We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Llandegley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly man on the desk, and excellent room service, good value and quick service. Room was clean and nicely set out. Would come back again! Close to the shopping centre. Bed was comfy. Stayed in room 101.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlzieMulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melstanton, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Room 101 is ready and waiting for you!
Many thanks for your excellent feed back for Grays Hotel and your comments have been passed onto the staff. With our location yes your quite right been next to the large shopping center with all those Christmas bargins waiting to be snapped up?

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grays Hotel very soon.

Best Wishes

Grays Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    266
    82
    27
    22
See reviews for
76
274
29
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There is nothing wrong with Grays. We stayed 2 nights for a singing convention in the nearby convention center. The staff are friendly. The room was clean and tidy and a fair size. Breakfast was a great large selection buffet, including cereals, fruits, and full English; all very nice. But it feels like an office extension of an office block (it isn't) with very standard fixtures and fittings. Everything is the 'same'. The dining/breakfast room is plain and very functional, but oh so 'plain'. First night we ate in; only one other couple there (place seats 80+?). It was a carvery (two courses for £15 if I recall), but the 3 staff spent the evening asking if we were ok - we were. Then they decided to fix change a flickering light bulb in the middle of the large room, switching off banks of lights in the process. Made us realised how over-lit the room was. There was a group of 12 due in later, so they were trying to make an effort. All the same. I wondered about an 3-average and 4-v good, but it is all really a 3. The location is central, but on a roundabout (cars = noise, headlights, ...) thought there are (unlit!) underpasses to the shopping centre. Maybe it's Telford, maybe its the hotel with an office conference centre feel. It certainly wasn't in itself rating a 'poor', and the staff were very friendly and helpful and attentive. But maybe overall just a bit bland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melstanton, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Many thanks for your feed back for Grays Hotel. It was good to read that you did find some parts of Grays Hotel enjoyable. We have had some work done in the Restaurant regarding the lighting. Thank you for the positive feed back about breakfast and how friendly you found our staff.

Thank you for your feed back and we hope you do stay with us again if you need to visit the Telford area again.

Regards

Grays Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just held our RAF reunion at this hotel. For such a purpose this hotel is ideally located being pretty much in the centre of the country and immediately off exit five of the M54. Certainly with the administration of the reunion the hotel made it headache free with any special requests granted and carried out efficiently. The rooms were clean and appointed to a high standard. We had a few issues regarding the buffet which was fine but our attendees probably would have been better off ordering meals from the bar as they arrived. Any problems we had were immediately put right to more than our satisfaction. The formal dinner on the Saturday was excellent, beautifully served with just the right gaps between courses. Breakfasts were also of a high standard. Very good and attentive staff.

We are booking our next reunion here (if they will have us!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWMNFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melstanton, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Brillant comments thank you for taking the time to put them onto Trip Advisor. I understand from the staff the weekend was a great success and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.
Yes we would love to see you all back next year and we do have a better solution for your evening buffet on the first night. I was also pleased to read the staff were helpful and friendly.

Thank you for your comments and see you all in 2013.

Best Wishes

Grays Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Grays for a weekend getaway. We booked via laterooms and booked a superior room. When we got there the room was not as big as it looked on the webpage so we questioned this at reception. The receptionist was very apologetic and explained that their website was under construction and they gave us a reduction in price and a free bottle of wine. This was a pleasant surprise as we had not gone to negotiate price so we were really impressed by the gesture. The hotel was very clean and tidy and although the room was quite small it was comfortable. The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there and the bar was closed but a member of staff opened up for us and spent some time chatting to us and making us feel welcome, we never once felt that we were putting them out and we in fact stayed in the bar until the early hours!! We went to the cinema on the second night we were there and the reception staff were only too happy to organise taxis for us. Whilst this is not the most fancy hotel I have ever stayed in, it certainly is one of the most friendly. Very convenient for Telford centre. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not overlook the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Mongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melstanton, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in leaving excellent feedback for Grays Hotel. I was happy to read that you found our staff warm and friendly and willing to support you with any questions.
Grays Hotel is well located in the Telford area especially straight off the M54.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welocoming you back to Grays Hotel very soon.

Best Wishes

Grays Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Location was very handy for transport links and local sights. Carpark is secure via barrier system. Attentive staff. Nice bar. Restaurant was very quiet so we went out on our first night. Second night we are in- only two couples in whole restaurant but some kind of conference thing in a side room so understandable. Food was a bit hit and miss- pâté starter came without anything to put it on and was very bland but salmon terrine was lovely. Both mains- chicken and duck- were beautifully cooked and veg was excellent. We used the pool, which was quiet and relaxing. Rooms were warm and very clean. Bed was bouncy and we both slept well. Nice toiletries in the bathroom. Great value for money- watch out for breakfast tariffs- it was £11 each on web but we were offered £10 for both of us when we checked in and it was tasty- very good standard of sausage and bacon! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melstanton, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello Liverpool - Thank you for leaving positive feed back for Grays Hotel.
From reading your feed back you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us and I will be catching up with my Chef and speaking about his starters?
We are very lucky with our location with some very beautiful historical places to visit within the Shropshire area.

We hope to see you both back at Grays Hotel very soon. Maybe to catch up on some Christmas shopping?

Best Wishes

Grays Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I visit relatives in Telford a few times each year.Have stayed in a couple of hotels,no problems,but Grays Hotel has never seem to come to our attention (my relatives had never heard of it)
I think this is possibly because on the search engines ,prominence is given to the 'Conference Centre' facility and I've tended to overlook it.
Anyway, our stay was very pleasant. The staff are friendly and everyone has smile and a greeting when you pass them.The hotel and our room were very clean .The room had been recently refurbished and even met my wifes approval (shes very fussy!)
Breakfast was good (plenty of choice) .
Will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melstanton, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Liverpool
Many Thanks for your excellent comments for Grays Hotel. It was good to read that Grays Hotel ticked all the boxes and you even found our staff helpful and friendly.
Plus we even met your wife's approval! God Bless

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feed back and we look forward to seeing you very soon. May be to take your wife Christmas Shopping??

Best Wishes

Grays Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed the Saturday night in this hotel. It was a short breat to explore Ironbridge, Shrewsbury, Powis castle nearby. We was pretty tired when we got to the hotel. Hotel surprised us. we paid 49£ per stay so our expectation wasn't very high. But we found room very nice, quiet, modern furnished with LG Tv on the wall. it was very warm what pleased me a lot because after all our trips we needed that. We even turn heating down at night. Bathroom was clean, but there was no heating don't know why. Bed was big with one big mattress not as in other places put 2 beds together and count it is double bed. I can not say anything about breakfast. we found 11£ for breakfast per person a bid much. I dont eat huge english breakfast but there was no option for continental breakfast and pay 11 £ for couple toasts and tea is not reasonable. Staff in hotel was helpful. we asked about places where we can have dinner near with indian cuisin and got leaflet and delivery afterwards. so for 15£ we had meal for two, very nice food. of course if expense is no object for you you can dine in restaurant in hotel. I think in such nice hotel food must be good as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inpredictable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melstanton, General Manager at Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such excellent feed back for Grays Hotel. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us while you explored our local historical places.
We are very lucky at Grays Hotel to have such helpful and friendly staff and they will always go that extra mile to ensure you have a enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to see you back at Grays Hotel very soon, maybe to do all your Christmas shopping?

Kind Regards
Grays Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
International Hotel Telford
4.0 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge

Property: Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Address: Forgegate, Telford TF3 4NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Telford Ironbridge offers our visitors a warm, friendly, and welcoming stay, ensuring comfort for all our guests. Situated adjacent to Telford Town Centre it is within easy walking distance of both The International Centre and the Town Park and easy access to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Ironbridge Gorge. So whether it's business or pleasure the Ramada Telford Ironbridge has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grays Hotel Telford
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing