marriott hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is very easily reachable from the exit door of South Terminal, there are plenty of signs every 100m that will bring you there in 7÷10 minutes on a very smooth pedestrian walk along a quiet road. If it's not raining or snowing, you can skip the shuttle service for pay.

All the facilities are brand new and super-clean; the rooms are well equipped with very comfortable beds and the fantastic Marriott pillows.

I had dinner (book a table at check-in!) and breakfast buffet in the restaurant, and both meals had a good quality and a reasonable price. Service was very prompt and pleasant in both occasions.

I am a loyal Marriott Customer but not always Courtyards properties reach the level of service I found here, so next time I will be around needing to spend a night close to the airport, I will choose again this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariastuarda-Burson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This chain insists on having a debit/credit card registered upon your arrival, even if you have paid up front and don't intend to have anything charged - 'company policy'. We refused: too much personal data is given to these people. It felt as if we were being punished for others leaving without paying: no trust given at all. We returned after our holiday and gave a card, only to have to give it again the next morning for the meal cost to be debited! Prices designed to rip off the visitor, poor quality cooked breakfast. Poor hospitality tray, bathroom door so big that it was difficult to get inside. All foreign staff, although the receptionists speak good english. We would NEVER stay at a Marriott hotel again.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. It is common practice in all branded hotels to take a credit card imprint on arrival. This is to make your stay more comfortable and for you to enjoy all facilities on offer. Otherwise you would have to pay at source every time you make a purchase. Your room phone would be barred for outgoing phone calls and you could not access pay movies. I am sorry you did not like your cooked breakfast, but I am sure if you had brought this to our attention at the time we would have replaced or changed it to something you would have liked. The hospitality tray offers tea and coffee and I am not sure what you found poor about it? Our bathroom doors are of normal size and conform to British Building standards.
I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I booked this hotel with Parking both pre and post trip to Prague. We had a lovely room with a kingsize bed. The staff were very friendly and helpfull but drinks and dining was very expensive.We had a breakfast on our return which was excellent but again very pricey. It was very convienient for the south terminal, 3 minutes by bus but I was very suprised that we had to pay £3.00 each, each way for transfer to the terminal. Usualy when we have stayed in an Airport Hotel they provide a courtesy bus . I see on other reviews that people have walked to the south termnal in 5 to ten minutes, however when we attempted this on our return but we came up to barriers with no walking signs and thought that it may be a little risky.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing