We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice hotel and very close to the airport. You should stay there if you wan't to be relax before your flight. They have a shuttle bus service with 3 pounds to the airport and they make you feel one foot to the airplane. The food is quite poor but descent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry_Yula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,782 - 1,788 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

I chose this hotel due to it's proximity to Gatwick airport. I had an early flight so wanted to stay nearby. Having taken the train the Gatwick, the hotel is about a 7 minute walk from the airport terminal / train station. This is ok if you don't have too many bags and the weather is fine. Otherwise you could request the hotel shuttle bus, which I think is £3 /pp.

Check-in was easy and I was in my room in a matter of minutes. The room was very clean and functionally comfortable for a solo business traveller. I would also consider using this hotel if I was travelling with my family.

Breakfast was included in my room rate. This seemed good value. I think if you bought it separately it was about £14.

Check-out was simple, having pre-paid for my room.

I rate this as "Excellent" due to the cleanliness good location for the airport. It is not 5* luxury, but an excellent hotel for the purpose.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuffolkTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently used this hotels deal 'park and stay'. The hotel was very well organised, extremely clean and well run, tea and coffee were available in the room. The staff were interested and helpful. My only comment would be the food was done to a formula which is not very inspiring, no matter it is an airport hotel and as such ticks the box.
The bus connections were good and our car looked after.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireTravelBug007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stay at this hotel once a year when we travel from Gatwick. Always book online for one night stay and holiday car parking as we tend to fly from the south terminal each time. The rooms are excellent and from our experience always clean. We find the hotel dining menu rather pricey and the drinks are on the expensive side although to be expected considering the quality of the accommodation provided. A shuttle bus runs on a regular basis to both terminals but if you are flying from the South Terminal you can easily walk it in under ten minutes. Leave your car in the main car park which is taken away then brought back on the day of your return. All in all a very hassle free experience. Although plenty of choice in the vicinity, we shall continue to use this nice hotel for most of the reasons mentioned.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank promenade39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently stayed for two times. We flew in from Vancouver, and stayed there before the cruise and after the cruise. A 10 minutes walk from the terminal only. The check-ins are easy and professional. Free internet at the lobby. Rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby5187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed at this property since it opened. Poor management has been an issue since the beginning, such a shame because the building itself is great. The location not perfect but acceptable, however the staff leave much to be desired.
As a Marriott Platinum member, I stay at Marriott properties where possible. That is the only reason to justify staying at this Courtyard. The staff training is a disgrace to the Marriott brand.
The check in is always problematical, last week my party arrived and there was no line. Two people on reception, one busy with a client, the other busy doing nothing. However she was not inclined to start the check -in process. Behind her a manager was standing watching, so I encouraged him to step up and take care of his visitors as the receptionist was clearly otherwise engaged. However he declined my invitation, further evidence that the management here is the root cause of the problem. When we finally began the check in process it was very slow indeed. Now slow is not always bad as it often equates to thorough. Not however in this case as was discovered the next morning when the requested wake up call for one of our party on an early flight, was not forthcoming. I was checking in three rooms, two of which had two guests and we were all milling around the reception area. When the receptionist had finally completed the process, she hands me the keys, one per room! These are rooms with a key slot inside the door that activates power. How poorly trained are these people? Now she had to go back and make the correct number of key cards!
She did ask if we were planning to eat at the hotel, we were, and she suggested we book a table as it was probably going to get busy. Good suggestion, then she suggested that we order our main courses! Yes, right then and there, suitcases in hand, order your food! This place really has hit the skids.
Our room was fine, as stated early, there is nothing wrong with the physical state of the property.
Dinner service was brusque, a Polish guy clearly instructed to rush us through as quick as possible. Once he realized we spoke a little polish, he started treating us like guests and not part of a tour group and we enjoyed a pleasant and relaxed dinner.
Next morning at breakfast, same brusque service. "Room number?" was the only communication from the F & B person, no "Good morning", just poorly trained staff going through the motions.
Breakfast was OK, but by this time we just wanted to get out of the place.
Such a shame, I don't know who owns this franchise but they need to wake up because a brand new Premier Inn is being built adjacent to the North terminal and that is going to take a lot of the tour customers and the Courtyard may finally have to earn their living.
One tip if you don't want to walk to the terminals. If there are two or more of you traveling, book a taxi, it is 6.50 UK Pounds.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolleaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmsdivmgr, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel: your feedback is very valuable to us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your stay not being anything else but fully satisfactory. We are very sorry to learn that your arrival and dining experience was not what you expected.

Naturally, this is not the impression we would want you or indeed any guests to have of the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Hotel as it does not reflect the high standards of service associated with the hotel. Whilst we can understand the initial response, we would like to assure you that our hotels are renowned for their service and that, once an occurrence of guest dissatisfaction is brought to our attention, we do our best to ensure that it does not happen again.

We value the patronage and goodwill of our guests and they are very important to us therefore should you decide to use the Courtyard by Marriott Gatwick hotel in the near future please contact me directly to make your reservation and I will ensure your stay will be remembered for all the right reasons.

May we also take this opportunity to thank you again for your comments for it is only through the feedback of our valued guests that we can maintain and improve upon the high standards of accommodation facilities and service we continuously endeavour to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I recently booked this hotel via gatwick parking with 15 days parking and meet & greet service on arrival. Total price of £150 was very reasonable.
Check in process was straight forward and quick. The room was clean and tidy.
Despite being on the airport site the room was well sound insulated.
The bath room was of a good size and adequately stocked with toiletries and towels.
The hotel has a shuttle service which is about 3 minutes only but not not pedestrian friendly. Costs £3 per adult.
Only bug bear was no free wifi. Otherwise if you are travelling with a young family from gatwick then I definitely recommend this hotel with he car parking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dravid19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport

Address: Buckingham Gate, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $80 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing