We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms with lovely owners who make you feel welcome”
Review of Coalbrookdale Inn

Coalbrookdale Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Telford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coalbrookdale Inn
Ranked #20 of 28 Telford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I stayed here for business on a Monday night. The room I had was generous in size and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was also lovely and big! The pub downstairs is a great place to have a pint and relax. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area. The rooms are above a pub and my faced the road so there was some noise to but nothing that annoyed me and there are always ear plugs! Breakfast was fantastic and I enjoyed a well cooked steak the night before for dinner. The owner even gave me a lift to where I had to be the next morning - very kind and much appreciated. The location is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 49 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed at Coalbrookdale for two nights. The owners, staff and locals are all very friendly. We stayed in a front room which was large, bright and clean. Often in pub rooms the bathrooms are tiny, but this was massive and again newly refurbished. Finishing touches like tissues and bottles of water were appreciated.The pub itself is cosy and friendly just what is needed after a day out and about.We ate both nights at the inn and the food was good and reasonably priced. Yes the Inn is situated on a main road but we didn,t find it noisy as it is not that busy. Im not sure we would visit Ironbridge again but I would recommend Calbrookdale Inn to anyone who does.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

On arrival at Coalbrookdale Inn we were unable to park in the adjacent car park but found a spot on the road 100 yards away, so no big problem. We were greeted by Danny, the owner, and shown to our room. We had seen the room on the website but were still pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the furnishings. We had room 3, located at the back of the Inn and were not bothered by any road noise even though it was a busy bank holiday weekend. After freshening up we went down to the restaurant and had a meal, which was excellet and then had a drink in the busy bar. The next day, after a good night's sleep we decided to walk to the museums as they didn't appear too far away on the map. Ironbridge itself and the George Museum were an easy distance to walk but I would advise you take a car or the free bus to Blists Hill (well worth the visit). We left the next day after another one of Dawn's huge breakfasts feeling pleased with our choice. Thank you Danny and Dawn, hope to see you again - soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We spent 3 nights in this inn - our first time in the area. We loved it all - its a very interesting area with a lot to keep you occupied - our favourite was Blists Hill Museum. Great value entry ticket to all museums in the area. The Coalbrookdale Inn was fantastic. Choice and variety of real ales exceptional and the quality of the food in the restaurant was at the very top end of pub grub - extremely high standard. Our room was very comfortable - bathroom was huge and well furbished. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. There was a very small parking area at side of pub but we wre told that if we arrived at any time and were unable to park (which never happened) we should inform them and they would move cars to create space.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deejaypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Obviously this in an Inn and not a B&B or Hotel so don't expect a tranquille setting. Very nice people, clean room and well located. Only niggles are very parking is very limited and that the sound insulation could be improved (not from the noise of the bar but the noise of the kitchen - especially the banging of the kitchen to dining room door which reverberates through to upstairs). The hot water is mega hot (so much so it was heating the cold water pipes too!). Also the evening meal was ok but not great and had very long wait for starters (1 hour) and a further 45 mins for the main course. However quite awkward to complain to owner as the wife is the chef!!! (plus it is cooked to order which is mentioned on the menu but still this is a LONG time). On a plus side the cooked breakfasts were fantastic and we were made to feel welcome. If the noise from the kitchen and the wait for meals reduced this place would be superb.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Button07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

A local pub for local people, but visitors made most welcome by owners and customers. Bedrooms in Victorian style to complement age of building; mattress and bedding obviously good stuff. Top quality meals; owner cooked on Sunday evening as several guests were staying. Live music on the Saturday we stayed but no modern dirgey rubbish; group finished at 11.15pm with a superb "All Right Now". Some conversation noise from smokers forced outside by the nanny state fascists, but ask for a rear room or wear earplugs - no great problem. Limited offstreet parking adjacent to pub, but we had no problem over the weekend - the locals mostly walk anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

A great place to stay for all the gorge mueseums,parking at inn a bit limited but always managed to find a space.Danny & Dawn lovely couple nothing too much trouble, if they could help in any way they would.Food exellent breakfast good.Stayed in room 3 warning water VERY HOT so be careful.Well supported by locals who are very friendly and chatty.For real ale lovers you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeshireSimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
4.6 mi away
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wellington
215 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hundred House Hotel
Hundred House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Norton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Old Rectory at Broseley
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
3.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coalbrookdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coalbrookdale Inn

Address: 12 Wellington Road | Coalbrookdale, Telford TF8 7DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Telford
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly local CAMRA real ale pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coalbrookdale Inn Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing