We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for our February mini-holiday”
Review of Shakespeare Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

A great location for visiting the Ironbridge Gorge - perfect for parking up, leaving the car and touring the sights on foot. The round trip walk up to Ironbridge via Jackfield was just the right distance for us. On returning for dinner, the generous portions in the restaurant were just what we needed, tho as others have mentioned, possibly too generous! The room was fine, including sitting area with table and two chairs - something often missing in budget-priced rooms. Access to the rooms is a little steep so some might find it challenging. After such a big dinner a Continental breakfast and coffee was all we needed to fire us up for another day - the Inn is ideally placed with a footpath right outside leading up to the Blists Hill Village.
There is certainly nothing missing that I'd expect at this price point.
A great location and I'll probably be looking no further when I return to Ironbridge to enjoy my the museum annual pass I bought on this trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R08H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Shakespeare Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 201 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stumbled upon this lovely pub, stopped to have lunch. Not very busy but not a problem. Very happy to see the sign on the door saying no dogs allowed, I do not like to see dogs in a pub that is serving food. 5 Mins later one of the locals (Nigel) brings in his dog and that is acceptable. Needless to say we didnt stay to have lunch.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jannick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have given this a very good, as a place to stay, because I can't fault the way it's run. I just couldn't go all the way in praise because of a few simple truths. This IS a pub - and as such you need to have certain realistic expectations as a sleeping guest. My own experience - as someone who enjoys a busy day out and a peaceful sleep - was that an early night (before midnight) might not be possible as there is bar noise from below. How loud depends on how busy. We were also woken early by a beer delivery outside our window - imagine some one repeatedly stumbling and falling over in a cymbals shop for 10 minutes. It's an effective alarm. I also found the mattress to be a bit lumpy - could feel the springs. Overall I would say the place was reasonable value. The breakfasts were good. Evening pub meals are good and generous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginkoOopNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The room was very pleasant, although getting to it in the rain was not. (Steep stairs located outside.) The innkeeper did help us with the bags but may have been a little rough with them. (Our iPad screen got cracked - fortunately we're insured.) We arrived about 30 minutes before the kitchen closed but were still able to order food. For starters I had a Thai fish cake and my husband had calamari. Both were very good. Then we got brave and tried the chicken fajitas. (We're from Texas - we know fajitas!) These were surprisingly good. I'd say they'd have it completely bang on if they'd get the chef to cut the chicken and peppers into strips instead of chunks. Other than that, it was authentic Tex-Mex, right down to the sizzle. (Although the salsa was a bit suspect - seemed a bit like ketchup or tomato sauce with some peppers and onions tossed in - but perhaps it's been adapted to local tastes.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Have visited the Shakespeare loads & it never fails to deliver - menu is lovely, always spoilt for choice. Food is always amazing, tasty & fresh -huuuuuge portions too!! It's definitely my favourite place to go for an evening meal - only (very tiny!!) criticism is that the main pub can get very noisy when it's busy, purely because it's fairly small & cosy atmosphere - can always request a conservatory table for a quieter meal! Overall, go & see for yourselves - it's one not to be missed!!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Lilaclady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch. Served till 3.30pm on a Saturday. The choice is vast. Everything sounded tasty on the menu. We struggled on what to choose. We wanted everything! But we made our decisions and we really were not disappointed. The portion size was right up our street - massive! Tasted delicious too. We ate every last bit, although we have not been able to have dinner tonight as we are still full! I overheard the waitress say they were fully booked for that night. Doesn't surprise me if they serve lunches like we got. The service was good too and they were pleasant people. Would def recommend this place and can't wait to go back again for a good feed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie_Boon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was somewhat surprised to find the Shakespeare was in a rural location given the closeness to Telford. The other surprise was that they don't unlock the doors until 5pm so an early arrival is not recommended! However, that said, this is a great pub on the doorstep of the historic attractions of Ironbridge/ Coalbrookdale - you couldn't find a better spot. The staff were friendly and room 1 (there are only 4 rooms) was clean, a good size, and perfect for my needs (although I imagine it could be noisy at weekends). The food in the bar was of a good standard and the pub was well patronised, even though it was mid week. The tariff for B&B was a bargain. Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: Room 1 may be the quietest and room 4 the noisiest as the latter is directly over the bar
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16,830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.9 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
546 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
1.5 mi away
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Address: High Street | Coalport, Telford TF8 7HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range: $104 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Telford
Shakespeare Inn Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing