We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Basic, Bad Food, Rip Off Bar” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very Basic, Bad Food, Rip Off Bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Rooms not as good as you would expect from Marriott - except for the bed. The food in the on- site (and only available) restaurant was absolutely awful. Watch out at the Bar - £17.50 ($23) for one beer and a large Malibu with Coke. If your not eating or drinking its very close to the South Terminal though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is valuable to us.
We are sorry to hear that you found our rooms not up to th standard you expected. We at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick pride ourselves on making our guests stay with us a positive experience, our rooms are usually described by our guests as being clean spacious and contemporary with excellent bathrooms, we are therefore surprised and sorry to hear that you did not find them so.
With regard to the prices being high in our bar, they compare well to the local competition, a pint of larger is £5.50, Malibu is £5.10 therefore a double, which you ordered would be 2x £5.50 and Pepsi is £2.05.
We are unable to comment on the restaurant meal due to lack of information, other than to say we have no record of you having complained at the time.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    933
    503
    199
    150
See reviews for
483
1,093
168
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the Gatwick Marriott Courtyard hotel and had a great stay. This is a modern very well equipped hotel perfect for the night before a flight. The location is a 5 minute walk from the South Terminal or you can take the Bus (Busses run very frequently) or get a taxi. The Checkin Process was smooth and efficient, the rooms are very modern quiet and comfortable. The restaurants, room service and snack shop offer a good range of reasonably priced food, thats cooked to a good standard. For me this is my hotel of choice at gatwick airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bydand75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in afternoon , booked in just a little wait !. Our room was excellent , car was taken to parking for by maple car parks . Just a short walk to airport to check in ( not sure I'd like to do it when raining !! ) a phone call to maple after holiday & car is driven round to you !! Perfect

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanzanitelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed here regularly as we use Gatwick quite often for our trips in and out of the UK and have always found the service and convenience second to none.
Always a good price and from checking in to checking out you feel that the staff are looking after you and not just going through the motions.
Food is good and to a high standard in the bar or restaurant and service excellent.
A short trip to terminal 2 and your off on holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This stay was free of charge for me as I redeemed some Marriott points. Our room (429) was on the top floor and very quiet, no sound of aircraft or other guests at all. Arrived at 4.30pm and went down to use the gym. This is a smallish room on first floor with two treadmills, two ellipticals and bikes and rowers. Enjoyed a good workout but make sure you change in your room as there are no changing facilities at the gym. Ate a fantastic Indian meal for dinner at the JaiHo at Coppingham Arms which is about 10 mins walk away. Read my review of that restaurant.

Location: we walked to/from Gatwick airport South terminal which takes about 10-15 minutes. If arriving on the train just make your way out of the terminal building to the ground floor where the coaches/buses leave. Then head right with the airport behind you and follow the signs to the Courtyard. Alternately you can pay £3 each person each way for the pleasure of riding in the bus, but honestly it only takes 10-15mins to walk. We even walked back to the airport at 5am the next morning for our flight.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyprusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
228 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

After a long drive from the North, greeted by a friendly front desk staff member who welcomed me as an elite gold member.

Give a nice room on the 4th floor, really quiet and insulated, I could even see the planes taking off and came right over my room but still didn't hear any aircraft noise.

Didn't eat or drink here as knew there was a nice pub for an evening meal 3 miles away.

Parking deal was also good value for up to 15 days, will book again for January 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed one night with my girlfriend on transit before taking a flight to Iceland in Gatwick airport. We checked out at 8am, and I received an email 8 hours later, saying that I made a hole on the wall and I was charged usd220 because of that...
Of course (apart of being confident that we didnt do it in our stay) we complained about it and we realized that the cleaning people is put under pressure when something like that happen.
Of course, the hotel did not communicate to us about the damage on time, and added to this, they knew that we were on transit, so no way to go back to the hotel.
I use to spend more than 60 nights per year in hotels and this kind of experience never happened to me. I'm still complaining not only because of the money, but because of the unprofessional way it was managed, affecting my holidays. No competent people got in contact with me.
I suggest you spend a few pounds more in order to avoid this potential unpleasant situations. I will never ever stay again in these kind of hotels.

Room Tip: If you have the bad luck to go there, check carefully the room before you leave, and ask for aknowle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcano007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is important to us.
As you can see from your photo there was a very large hole in the wall, our rooms are checked daily and all damage is reported. We do not let rooms to our guests with holes in the walls, the room would be taken out of action and repaired. You suggest that guests check the room and report any damage to avoid being charged, we are therefore surprised that you did not take your own good advice , we would have expected anyone checking in and finding such damage to do just that, unfortunately you also did not mention it at check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crawley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing