We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spot to end trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice spot to end trip”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott in May 2012 and in April 2013. Both times it was at the end of a trip and the last night before flying home to Canada.
The hotel was well located, clean and the staff friendly overall. The price of the room was reasonable for an airport hotel.
The food in the pub/restaurant was good in May 2012 but average in April 2013. A tad overpriced.
However, that said, I would recommend the hotel to others as a good place to either start or end a visit to London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmoose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    970
    529
    214
    159
See reviews for
511
1,148
170
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked a room at this hotel the night before we had an early flight to Rome. We had flown into Heathrow from USA a few days earlier but had booked a cheap BA flight from Gatwick for our next part of our trip. The only thing that left a bad taste in our mouth was the very expensive cab ride from Central London, but that is not a reflection of this Courtyard.
We arrived to find a very busy lobby with people checking in, getting drinks, and eating. We had a very comfortable room with a king size bed and comfortable bathroom. What we expect from a Marriott property.
We ate in the bar section of the hotel and enjoyed our meal. it was typical hotel food and prices but it satisfied our hunger. In the bar section, you order at the bar and then the food and drink is brought to you. I like that style. We did not have time for breakfast at the hotel due to our early flight. But it was easy to check out and then we took the shuttle to our terminal. It was easy and worth the ride.
Overall, a great hotel for passengers. We will consider a pass through Gatwick in the future and will choose this hotel if we need to stay the night.

Room Tip: Busy hotel so expect a small wait upon check in or check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Second visit and one year on, the food is just as bad. We were a party of four and could not be bothered taking a taxi into town, so had dinner in restaurant. Surely it could not be as bad as last year.....yes it was. Started with a selection of breads, oil and olives. Bread dry, oil very thin and olives tinned. Next chicken burgers and beef burgers . Both were pre-cooked and reheated, probably in a microwave. Both were devoid of any flavour and were tough and dry. The buns were stale and the melted cheese was solid, tasted of rubber and looked like a piece of 'play food'. We complained to the Manager who dealt with it to our satisfaction.
Now the good bits.....The hotel itself is good, check in is efficient and the rooms very comfortable. Do take note of the sign on the bottle of water in the room though. You have to inform reception if you do NOT drink it, otherwise you may be charged. The service in the restaurant is friendly, but sadly what comes out of the kitchen is pretty bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miklui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crawley hotels

bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked via Holiday Extra's which included 1 night stay and parking for the duration of our holiday. We was offered by Holiday Extra to pay for a 2 course evening meal. Check in was excellent with helpful staff who made you feel you was staying for a week not just a night. Our room was modern, spacious, comfortable, with a king size bed and great bathroom. The evening meal was lovely, are large portions, the waitress again so helpful. The drinks are a little on the high side but it didn't spoil our experience. Checking in our car was so easy we even had up to 11pm to check it in. Walking distance to the airport for us was 10 minutes. This was our first time flying from Gatwick but staying at the Courtyard by Marriott will not rule out Gatwick flights again, we couldn't fault anything, from the booking to the hotel, it's a great airport hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clubcaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent start to a family wedding/ holiday in Florida. Large family group stayed the night before our flight. We had a lovely meal and a few drinks in the hotel bar the evening before, the quality was good and the prices surprisingly reasonable for an airport hotel. The rooms were really comfortable, we were overlooking the main reception area, window on the inside of the building, so we did have to remember that when the lights were on and the curtains open as the windows go down to the floor!! We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as we had an early start and our grandson wanted to eat in the airport. Hotel is close enough to be able to walk to the terminal, it took us about 10 mins with a 5 year old and all our luggage. We went away for 3 weeks and parking was included in the cost, very good value and will be staying there again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Staying at this hotel is a bit like flying EasyJet. It's fine but nothing's free - even the water in your room is chargeable, there's nothing in the mini-bar - in fact, there isn't a mini-bar in your room at all. Not very welcoming and the hotel restaurant closes at 10pm. Pretty extraordinary for a 24 hour airport hotel. The hotel doesn't enjoy an inside the airport location so expect the trials of waiting for mini shuttle buses. OK if you're not on business or have lots of time. The rooms are pretty bare and mine - a junior suite - overlooked the hotel bins and a multi-storey car park. I arrived, everything was shut at 11pm, I slept, the room was OK, I awoke and had breakfast - chargeable again - and it was OK. I paid. And I left in a taxi because I couldn't stand waiting for the shuttle bus any longer. Hmmm...

Room Tip: I have no idea! Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quentinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pros:
- very close to Gatwick South Terminal - walking distance
- nice bar area
- I have Platinum Elite status with Marriott Rewards, that was recognized, and I received a room upgrade, a nice note and gift and free internet

Cons:
- It's an airport hotel, limited dining choices

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing