We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shakespeare Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The staff or owners in the morning who served breakfast were lovely courteous and welcoming,very very nice people, could not do enough for you. The room was clean, always well stocked tea and coffee etc. never had to ask for anything. A walk away from the tar tunnel and coalport china museum, and the Maws craft center, or you could leave the car and go on the bus to the rest of the museums, lovely walks around the area too. the food was nice on the couple of nights we ate there. and plenty of it. The only thing is that we are early risers and therefore early to bed not recommended if you go during the summer as they have a huge beer garden and children play area right outside your door and a beer garden at the front under your windows, we were lucky the weather was beautiful but that brought everyone out in the sun and stayed till 11.30 most nights so we didn't get to sleep early!! but that is NOT the fault of the pub, we knew there would be noise, just didn't realise we would get it in stereo !!! having said that we would definitely stay there again. The plus was having chairs and a table to use and not just the bed like most places, loads of hangers in the wardobe, an iron and ironing board in the room and clean bathroom and clean towels every day of our five night stay there...and a "proper" tv, HAHA... not a tiny little thing stuck up in the corner but a lovely large one right on the wall, we didnt want to miss the opening ceremony of the games..... there is a little village shop was right across the road and you could go there for afternoon tea and a lovely walk along the canal to boot...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    51
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
90
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Once again, we stayed for 6 nights (the 4th time now) having a 2-part holiday in Porthmadog and then Shropshire. The Shakespeare was it's usual welcoming self and Martin's food was, as always, excellent! We stay in room 4 when we can (rooms 2 and 4 are the best, apparantly), and the room is very spacious (the full width of the pub) with a large area containing the bed, your very well-stocked tea-making facilities on a table with 2 chairs that fit really neatly under it; a chest of drawers and a flat screen (32"?) TV. Room 4 also has in a separate area sturdy bunk beds for kids and then a shower room. There is also the usual wardrobe and the thing for your luggage :-))

Staff are always helpful and when we return next year, we will have stayed there for a whole month - makes you blink!

The Shakespeare is almost opposite the Tar Tunnel and just down from the Coalport China Museum - so ideally sited for a visit to the Museums of the Gorge.

As always, happy to recommend the Shapkespeare and their new pub with rooms the Half Moon, which is over the fotbridge, turn right and walk past Maws Craft Centre and then down the pathway and you're there.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Be advised this is a busy pub with a popular restuarant, so, until closing time, there is noise comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason00000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Once again, had a lovely evening out last night with 2 of my friends. As ever, the food was truly scrumptious, atmosphere was busy and friendly, everyone out on a lovely summer's evening (yes honest, the sun was shining in June!). Had a wonderful meal and then enjoyed a nicely chilled bottle of Rose on the patio in the sun. Excellent good all round value for money - haven't tried the owners latest venture yet, they have re-opened The Half Moon,Jackfield,it is on my 'places to try' list but have no doubt, that it will be as equally excellent as The Shakespeare. Go on -give The Shakespeare a try - bet you return soon. PS - always advisable to book a table.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty5852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed for a five day break at the Shakespeare and enjoyed every one of them. The food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner ( We ate there every evening, no need to look further afield). The location couldn't have been better, we either walked to the local attractons or caught a bus, leaving the car in the car park the whole stay. The only time we found it difficult to get to sleep was when the heavens opened and it rained torrentially for most of the night. The Inn is setback into the hillside with a beer garden over several terraces at the rear,
the rooms are accessed at the second floor level from these gardens. The steps are steep from the dining area and from the external access to the beer garden but caused us no undue problem. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We will be returning in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very well presented room (Room 3) had all we needed and more besides for a B&B/Inn.
There were plenty milks to go with the tea and coffee supplied which was great as we usually have to keep asking for more but this did us and was topped up on our second day.
The room was light and fresh and very well kitted out.
We stayed two nights and on both days staff asked us how we were, did we need anything etc... which was very nice.
Breakfast was good, huge portions but very nice (scrambled egg and smoked salmon is a must)
The location is great for the open air museum at Blist Hill and also for Iron-bridge itself about a 30 min stroll would get you there.
All in all a very nice stay and we will return in the not to distant furure iam sure.

Room Tip: Room 3 faces over the out door area of the inn so maybe a little quieter than the ones over the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and myself, have now used the Shakespeare twice in the space of twelve months.
Both times, we have found the accommodation and food to be top class. Very friendly and
efficient, with a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you're looking for a friendly pub which serves great food & beer at a good price then look no further than The Shakespeare @ Coalport. We regularly visit this pub which has a growing following & great reputation for its rather large wholesome meals and a friendly community atmosphere that is simply second to none. There is a front sun patio at the front & a large grassed area for the kids @ the rear which are both great sun traps for those hot sunny days. We've always been made so welcome & feel part of the unique community that this grand old pub portrays. You will need a good appetite to finish the meals which range from Mexican,sizzle platters,currys & all the old favourites you would expect. The lemon pavlova is simply scrumptious. The only warning I would give is book your table as this place is always busy 7 days a week all in all if you know a better pub than this I would like to hear from you lol. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiTelfWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
5.2 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Property: Shakespeare Inn
Address: High Street | Coalport, Telford TF8 7HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Telford
Shakespeare Inn Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing