We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned 16 Dec stayed for one night and could not fault this hotel The staff were very friendly and helpful the evening meal was lovely as was the breakfast plenty of car parking and a very reasonable price.We ate in the bar and the resurant and neither could be faulted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    41
    21
    15
See reviews for
40
68
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Clean tidy and most welcome, good value for money stayed for 2 nights looking to bye some livestock in the area, as in Ducks n Chickens,we had a cold 2 days looking about due to the weather and nice to come back to a very warm room, room was clean and fresh, good shower and bath, and a nice clean bed to sleep in, When got up in morning for breakfast found the staff very polite also a good breakfast menu also a good selection of fruit which the staff did not mind me takeing a few bananas for my trip home, Many thanks all from pa and knud.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights as working in the area.
Clean room - big enough for me to work and relax in.
Bit tired looking in many places - shame, as it was clearly once quite modern
Food wonderful - especially breakfast
Internet quick, but far too many blocks upon it...anything with any suspicious words blocked
Would recommend for work trips, but not for a holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualityCountsJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my parter stayed here as we had an event in Telford so needed a close by hotel. We booked the honeymoon suite which cost £85 incl breakfast.

The room was amazing, we didnt spend much time there as we arrived late. The bed was very comfortable and there was loads of room for storage. The bathroom was very large and clean, full with loads of towels and soaps. The hotel was fairly noisy, but that didnt bother us.

Breakfast was served quite early, it closed at 9:30am so an early start for a Sunday morning. The restraunt was modern and spacetious. The food was ok, we both had a full english, and as my boyfriend doesnt like beans or tomatoes, all he had on his plate was 1 sausage, 1 bacon and 1 egg, which looked very poxy and didnt fill him up at all! We ordered another batch of toast to make up for it.

Overall the hotel was very good, a lovely romantic room and staff were very friendly, providing us with taxi numbers and was very welcoming. Would definitely stop there again :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. A group of us needed an early evening meal on the Friday evening and were accommodated with courtesy and humour. Lots of car parking space so we didn't have to worry about not getting a space when we had been out for the day. All in all a great place to stay for the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were originally meant to stop at the swan at forton,unfortunately
They had a flood and they recommended the white house,we thoroughly
Enjoyed our stay.good breakfast,nice room all though drawers were a bit tatty
Friendly staff,lovely bar meal.the only thing was i felt it could do with a lick of paint
But i would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the smoking shelter,it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titusaducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just don’t stay here if you can possibly stay anywhere else.
Normally I only post reviews when I have had something good to post as there are more than enough negative ones out there, however on this occasion I feel obliged to warn people as to what they can actually expect here.

Having driven to Liverpool from home (Chichester) and then back down to Telford for work the following day I was somewhat jaded and in need of unwinding in comfortable surroundings (pictures they post look good) with on site facilities.

When I arrived I was “Greeted” and I use that term in its very loosest sense, by reception and given the key to my room, Number 8. When I opened the door the smell that assailed me was so strong it made my head swim, a caustic industrial cleaning solution is the only way I can describe it. I opened the window. Went back to reception and asked if cleaners had recently had to use specialist cleaning products, reception said no but could move me if I wanted. I declined as I believed the room would be ok if aired. When I returned to my room the smell prevailed so I went back to reception and asked to be moved “I have one other double room in the Annex you can have”. No sorry, no explanation, nothing. Asked reception to accompany me to Room 8 and witness the smell. She said it smelt a bit musty!!!!!!! Took the new room key and carried all my things to new room. Opened the door and the smell of stale cigarette smoke came wafting out. Would it have not been beyond the realm of possibility given the reason for moving was olfactory based, to inform me it was a smoking room before I moved? Or is that just me?

Back to reception I go....... Now informed no Double rooms available but have a twin (Room 31 at the top of the hotel) moved all belongings again. No wifi here and as the pictures show, the last guest hair bobble was on the table, sugar was crystallised at the bottom of one of the mugs, the bathroom was not clean, the room decor had been attacked and the fittings in the bathroom need fixing. By now too tired to do anything other than sit down and attempt to relax.

The rest of the hotel is dated and has strange odours, none of them good, throughout. An attempt at modernisation has been to paint over existing decor and peeling wallpaper hangs loose. The hotel (ha ha ha ha) is not fully double glazed and is in serious need of a major refurbishment.

The only plus side to be had was the excellent service given by the waiting staff in the restaurant, I hope they continue to be as professional as they were and are offered jobs in better establishments where there good work is not overshadowed.

My main problem was not really with the room (ok it was a bit) but the complete lack of any courtesy, apology or offer of help from the woman on reception. The most unwelcoming, unfriendly excuse for front of house I have ever had the misfortune to meet.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
3.7 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#13 of 21 in Telford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
5.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Telford North Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Wellington Road | Muxton, Telford TF2 8NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hotel
The White House Hotel And Restaurant Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing