We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed January 9, 2013

located close to south terminal at the airport . took about 10 minutes to walk from airport to hotel or could have paid for bus ( £3 per person each way)

hotel was modern and nicely decorated room was large tho faced onto an internal courtyard rather than an outside window ( as did many of the rooms perhaps why called courtyard by marriott i assume )

comfortable beds nice bathroom very clean had good nights sleep .

had meal in restaurant which whilst pricey was very nice

only one negative to hotel there was no mobile phone signal whatsoever anywhere in the hotel so had to pay £11.99 for wifi access for the night . would have been nice if this had been offered as a free service by the hotel .

would i stay here again yes probably tho there are other hotels closer to the north terminal where i flew from but this hotel is convenient for south terminal and could have taken the free shuttle from south to north terminal

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normylad36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,511)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,761 - 1,767 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Hotel at Gatwick airport for one night prior to flying out to Lanzarote – booked via ‘Holiday Extras’:we expected to stay in a good hotel which would include on-site car parking for that night. On checking in we discovered that we were expected to pay an additional £18 for parking on site that night if we did not submit the car keys prior to 11pm! As we wanted to put the clothes that we travelled in that day in the boot of our car the next morning for the duration of our holiday, we had to change out of our travelling clothes prior to 11pm in order not to pay this fee. But the worst thing was the BED it was like sleeping on the floor ! it was so hard that my wife & I both awoke numoruos times throughout the night & were in agony the next morning. We would not use this hotel again.

Room Tip: “There are plenty of other hotels at Gatwick Airport - Do not use this one”
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ade_Morris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmsdivmgr, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel: your feedback is very valuable to us.

The hotel has offered car parking packages to their customers since its opening in 2009. Due to the limited capacity of on-site parking spaces our packages have always been for off-site parking whether the booking is made directly or indirectly with the hotel. This is to make space available for those guests who wish to park their car on-site. We advertise this information quite clearly on our official website. All parking packages start from the day of the guests’ arrival.

We recommend that our guests’ check their booking confirmation and if it says you can park onsite (when booked on a car parking package), then it is incorrect and you should challenge your agent/source. You are always welcome to give us a call and we will be delighted to answer all your queries.

The hotel is 3 years old and all our mattresses are to Marriott specification and bought from the nominated Marriott supplier. We are very sorry that you found the mattress in your room uncomfortable.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future for which we trust will be enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for a night before we flew off on holiday.Room fine,clean a nd a good size.The bar was noisy with a TV blaring and people shouting.Tables and floor sticky,needed someone going round clearing up.
Ate in the restaurant,once we got a table the waiter was good and the food OK.
Overall good value for money if you get a special rate.Easy access to South Terminal by shuttle bus,£3 per person

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Hotel at Gatwick airport for two nights – both booked via ‘Holiday Extras’:

Having driven from Cheshire to Gatwick we expected to stay in a good hotel which would include on-site car parking for that night. On checking in we discovered that we were expected to pay an additional £18 for parking on site that night! As we had bags that we needed to use that night but then wanted to leave in the boot of our car for the duration of our holiday we had no option but to pay this but do feel aggrieved at this charge especially as we were, in fact entitled to up to 15 days car parking but only used 12.

We had our return night also booked at the hotel – which DID include on-site parking for that night??? On our return to Gatwick, we checked into the hotel but had to change rooms after several hours as the heating was not working in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmsdivmgr, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel: your feedback is very valuable to us.

The hotel has offered car parking packages to their customers since its opening in 2009. Due to the limited capacity of on-site parking spaces our packages have always been for off-site parking whether the booking is made directly or indirectly with the hotel. This is to make space available for those guests who wish to park their car on-site. We advertise this information quite clearly on our official website. All parking packages start from the day of the guests’ arrival.

We recommend that our guests’ check their booking confirmation and if it says you can park onsite (when booked on a car parking package), then it is incorrect and you should challenge your agent/source. You are always welcome to give us a call and we will be delighted to answer all your queries.

If a guests’ asks for their car to remain on site we apply an additional charge of £18 per night as we have to pay for the parking offsite and chargeable space is occupied on site. Unfortunately, refunds cannot be made if the package is not used as booked. If a part of the package is not used during a stay, it cannot be transferred to another stay/reservation. For e.g. if a guest has breakfast inclusive with their booking but are unable to consume breakfast before departure – this cannot be transferred to their next reservation. This would work similarly with parking packages.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future for which we trust will be enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Courtyard before flying off for our holiday on 17th December and were pleased with our stay as usual. Unfortunately on our return on 1st January when we arrived just after 23:45 we found that we could get nothing to eat except snacks like crips, there was no room service after 22:00 and the bar closed at 23:30. Not what I would expect from an airport hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a one day stop over stay where we have chosen Courtyard by Marriott based on the brand name and location. Though there were other air port hotels nearby, we have decided to give the Courtyard a try since its about 5 min walk to the airport.

The check-in and out were efficient and fast, and the room was pretty spacious and clean. Nice room facilities and amenities. Excellent beds! They were so comfortable and we were pretty much rested the next day and ready for our continuing journey to Iceland for the first leg of our holidays. This was an enjoyable short one day stay for the both of us and we will certainly choose to stay in this hotel again in the future when planning our travels from Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank benakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here because of the location and the nice rooms I remembered from previous stays. Unfortunately on this occasion the staff were indifferent to the point of rudeness, I was told as a single traveller, I couldn't eat in the restaurant, and in desperation went to the bar. I ordered a steak sandwich on brown bloomer bread, which took 35 minutes to arrive. When it did finally come, it had obviously come straight from the fridge, the bread wasn't bloomer type, just plain old sandwich bread. Around me in the bar, fellow guests were clearing their own tables, several had waited upwards of 45 minutes for salads, and one gentleman made the comment that it wasn't as good as Fawlty Towers. The seal on the shower in my room needed to be replaced, when I had a shower the bathroom was flooded, and the seal was covered in black mould. The air conditioning in my room was inadequate and the room was freezing. I had no confidence that the breakfast I had prepaid for would arrive so chose to leave earlier than planned. I wrote to Marriott and received a reply from the 'general manager' which was totally confrontational in tone, more or less called me a liar, and offered neither an apology or any type of refund. I was so disappointed particularly as just a few days before I had had breakfast at the Marriott in Amsterdam where everything was just perfect and the staff were delightful and helpful.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Clarfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport

Address: Buckingham Gate, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: $83 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing