We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can be a bit noisy and now has become less dog-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
International Hotel Telford
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Can be a bit noisy and now has become less dog-friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed here twice.
The first time it was quiet, good value and seemed dog friendly - with no added dog charge.
However, we stayed again recently and it was a bit noisy this time.
It seems it is used by groups attending the adjacent sports/exhibition areas - and a youth dance competition was on at the time. Lots of noisy, excited youngsters everywhere.
Also, we were charged an extra £10 per night this time, for our cat-sized dog to sleep in his own small travel-bed inside our room.
Given that our B&B Double Room rate was £42 per night - the dog charging policy Is too high.
There is plenty of choice locally, so we will look for pastures new next time.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, best to go somewhere more dog-friendly and cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jody80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis F, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jody80

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt our hotel was not dog friendly as this certainly isnt the impression we intend to give. We have always had a charging policies for dogs which is related to any addiitonal cleaning or refreshing that may be necessary before the room is re-let.

I do apologise for any disturbance caused by the groups attending the dance competition at the adjacent International Centre.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    168
    99
    33
    17
See reviews for
57
171
36
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just off the M54, so convenient for touring. Only problem we had the weekend we where there were roadwork’s which caused a few detours.
As for the hotel, its staff are very friendly, helped us decide which was the best way to get to the Shrewsbury Flower Show due to the roadworks, taxi to Telford Train Station then direct train to Shrewsbury (about 20 min). They will also provide a map of the town.
Rooms are clean and tidy, soft white towels, power shower with shampoo, hair dryer etc provided. We even had the iron & ironing board in the wardrobe. There’s also a kettle and good supply of tea or coffee and biscuits.
Breakfast is a variety of hot drinks; tea, coffee or hot chocolate; juices, cereals, yoghurts, rolls, toast etc also bacon but no scrambled eggs which would have been nice.
There are bar and lounge areas, both with large screen TV's.
The air conditioning works but could be noisy, perhaps it needed a service because we could not adjust it to very cool.
Perhaps the only thing missing is a safe in your room.
There are a few parking spaces by the main entrance to this hotel but the majority are in the 'Holiday Inn' car park. No charge, which is good, but you will have to give your registration number when you book in.
We did not use the leisure facilities in the adjacent Holiday Inn but this would be an additional cost which perhaps should be included in your stay.

Room Tip: High floor, away from lifts. Ours faced the car park and we slept fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAKARDI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Makardi10

Thank you for your top marks review! Shrewsbury Flower Show is an amazing event and I'm glad the team were able to explain the best options for travelling there.

Your descriptive review will be very helpful to future guests, so thank you for taking time out to pass on your tips.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife to visit National Trust properties in the area. Absolutely great value for money, room very clean, bed a bit hard but we had no problems sleeping (apart from other noisy guests, the ignorant white van crowd). Breakfast was great with yogurts, bacon, rolls, tea, coffee, fruit (tinned), croissants (staff will heat them if asked) and cereals. Fantastic choice for a continental that was included in our room rate. Will be looking to visit the area again as there's lots to see and will not even think about going anywhere else. Special word for Kylie who was very friendly and helpful - clearly loves her job and it shows, well done! See my other review on the Dragon's Den Chinese just up the road from here - amazingly good!

Room Tip: Our room faced the car park and away from the lift so it was quiet apart from other guests banging d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Frank G

I was really pleased to read your review and have passed on your kind remarks to all the team, especially ensuring that Kylie was made aware.

I hope you enjoyed seeing all the wonderful National Trust properties round and about, but I'm sure you won't have had time to see them all, so I hope you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked two rooms (1 x twin room, 1 x double room) for our relatives, and both parties enjoyed the stay very much. According to them, their rooms were unexpectedly spacious, basic but clean.
The hotel is located only a few minutes walk to Town Centre, so it was very convenient for them to visit the shopping centre, leaving their car behind in the free hotel car park for guests (Car park around Town Centre is not free of charge).

The breakfast was continental-breakfast, and only hot food available was bacon (I remember they previously offered sausages and possibly baked beans?). But they were happy with the brekfast.

We booked the rooms well in advance, and the price was very affordable (Because the price was so affordable, I initially thought that it would be a room-only price, but actually breakfast included).

I definately book the hotel again in the future when our friends/relatives visit us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm_kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear mm_kiki

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased that your relatives had a good stay and found it good value for money.

Our breakfast is included in the rate, and is continental but with the added bonus of bacon. (We have never offered other hot food items). I'm glad they enjoyed it!

The hotel is certainly well located for retail therapy, being just a 10 minute stroll away, so you can leave your car in our car park and relax.

Hope you will come back soon,

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

last minute thing for us 2 nights and all fine and as expected, staff were friendly and helpfull. Room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was good, plenty to choose from and from 6.30-10 am spread well across the ammount of guests. parking was free and plentiful unless you arrived back late as we did after enjoying dinner in Ironbridge, there were only a couple of very tight spaces left, but hey nowhere's perfect. it was ideal for us as a base for Ironbridge which was v interesting. have to mention the Marstons brewery carvery a couple of miles from the hotel, £4 for a roast dinner mon-sat and it was tasty (I am no culinary critic but I know what I like) and cheap with 6 vegetarian options (£4 aswell).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear UKBrandy

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased that you had a good stay with us. We're certainly a good choice for guests wanting to explore the wonderful Ironbridge Gorge and all that it has to offer. We're only 10 minutes drive away

I hope you will come back and stay again, there's sure to be things you ran out of time to do!

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great priced,modern and clean hotel that for £38 per night was ideal for a "drop your bags and return when bedtime" sort of experience. Staff were a happy bunch, decor was bright,room was equipped with all we needed, bar had no atmosphere (or customers as a result) and location was fine for Telford, Shrewsbury, Ironbridge etc. But ... Although the breakfasts were fine, the Sunday morning experience is not good as the numbers of guests exceeded tables and we ended up eating cornflakes on the reception area sofa. Duty manager should have been visible to deal with the queue (as other reviewers previously noted the Sunday breakfast issue) ... Well done to the staff for using initiative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark n Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mark and Sue B,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on trip advisor. I was pleased to learn that overall you were happy with the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept my apologies in relation to your breakfast experience on Sunday morning, we did have a very busy weekend and your comments have been passed onto the general manager for review. Be assured that this issue is being looked into.

Again, many thanks for your feedback,

Sam Cuzick
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were greeted by friendly staff on check in - we were told exactly where our room was on the 4th floor.
Room was clean, but not spotless - the tables were a bit dusty and the walls could have done with a lick of paint. Tea/coffee was only provided for one person, although you can ask for extra at reception.
Excellent breakfast, very impressed with what was on offer - bacon, croissants, cereal, fruit, toast, tea, fruit juice etc.
My only real gripe were the doors to the rooms. Several guests are not as considerate as myself and the doors are not soft-closing doors. In fact, we were rudely awakened at 6.30 am by our 'neighbours' door slamming shut. It was that loud, we thought it was our own door and half jumped out of bed!
Ideal for visiting nearby Telford town, Shrewsbury and Ludlow etc.
Would recommend this for a quick stop-over, both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear paulinejr

Many thanks for your candid review of your stay with us and I'm pleased that overall you had an enjoyable visit.

I do apologise for the shortfalls in room cleanliness however which is certainly not indicative of our usual standards of cleanliness.

I'm glad that you were able to explore the local area, our hotel is ideally located for both business and pleasure purposes.

Kind regards, Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Telford International Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
3.1 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#13 of 21 in Telford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Telford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Telford

Property: International Hotel Telford
Address: St. Quentin Gate | The International Centre, Telford TF3 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel Telford 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel has a contemporary feel with first class service and comfort for guests. The hotel is fully air conditioned and has its own bar where you can dine in, choosing from the bar menu. The hotel is part of Southwater Event Group and is next door to sister hotel, Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, which has the Olive Tree Restaurant offering a la carte and table d'hote service. For a small charge, guests can use the Revive Leisure club with its indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and gym. Appointments can be made with the on-site beautician. The International Hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Telford's undercover Shopping Centre and Southwater Entertainment Quarter with IMAX Cinema, ice rink and ten pin bowling. Nearby is the wonderful Telford Town Park which offers acres of woodland walks and free fun in the many play areas, alongside high ropes, zip wire and mini golf activities. Located 2 minutes' drive from the M54 and a short drive to the Ironbridge Gorge, guests at the hotel benefit from free entry to Wonderland Adventure playground, located 5 minutes' walk away; and heavily discounted tickets for top Shropshire tourist attractions are available from the Hotel Reception. The International Hotel has free on site car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your International Hotel Telford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford International Hotel
International Hotel Telford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing