We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Travelled to this hotel from Manchester as we had an early international flight to catch the next morning. The hotel was clean , staff friendly and efficient and food / bar was competitively priced [most of the other airport facilities cost around the same
]. We had arranged parking through the hotel for the duration of our holiday. The car was booked in on arrival and brought back on time for our arrival back in the country with no fuss or stress at all. Staying here was a good , relaxing start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashton68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 2,574 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here one night before flying out on holiday. We had paid online for our room so check-in was simple. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the amenities we needed. We had a great night's sleep. We didn't use the restaurant for anything but had a drink at the bar which was quite expensive. Staff were polite and must have read previous reports about guests being charged for the bottled water in the rooms as each and every one of us checking out were asked if we had used the water. We didn't notice any plane noise and the air con didn't keep us awake. We would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worrypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We used this hotel as we needed to travel from Cornwall and were taking a fairly morning flight out and returning on an evening flight. We chose this so we could be with other members of our party and we needed a hotel with parking. The overall price including parking was fairly reasonable and pre booking meals and parking saved us money. The airport shuttle bus costs £3 per person per journey, but would have appreciated some help with our luggage as it's difficult to lift a case and a set of golf clubs onto the bus. This applies as well to the hotel, as there is no porter service. Rooms are large enough but too warm; the ac keeps trying to reset itself to 22c, too warm for us and it's noisy too as the fan keeps running at high speed.
Our pre booked dinner was very good and breakfast (Full English) was excellent. A word of caution though, the bar prices are pretty steep, certainly not the place if you like a few!
All in all though, a value for money service and we would use it again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

At the Marriott gatwick now, aircon/heating is off but it sounds like I'm sleeping next to a car with its engine running. Nothing they can do apparently and every room the same. Bed uncomfortable as well, not up to the usual Marriott standards, and certainly not the start I wanted to my holiday, very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet to get to sleep, don't book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a really good hotel, only 7 minutes walk from Gatwick. The rooms looked recently refurbished and were very well appointed. The furniture was of a high quality and the bed was huge. I was also located on the same floor as a small gym, which was great for a quick workout.

Only negative, the whole hotel had really bad phone signal and I ended up missing dinner with colleagues as they could not contact me!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arrived in on a late flight, wasn't made aware of the bus and had to travel on foot in the dark and the rain to the hotel a good 10 minutes away. I'm glad I wasn't on my own as this walk is very badly lit. When we arrived we were asked to provide credit card details despite the room being paid for.

The hotel is really noisy and the stale smell of smoke is oppressive especially in the hotel corridors. We stayed in a room on the 4th floor that had a boiler room next to it which was really noisy so we didn't get much sleep. When we complained about the noise the following morning we weren't charged for our £3 bottle of water by way of an apology.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamirogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Pros: Combination with holiday parking makes it very good value, good location (max 10 mins walk to South Terminal - bus also available), clean, spacious and modern rooms, nice bar

Cons: restaurant food average and pricey

Conclusion: good value hotel when combined with the holiday parking

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport

Address: Buckingham Gate, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $81 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing