We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful golf weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottesmore Golf and Country Club
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful golf weekend”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from Cottesmore for the second year running, for a golf weekend with 14 lady golfers. Firstly, we were looked after exceptionally, especially from Lorraine, the hotel Manager, who catered for all our needs from start to finish. Our rooms were great and we were made to feel very comfortable. The hotel is very relaxed and small, which gives a cosy, friendly atmosphere. Golf was good, although very wet and a lot of laughs were had. I would definitely recommend this hotel for large or small parties and we are already talking about returning next year

Room Tip: Some of the rooms upstairs have the added bonus of a balcony looking over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
37
28
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just stayed here for 3 weeks for work and the lodges themselves are very nicely situated and equipped though a little small for any more than a couple.
This was a really strange set up with regard to the rest of the Golf & Country Club in so far as "them and us". The actual Golf club whose facilities are available (subject to numerous un-policable T&C's) is boreing as hell - like sitting in a 70's newtown bar with more people serving than socialising. Food ok (but slow), drink ok but absolutely no atmosphere at all and when the golfers are in they clearly like to "protect their club" which they are welcome to!!!
no shortage of complete knobs (of all ages) but otherwise no more than somewhere to go for internet access.
The lodges are (as said) very nice by comparison but poorly serviced and not within easy reach of anything other than the local. everywhere else is a drive away for any life or a weekend fight at Crawley - whatever rocks your boat!!

Room Tip: Don't have a lodge next to the car park and bring your own cleaning gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markbinherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

golf was good ( apart from the rain ) nice course, friendly club shop, room was ok at best, pool was ok, bar was ok, worst thing was the food, not terrible.....just not great...overall good value for money, 2nd time we went we booked without food and had dinner at the pub down the road, food was great

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a 2 night stay with golf, breakfast and dinner. On day one we ordered a couple of bacon sandwiches from the bar that took well over 30 minutes to arrive. In the evening our meal took a total of 2½ hours - probably the slowest service we have ever experienced - and we didn't stay for coffee. The following day service was much improved and we were done and fed within an hour or so. Could not however fault the food which was tastey and plentiful. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful although they seemed in short supply.
Hairdryer in room was faulty and no replacement available but offered use of another room for drying hair! Hot water seemed to be a bit suspect and was just tepid on occasions.
Spa facilities are excellent and the gym looked good although we didnt use it.
The Griffin course was ins reasonable condition considering the weather but could not say the same for the Phoenix course which was very muddy and seemed to have taken second place with course maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldboar1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The lodges are 7 Norwegian chalets located next to the old golf club. Fully equiped, modern and well kept. Very nice surroundings and attractive for golf players. We enjoyed every minute at the lodge. Travel to London is easiest from Horsham with the train (about 55 minutes to London Victoria).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziv_Amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Booked a double room through Laterooms.com which was very good value for bed and breakfast, to enable us to relax after a long drive from Lincolnshire to attend a funeral. Checked in by the bar staff as reception was closed, both members of staff were very helpful and chatty. Our room was very clean and tidy, huge, comfortable bed, bathroom was a little tired, and trying to have a shower was a bit challenging as the shower head only liked facing the bottom of the bath!!! As it was an extremely hot day, we did take a small electric fan with us which we were extremely grateful of as the room was a little hot and as we were on the ground floor, we didn't like to leave the window open. Breakfast was ok, as we were probably almost the last ones, several items were unavailable, but the cooked items were hot and plentiful.

Would be happy to stay again at the discounted price, was lovely and quiet with beautiful views over the golf course.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbadosER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The whole experience at this hotel was terrible from start to finish check in was difficult, followed by constant loud music all night due to a party in the bar opposite the room which nobody mentioned was going on whilst we were booking. Drunken guests from the party then urnating in front of rooms and pathetic customer service from managment who took 10% off the bill after immense arguing. Would never stay again or reccomend to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harjit k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
4.3 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
9.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
5.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottesmore Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottesmore Golf and Country Club

Property: Cottesmore Golf and Country Club
Address: Buchan Hill, Crawley RH11 9AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottesmore Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Gatwick Airport and business centres of Crawley and Horsham. 21 Room hotel and 7 log cabins, bar, restaurant, tennis courts, golf courses, swimming pool, gym and health and beauty spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Cottesmore Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottesmore Golf And Country Club Hotel Crawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing