We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Telford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
International Hotel Telford
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a conference, but would be more than happy to stay here at my leisure. The hotel is in the centre of Telford just a short walk from the shopping centre. The hotel is undergoing some modernisation. This does not appear to impact in their customers. The hotel has a great restaurant and leisure facilities .
I didn't get chance to look at the gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamsinglLead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, however i believe you have reviewed the wrong hotel. I think you may be refferring to the Holiday Inn hotel situated just next door. The Holiday Inn is having some refurbishment work to its corridors but this is of minimal disturbance to guests. Whilst the International hotel does have a bar area, it is the Holiday Inn that has the leisure club and fully serviced Olive Tree Restaurant. International hotel guests do however, have use of these facilites at a small cost.
I have contacted you personally to arrange for this review to be swapped to the Holiday Inn review page.

Many thanks again for your review we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 534 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

excellent hotel, clean, tidy, responsive, friendly staff. Can not fault it, especially at the price we paid for a two night stay via laterooms.com. If there is one slight complaint it was that the bed was too hard but others may like that, personally a bit softer for me please.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegreenteam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Very many thanks for your kind review of our hotel, I was pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us. Please be assured that I will pass your lovely comments on to the international hotel team, we pride ourselves on customer service so its great to get this feedback to pass on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Welcoming reception. Room the usual 3* However, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom smelt very musty/drains and needed someone to get some bleach snd a tooth brush to clean the soap scum snd mould from between the tiles, both kn tje bsthroom and shower. Does the Housekeeping Supervisor check? if not, he/she needs to.
Breakfast was self service. The food and beverages were in little cubby holes, behind bifold doors, that looked like they were closed off during the day. Tinned fruit, rolls, bacon, cereal and beverages from a machine. But what do most people want for breakfast? A hot drink and toast. Strangely the beverages and toast machine were housed in the same tiny cubby hole, making an impossible queue. All toast had to be put through the machine st least twice before it looked even vaguely cooked. I recommend the manager observes breakfast one morning and rectifies this irritating problem. So easy!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Many thanks for your review of our hotel, we do appreciate guest feedback both positive and negative. I have sent you a personal message to discuss your issues further as we require some more information in order for this matter to be fully investigated. In the meantime please accept my apologies you were unhappy with your stay and I look forward to speaking to you direct in order for these matters to be resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending the national barbershop convention at the International centre. This was the perfect location as I have mobility problems and it was hardly any distance. I cannot fault the hotel. Adequate sized room, clean, comfortable bed and flat screen TV. Staff were friendly, we had a problem that our heating was not working and it was a really cold weekend. We were given an electric radiator which quickly warmed the room. Breakfast was adequate and,considering the number of people staying here for the convention, we easily found a table and the food was replenished and tables cleaned promptly. My only criticism would be the layout of the servers for toasting and tea/coffee making. It just wasn't big enough as guests tended to hang around waiting for their toast which made it difficult to make drinks. Otherwise, top marks for a good weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Very many thanks for your kind review of our hotel, I was pleased to learn that despite a few minor issues you had a great stay with us. We are conveniently located right next to the international centre and are approximately a 10 minute walk from the town centre. Please accept my apologies that the heating in your room was not working correctly and this has since been corrected by our maintenance team, I was pleased to learn that as you were given a radiator it heated your room quickly so the cold did not affect your stay. Many thanks for your feedback in relation to breakfast, on busy mornings we do have extra serving points on the opposite side of the breakfast area where there is an extra toaster and tea/coffee making facilities for the convenience of guests to reduce waiting times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Checking in at 5.00 pm was a little slow - peak time - but staff on duty efficient, helpful and friendly! The room on the 4th floor was comfortable, clean and basic. There was a TV and complimentary coffee making facilities. There was plenty of hot water in the shower room, which was also clean and well lit - plenty of towels were also provided. The heating/air conditioning did not work, so the room was not as warm as it could have been. However, once reported to reception, a heater and extra blanket were provided within 20 mins. The breakfast was more than adequate - variety of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, toast and bacon roll, with coffee, tea, juices and water. We ate out the night before at Wetherspoon's - 10 minute walk to Telford shopping complex, which was excellent value. We slept reasonably well, apart from the very noisy groups of people turning up later! We would have liked to have used the swimming pool at the Holiday Inn next door, but for 1/2 hrs swim at a cost of £5 EACH, we felt it wasn't worth it, especially as we have never had to pay for a hotel swimming pool before.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret_swift10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Very many thanks for your review of our hotel, we do appreciate guest feedback both negative and positive as it enables us to provide a better guest experience. Firstly please accept my apologies for the broken air conditioning unit in your room, be assured that once the correct part is delivered it will be replaced. I was happy to learn that the reception team promptly assisted in extra measures to ensure you weren’t cold. I was pleased also to learn that you were happy with the breakfast experience at the hotel and your comments will be passed onto the breakfast team. In relation to the leisure facilities at the holiday inn next door, International Hotel guests are required to pay a small £5 fee but this includes use of the swimming pool, use of the gym, sauna and Jacuzzi for an unlimited amount of time during the day of usage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed one night at end of summer along with several others group of people. Clean rooms but with broken heating / air-conditioning controls (and not just our room - a couple of the others in group had same problem). Simple furnishings, nice shower, no bath. OK TV, but really poor / expensive internet. No restaurant in hotel (as with many budget hotels, they do simple breakfasts though) but it is next door to a Holiday Inn which does.

Breakfast wasn't that good - but met basic requirements.

Staff were very helpful though - made big difference (especially when trying to sort out heating problem).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we do appreciate both positive and negative feedback from our customers. I was sorry to hear that the air conditioning units in your room and in some of your colleagues were broken and can confirm that we have the units currently on order and will be installed upon thier arrival.
Although there is no restaurant in the hotel we do have a bar menu available in the bar area for the convenient use of guests wishing to have a snack. Those wanting a full restaurant are more than welcome to use the Olive Tree Restaurant situated in the Holiday Inn next door.

I was glad to hear that our staff were very helpful to you, I shall ensure that your feedback is passed onto them.

Again, thank you for your review I do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had the misfortune to have to stay here on business to attend a trade show in Telford. Ideally placed for the event........ but not at all capable to handle more than 3/4 guests at a time. No breakfast offer to speak of, certainly not good enough for 8/9 hours on your feet in a soul-less aircraft hanger next door! Only one member on the bar staff and one on reception meant nearly 30mins to check in and the same to be served..........doh!
Surely if they were to liaise with the centre more staff could be on hand at such busy times.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

I was very sorry to read that John W had not enjoyed his stay with us and have contacted him personally to apologise and ask for additional information so that I may investigate why this happened.

In the meantime I would like to reassure readers that the International Hotel is ideally located, being next door to the International Centre and our team are very experienced in looking after our exhibition and conference guests. Please be assured that we always appreciate feedback and will act upon it to make any improvements that we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
1,261 reviews
3 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Telford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Telford

Address: St. Quentin Gate | The International Centre, Telford TF3 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range: $62 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel Telford 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel has a contemporary feel with first class service and comfort for guests. The hotel is fully air conditioned and has its own bar where you can dine in, choosing from the bar menu. The hotel is part of Southwater Event Group and is next door to sister hotel, Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, which has the Olive Tree Restaurant offering a la carte and table d'hote service. For a small charge, guests can use the Revive Leisure club with its indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and gym. Appointments can be made with the on-site beautician. The International Hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Telford's undercover Shopping Centre and Southwater Entertainment Quarter with IMAX Cinema, ice rink and ten pin bowling. Nearby is the wonderful Telford Town Park which offers acres of woodland walks and free fun in the many play areas, alongside high ropes, zip wire and mini golf activities. Located 2 minutes' drive from the M54 and a short drive to the Ironbridge Gorge, guests at the hotel benefit from discounted tickets for top Shropshire tourist attractions are available from the Hotel Reception. The International Hotel has free on site car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your International Hotel Telford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford International Hotel
International Hotel Telford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing