We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
International Hotel Telford
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice - highly recommended”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked this hotel thinking it was the Holiday Inn next to the Telford International Centre, not realising that the Centre had it's own separate hotel. I was really pleasantly surprised when I arrived as the room was excellent. The bed was large and comfortable, excellent bedding and plenty of fresh towels. The room had a flat a screen TV and a small seating area besides the bed. The bathroom was modern and spacious, with a great power shower (no bath but I did not miss this!)

I stayed here for a business trip and I was very impressed. The hotel is conveniently situated very near the centre of town and is ideally placed for motorway connections to the wider midlands area. Lots of parking. I think you have the option of using the pool and spa etc at the Holiday Inn next door but I didn't get chance to do so. The staff were all very pleasant.

I would not hesitate to stay here again, I had a very comfortable stay. My only complaint would be that the website I booked through (not the hotels own) said the hotel had free wifi, but you do have to pay to use it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jntms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind and most comprehensive review of our hotel, of which we are very proud. We have contacted you separately to enquire about which website you had used so that we can correct any inaccuracies on there, and thank you for drawing this to our attention. We do have a range of WIFI charges available, starting from as litle as £2.00.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    173
    102
    35
    18
See reviews for
58
176
36
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would love to review this hotel but unfortunately I am unable to as , although we were booked to stay here , we were told when we went to book in for a reservation we had made 3 months ago that we had been double booked and were offered as an alternative a hotel 6 miles away . My main grievances about this were firstly that we had chosen this hotel as we were exhibiting at the conference centre next to the hotel and attending a gala dinner on the evening , thus avoiding unnecessary driving or taxis during our stay,a situation which was now going to be necessary.The young woman on reception was pleasant but really had no idea what to do when we refused to be "shifted" to a hotel 6 miles away.After a considerable wait at reception where we witnessed many of our colleagues from the exhibition being booked in with ease we managed to speak by phone to a reservations manager who offered us a room at the nearby Grays hotel which was an option we reluctantly accepted as time was moving on and as previously mentioned we needed to get ready for the gala dinner and now had to travel to get there.
I felt that the whole episode was poor for a hotel of this quality,my questions are:
Why were we double booked when we had booked ,paid in full and received confirmation over 3 months previous?
Why were we not contacted in advance of arriving to be advised of this situation ?
And finally why was there no manager in attendance at the hotel to resolve our grievances ? Especially as we're told by the reception staff that a "lot of people had been double booked"
Overall our experience of The Telford International hotel was disappointing and we would love to comment on our experience of staying there but cannot as we were refused entry and in my opinion handled abysmally.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Our Group Sales and Revenue Manager has spoken personally to these guests to apologise directly and we do sincerely regret their dissatisfaction at the situation they encountered.

The hotel had found itself in an overbooked situation that morning due to an error they had made. Alternative accommodation in the area had been sourced and as soon as it was realised that these particular guests needed to be closer to the International Centre, our sister hotel based in the town centre was offered to them instead.

We do have Guest Service Managers on site 24 hours a day and they were available to assist the affected guests where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the International Hotel, (next to the International Conference Centre) Telford, on Saturday 22nd September 2012, whilst visiting Ironbridge. We had a fantastic deal with booking.com £38, double room, including continental breakfast – bacon, baps, muffins, do-it-yourself toast, croissants, tinned fruits, cereals, yogurts, as much tea and various coffee’s as you want. There is no restaurant, so breakfast is served in the bar, which is very nice.

The bedrooms are large. To be honest I would class them as basic, rather than contemporary, but very clean. Bathrooms nice, with powerful shower. Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.

The bed mattress quality somewhat on the cheap side, which is surprising when I see the room prices for this hotel at different times.

The hotel is 15 minutes’ walk from Telford’s very large shopping mall, with the usual M&S, House of Fraser, Debenhams, BHS, Next etc. Also, lots of smaller retailers. Unlike most other shopping centre around the country, this was pretty much fully occupied by retailers.

As there is no restaurant at the hotel, you can have an evening meal at the Holiday Inn, which is the sister hotel to the International, literally next door. We had three course meal for £19.95, starter is soup OR help yourself salad, carvery, and choice of about five sweets. The Holiday Inn also has a swimming pool, jacuzzi & gym, which I believe guests at the International Hotel can use.

All the staff at the International Hotel and Holiday Inn w ere absolutely excellent, and are a credit to both hotels.

I have given five stars based on the price we paid, but would have reduced this if we had paid in excess of £100, a price I have seen for certain nights at this hotel, because of the quality of the mattress.

The stars I have given for the Restaurant and Swimming pool are for the Holiday Inn, the sister hotel next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your double review! Your kind remarks have been passed on to the teams at both hotels and are much appreciated. All the staff work hard to ensure that you have a great stay with us.

For readers, the Olive Tree restaurant next door to the International Hotel does offer a daily changing "specials" menu, three courses for £19.50. Occasionally it is offered as a carvery, but more often it is a table d'hote menu with choices of starters, main courses and desserts. An a la carte menu is also offered.

If guests wish to use the leisure club facilities at the Holiday Inn, they only need to pay a small fee to be able to do so, and its great to be able to take advantage of this during your stay.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for couple of nights back in August (10-12 August 2012) as I stayed there last year & was booked into this as part of archery trip.

The hotel lives up to high standards & can see why it has been awarded high praises by the other reviewers.

Both visits staff have been great, rooms were always cleaned to high standard & tea - coffee facilities even checked.

Breakfast buffet was great in the morning's handy if you have to do an early start, like I did both days having an archery competition close by.

Unable to comment on the restaurant as I ate out on the way back during my stay but so its own choice as to what you decide.

Will revisit this hotel in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review after a couple of stays with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed the continental buffet breakfast which is included in the rate and certainly does "set you up for the day"!

Continued good luck with your archery and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Upon arrival a little confusing as to where to park (and others pulling up were the same because we sat outside having a drink and watching them) The car park is shared with the partner hotel the holiday inn which is right next door. Signs for HI car park are shown but couldnt see the International hotel parking sign. One of our group popped in and asked at reception and we parked in the joint car park which had plenty of space. Checkin was smooth and we had brought 2 little dogs which we notified the hotel in advance. Everything was ready and the £10 charge was reasonable for allowing the dogs. The rooms were clean and modern and bathroom a nice place to shower etc. Breakfast was included the next morning and was of a high standard and enjoyable. The only let down with the hotel was the bed and bedding. The bed was terribly hard and the bedding smelt musty and slightly unclean which was a disapointment. Otherwise very nice stay indeed. If I was in the area again I would choose to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RingOandCrystaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Many thanks for your review and I'm glad you found that our hotel is ideally located for touring Shropshire and the Welsh borders. We're close to the M54 (junction 4), which links to various A roads so there are lots of options for visiting. We're always happy to make recommendations of where to go when you stay with us, we're very enthusiastic about our lovely area.
I do apologise about the issue with your bedding. This is certainly not typical and I have raised this with our Head Housekeeper.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just spent a night there and have no complaints. Comfy bed, lovely bathroom and a really good buffet breakfast. Evening meal at the nearby Holiday Inn is advised. Would definately stay here again when visiting the Ironbridge area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm pleased you felt your stay was good value. Its certainly ideal to walk across to the neighbouring Holiday Inn for an evening meal in the Olive Tree restaurant or Olive Branch bar. There are menu styles to suit all occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We chose this hotel as the rates were very reasonable, the reviews were favourable and the location convenient.

First impressions were of a modern hotel of fairly typical design. Hospitable staff at the check-in desk, pleasant lobby.

The rooms are of a decent overall size with large firm beds and a walk-in shower with responsive controls. The usual flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities, wha you would expect from a 3 star property.

One bonus is the quiet position, despite it's proximity to the International centre and the Holiday Inn, with which it shares the car park (free of charge!).

Breakfast was of continental type with a good selection that included Bacon, cereals, fruit yoghurt, crumpets (a rarity!). You can upgrade to a Full English, if desired. Comprehensive selection of hot beverages from the dispensing machine.

If you require a clean hotel in the Ironbridge area (only 10 km away) this is ideal and a cheaper option than other branded hotels in the vicinity.

Pros:- Quite, clean, convenient, basic but wholesome breakfast, free parking
Cons:- Few facilities (use of the leisure facilities at the Holiday incurs a charge).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbruce912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethFrost, Guest Relations Manager at International Hotel Telford, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm glad you had an enjoyable weekend stay with us. Our hotel is in a relatively quiet location yet on the edge of the International Centre and the main shopping centre. We share our car park with our neighbour Holiday Inn Telford, and there are plentiful, free spaces there for our guests.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telford hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
543 reviews
3.9 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Telford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Telford

Property: International Hotel Telford
Address: St. Quentin Gate | The International Centre, Telford TF3 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Telford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel Telford 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel has a contemporary feel with first class service and comfort for guests. The hotel is fully air conditioned and has its own bar where you can dine in, choosing from the bar menu. The hotel is part of Southwater Event Group and is next door to sister hotel, Holiday Inn Telford / Ironbridge, which has the Olive Tree Restaurant offering a la carte and table d'hote service. For a small charge, guests can use the Revive Leisure club with its indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and gym. Appointments can be made with the on-site beautician. The International Hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Telford's undercover Shopping Centre and Southwater Entertainment Quarter with IMAX Cinema, ice rink and ten pin bowling. Nearby is the wonderful Telford Town Park which offers acres of woodland walks and free fun in the many play areas, alongside high ropes, zip wire and mini golf activities. Located 2 minutes' drive from the M54 and a short drive to the Ironbridge Gorge, guests at the hotel benefit from discounted tickets for top Shropshire tourist attractions are available from the Hotel Reception. The International Hotel has free on site car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your International Hotel Telford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telford International Hotel
International Hotel Telford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing