We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill House B&B
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed the the mill house in August as was going to the local Folk Festival. With the friendly welcome and style of decoration in the bedrooms, felt like I was a guest staying at a friends house rather than at a B&B. (I choose B&B's over hotels as I prefer the atmosphere).
I noticed comments about the en-suite being small...trust me I've seen smaller and being quite petite this was not a concern for me.
Like the added touch of the cake each day. It was fun to come back each evening and see what had been left.
The breakfast was gorgeous and just the right size for me. Its the first time I'd tried fresh honey with the honeycomb and it was simply delicious.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydetemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a traditional B&B where you are treated as a favoured guest staying in the family home. We stayed for two nights and had two rooms as we were taking my mum away for the weekend. The bedrooms are comfortable and have everything you expect- toiletries and facilities for making a drink. (The stairs are steep though so folks with mobility problems may have difficulty.) The breakfast was the highlight of the stay- a wide choice on the buffet including stewed damsons, yoghurt, cereals etc then fresh bread both white and brown to enjoy the homemade jams and a full english cooked breakfast with eggs from the chickens or ducks on site, local sausage and bacon, beans , mushroom and tomato. A comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast was provided at a price which was great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My parents and I stayed here for 2 nights. My room was basic but adequate. My parents' room however, was decidedly scruffy and uninviting. The ensuite was very small (in fact it was so small that the towels were hung on a rail outside the door). There was an unpleasant smell which was very similar to a cat odour. The carpet was disgusting and very stained in several places. For breakfast, my Mum asked for bacon and tomato and instead of giving her an extra piece of bacon, she had a very small piece and one half of a small green tomato and one half of a small red tomato put in front of her which looked very sad and meagre. My Dad and I asked for bacon, egg and beans and I would think we had no more than a dozen beans each. In the past when not requesting certain food types, we have been given more of what we have chosen to fill the plate and set us up for several hours. I had very little sleep both nights due to somebody speaking in the room above me into the early hours of the morning. It seemed like a one way conversation that just droned on and on and was quite loud. On the second morning just as we were about to leave, the owner said she hoped that her son hadn't kept me waken by chatting to his friends on a computer gadget. She informed me that he was in the room above me. At the time, I thought it was other guests talking. When paying good money for bed and breakfast, I expect a comfortable bed, a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast. Unfortunately most of these criteria were fulfilled.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WenCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telford hotels

Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The welcome was wonderful and the children were thrilled with the animals in the garden. Our room was clean and comfortable and we were given little cakes for tea. The owners were really friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We arrived anticipating a lovely old building, refurbished to a high standard and set in lovely grounds which could be enjoyed by guests. The building was very old and impressive and the public breakfast / sitting area was very authentic and what we had expected. This was not the case for our bedroom. We had the family room which was on the top flooor - one double and two single beds. Although the room hosted some lovely wooden beams it was quite basic, i.e. not refurbished to the standard we expected. It was not a room which we felt was relaxing, i.e. it's only real function was somewhere to sleep in. Further disappintment came with the ensuite bathroom which was the size of a cupboard, comprising of a shower and a toilet and the smallest hand wash basin, which was almost impossible to use without water going on the floor.

The grounds were large but we did not consider 'user friendly'. We had to ask if we could walk in them and for example, by the river there was no bench etc. to just sit on and enjoy the setting.

Although the welcome was fine it did lack a little enthusiasm.. We were given milk to make a drink ourselves in our room, where there was some home made tea bread to eat with it, but how more welcoming would it have been to have been made a drink and for it to have been served in the public area.

The highlight of our vist and really appreciated was the breakfast, which was execellent. Much on offer was home-produced - jams, fruit etc.

If the standard of the room had have matched the breakfast this would be a place that people would want to visit again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telford
5.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
8.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
9.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House B&B

Property: The Mill House B&B
Address: The Mill House Shrewsbury Rd | High Ercall, Telford TF6 6BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm wellcome is assured at the Mill House B&B,Grade 11 listed converted watermill. Half-way between Shrewsbury & Telford,Ideal for Ironbridge.Telford International centre, historic Shrewsbury and Mid-Wales.Peaceful rural setting beside R Roden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Mill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House B&B Telford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing