We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
International Hotel Telford
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay here often and it is my favourite hotel in Telford, though the price can vary dramatically, up to £145 which is far too much. The shower is excellent, the rooms are spacious and the bed is always very comfortable. I don't know how someone can compare it to Telford Travelodge as it is a much higher standard and also includes continental breakfast. It is also better than it's sister hotel Grey's which is usually more expensive for a smaller room with no breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Steven A

Thank you for your kind review which has been passed on to all the team and we're glad that you had a comfortable stay. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 540 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

I did not have a good experience at this hotel; it’s a similar standard to a Travelodge except you get tea in your room. My shower didn't work and after asking twice for somebody to look into it while I was at a business conference, nothing was done and nobody let me know what was going on. I had to shower early morning in my friend’s room next door and the hotel was full so couldn't move. Do not stay in room 475!! The hotel décor is dreary and depressing, you don’t get any Vodafone signal in the rooms and the wifi is £2 an hour!!! Not good if you are travelling on business and need to stay connected. Finally you also have to go next door to the Holiday Inn to use the leisure facilities and get a cooked breakfast. Disappointing for a business trip and couldn't wait to get home!

Room Tip: Do not choose room 475, the shower does not work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natty_noodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Natty Noodles

I was really sorry to hear that you had not had a good experience when you stayed with us and do apologise that your shower was not working or fixed during your stay which was unacceptable.

I would like to assure readers that the shower is in full working order.
Our WIFI charges start at £2.00 for two hours, which guests can log in and out until the 120 minutes are used up.

The International Hotel is not a full service hotel so it does not have a leisure club but breakfast which is included in the rate, is Continental in style. However for this particular group, the organiser had arranged for guests to be upgraded and take full English breakfast at the Holiday Inn as a special benefit.

We are able to offer the facility for guests who wish to use the Leisure Club at the Holiday Inn to pay a supplement to take advantage of this.

Once again please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced and if there is anything further I can do to assist, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Lis Frost, Guest Relations Manager, lis.frost@southwatereventgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at the International on business late last year and was very pleasantly surprised by the attitude of the staff. They went the extra mile to help me with my business needs and were very proficient in doing so!
I was presenting at a Convention in teh Centre next door the following day so the proximity of the hotel was a real bonus too!

Room Tip: None of the rooms have single beds - just pull out cots - so be aware if you are travelling as 2 sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Gill

Thank you for taking time to post a review following your stay and I'm pleased that you found the team to be friendly and helpful, your kind remarks have been passed on to them.
Its ideal to stay with us if you are attending a conference or event at the International Centre as we are part of Southwater Event Group and located on the same site which makes access very easy as you found.
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Basic clean accommodation with adequate public areas. But if you are attending an event at The International Centre then this is one of the only two adjacent hotels and they can get booked up very quickly.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank RickyKGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post a review after staying with us and I am glad that you found our location convenient for the International Centre. Our reservations team are happy to help with room bookings at the International Hotel and the Holiday Inn Telford. Call 01952 527000. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay, location is ok for what I came for which was Cambride Convention.
Not sure if just visit for a break away.
But very nice comfortable hotel.
Great friendly staff.
Lovely breakfast
Would recomendYes

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelicang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay for a conference. I would encourage you to consider staying with us for a leisure break as we are ideally located for travelling round Shropshire and into Wales. You could explore the Ironbridge Gorge for example, or do some lovely walks in the hills, visit historic buildings like Weston Park or Shrewsbury Abbey for example. Dont hesitate to contact the hotel for ideas and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and i checked in on tuesday 20 november 2012, and departed on the wednesday 21 november.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, clean and very tidy. The bed was quite firm, which is just how i like it. One of the hottest showers i`ve ever had in a hotel, very impressed.My only one fault, was that tea and coffee was provided, but only a small amount of milk and only one packet of biscuits between two, apart from that.
Breakfast in the morning, simple, toast and cearel, plenty of tea and coffee, bacon and the sauces were plentyful.
Well done to the staff and management. Look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We had room 273, over looked the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COSA200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Very many thanks for your kind review of our hotel, be assured that your comments have been passed onto all the staff here to see. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in relation to the small amount of milk and buscuits, readers should be aware that extra facilities can be arranged via reception who are on hand 24 hours to cater for all guests needs.
Again many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My company booked the International for the conference we were attending at the Telford Conference Centre. As it's just round the corner it made sense.

On arrival and on entering the rooms, it does have a feel of a Travelodge, but at £55 a night Bed & Breakfast, I suppose you can't expect the Ritz!! But I can't complain about any of the facilities, everything worked as it should, the shower was superb and the room was clean and tidy.

The only meal I had in the actual hotel was breakfast, which is just very basic and totally self service. Again though, it doesn't purport to be anything more.

Bed and breakfast for 2 nights costs as much as a single night in most Holiday Inns, yet the cleanliness was better, the bed more comfortable and the drinks less expensive.

The good thing about staying here also is that you can book any meals and drinks from either the conference centre, or the next door Holiday Inn onto your room. Brilliant idea.

I mention that "Other hotels could learn a trick or two" and that's right. These facilities make having a conference in Telford much less expensive than other locations, with prices that are realistic, without compromising too much on quality.

Well done.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDavidRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Many thanks for your review of our hotel, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be convenient for your needs. In relation to the drinks prices, readers should note that they are the same as at the Holiday Inn next door.
I was also pleased to read that you liked that you could charge extras back to your room at the international hotel from the Holiday Inn and the International centre, this is something we are very proud of as it makes your stay as a guest all the more convenient.
Again, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#6 of 21 in Telford
1,273 reviews
3 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Telford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Telford

Address: St. Quentin Gate | The International Centre, Telford TF3 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range: $64 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel Telford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel has a contemporary feel with first class service and comfort for guests. The hotel is fully air conditioned and has its own bar where you can dine in, choosing from the bar menu. The hotel is part of Southwater Event Group and is next door to sister hotel, Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, which has the Olive Tree Restaurant offering a la carte and table d'hote service. For a small charge, guests can use the Revive Leisure club with its indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and gym. Appointments can be made with the on-site beautician. The International Hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Telford's undercover Shopping Centre and Southwater Entertainment Quarter with IMAX Cinema, ice rink and ten pin bowling. Nearby is the wonderful Telford Town Park which offers acres of woodland walks and free fun in the many play areas, alongside high ropes, zip wire and mini golf activities. Located 2 minutes' drive from the M54 and a short drive to the Ironbridge Gorge, guests at the hotel benefit from discounted tickets for top Shropshire tourist attractions are available from the Hotel Reception. The International Hotel has free on site car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your International Hotel Telford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford International Hotel
International Hotel Telford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing