We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Wickets Inn

The Wickets Inn
Ranked #19 of 253 Restaurants in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Busy little pub serving good quality pub grub at reasonable prices. Gluten free diets catered for, although the range of options is somewhat limited but at least they know what you are talking about when you ask about gluten free (a bonus in most establishments!)
Large portions, so would be great place to take teenage children who have bottomless stomachs if you don't want to break the bank.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    48
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quick Stop”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stopped here to grab a bite to eat before we checked into our hotel just down the road. The food was brilliant ! could not fault it at all.! a large choice on the menu and the specials board ! Very generous portions too ! will definately call in again next time I am in the area !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ste7e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The menu looked limited at first but there was a good selection of specials. Portions are enormous! I had Surf and Turf which included an 8oz Rump Steak and a portion of scampi that would have big on its own. It was like eating two main courses. They came with onions, mushrooms and tomatoes; then they was a large portion of chips and another portion of mixed vegetables. I couldn't eat it all. It was good value and the staff were really helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and service”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked a table for 2 with a friend of 95 years young and recently widowed. the care she received was excellent the food and service too even phoning for a taxi to return home, she felt safe warm and well fed we hope to make this a regular jaunt, as she no longer drives and widowed isolation is an increasing issue.

I have been several times previously and felt this would make her feel relaxed and comfortable and well fed too, £22 for 2 meals, puds and drinks is in my opinion excellent value for money

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“By chance visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Called in hoping to get lunch but they stopped serving food at 2pm. Very pleasant staff and had a glass of wine and a packed of crisps - would return if we were in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wickets Inn also viewed

 
Telford, Shropshire
 

Been to The Wickets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing