We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Swan Hotel”
Review of Swan Hotel

Swan Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Longview, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Swan Hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband & I were visiting (from USA) my family in Liverpool & this was one of our short trips we took, so we were a combination of English & Americans. We all thought this hotel was charming & quirky & the rooms were very clean with spotless sheets & towels. We all think it was really good value for the money & all the staff there were great too.Next time we visit England we hope to stay there again & we all loved the Victorian village.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
8
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good value for money and I found the staff friendly at both reception and in the restaurant. A basic but clean room and good bathroom. I could not fault it for the price paid. It was a good breakfast that was freshly cooked, unlike some big hotels that leave items out for ages in turines.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dscotttorq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here on business and after a long day at work was looking forward to a nice refreshing shower, not the case. The water sprinkled out pitifully. I ended up just washing at the sink.
The problem was further demonstrated when i was sitting having dinner in the bar area later that evening. A Nigerian looking man wandered down to complain about the showers wrapped in a bath towel wearing a shower cap holding a shower loofah. disgraceful.
I would rather sleep on the street in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greg v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telford hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ask to talk to someone in charge about booking the function room as a venue for a family celebration ie a Wedding!! The landlady was Very Rude, un friendly and No I will not be booking The Swan and its fair to say your loss and someone else's gain!! Not Every Wedding wants a sit down meal!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Found the staff to be unfriendly and was offended when we were singled out to pay our restaurant bill upfront, no one else was asked to do this!!! Not a welcoming place and the food is awful, over priced and under cooked. Sunday lunch is infinately better at the buckatree or the tayleur.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkijayne1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Arrived Saturday 9/02/13 after a funeral. The hotel was really lovely. Our room was quite spacious. En suite facilities. Also tea/coffee kettle in the room. The room and the bedding was fresh and clean. The beds too were comfortable. The bathroom also clean.
We had our evening meal downstairs in the pub , it was absolutely gorgeous. Compliments to the chef.
The breakfast next morning, which was included in the price, was a full English one, was also nice and tasty.
Would definitely stay here again.
Our room was above the pub, so the music was heard all night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been staying here on business for a few weeks now, and it is a lovely little hotel. A cracking little gem.

Pros
The Food. End of. Simple. It is fantastic, amazing, great quality home made food.
The rooms are a good size, nice and clean and turned down every day. Yes they might be slightly dated, but this is not really a big deal for me.
The bar is great, they have some fantastic guest ales, and all the ones so far have been great.
The service is brilliant, very atentative but they also leave you be if you dont want to be bothered.

Con,
As other reviews have said it can get noisy, particularly at night. There is not much that can be done about this, but i have managed to sleep soundly every night.

All in all a great hotel, one that i would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.0 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#13 of 21 in Telford
543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
0.8 mi away
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wellington
207 reviews
3.7 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Wellington, Telford TF1 2NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing